We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Thistle

Rose and Thistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rose and Thistle a beautiful 16th Century thatched pub is nestled in the picture postcard village of Rockbourne on the outskirts of the New Forest. Outside is a lovely cottage garden to while away sunny days and watch the world go by. Inside is the perfect place to spend any time of year with the traditional interior of beamed ceilings, carved wooden benches and cosy log fires in the winter. Colin Beck our head chef works with local suppliers to create a traditional menu sourced locally and seasonally where possible. Our beef and pork come from the New Forest and our game is from the village, with Manor farm pheasant, pigeon and rabbit together with venison from the local game keeper. Fish is delivered directly from the south coast and vegetables are from local suppliers. The menu changes regularly but always includes favourites such as our famous home made steak and kidney pudding and slow cooked pork belly along side seasonal specials. We also offer a good range of bar snacks and lighter meals including Welsh Rarebit, Sausage and Mash as well as The Rose and Thistle sandwiches including rare roast beef, smoked salmon with watercress and the famous RAT burger with smoked bacon, emmental and hand cut chips! The Rose and Thistle, built around 1580, was originally 3 cottages and became a bakers which then later started to retail liquor. The first listed landlord was Richard Pope in the early 1890's whose photo can still be found on the gentleman's toilet door. The pub has had several colourful landlords over the years one of whom is rumoured to still haunt the building. In the 1970's the place was made famous for its seafood by Pete and Pam Reid and people flocked from all around to taste the lobster. A consortium of villagers then purchased the pub who later sold to Tim Norfolk all who maintained the places great reputation for food over the last 20 years. Tim retired in June 2008 when Kerry arrived, taking the pub from strength to strength. In late 2014 Chris took over the reins, with his friendly attitude and fantastic team you can always be guaranteed a warm welcome and delicious freshly prepared food.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for Sunday lunch after trying a few weeks ago when it was fully booked. My partner is a chef and we have been trying to find the perfect Sunday roast for months now only to be disappointed everywhere we go. I can safety say that our quest has now come to an end! We went to the chewton glen last Sunday and the roast we had today was so much better. The roast beef was lovely and the vegetables were way more exciting than your average. My only small criticism was the roast potatoes. Apart from that it was a cracking meal. Service was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and cosy. Definitely book though or you may be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sbulteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for the great review - it was really nice to meet you both last Sunday and even nicer to get up on Monday morning to such lovely feedback. We are all very pleased that your search for the perfect Sunday roast has come to an end and look forward to seeing you again soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    73
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a lovely old pub with brilliant food. So busy we could only get a table in the bar so evening slightly spoiled by noisy group of young guys. Try to get a table by booking well ahead in the main restaurant.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review - we are so pleased you really enjoyed your food with us. Apologies that your evening was slightly marred by the bar being busy it is very difficult to predict when drinkers are going to be in. As you say it great to book well ahead and get a table in the restaurant area, which I hope you will do! I bet you that night the bar will be empty!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that we have eaten at the Rose and Thistle and I can honestly say that I have never had better food in any other pub. As a veggy there is always something different and tasty to order which is refreshing as normally veggy menus can be so very boring. Charming surroundings and honest, extremely tasty food, this is definitely my pub of choice. Thank you for such a wonderful evening!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks Sally for another great review! I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself a second time and that I had the staff a bit more under control!! I am also really pleased you enjoy our veggie offering. Nigel our chef works hard to have more interesting dishes on for all diets. We look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have visited the Rose and Thistle many times, the food is faultless and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Weather your sitting inside the cosy pub on a cold winters day by the fire or in the lovely garden on a summers evening it never disappoints! If your a cider drinker I definitely recommend a pint of the Black Rat which they have on tap! This pub will always be a favourite of mine and I'll definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Ah a fellow Black Rat drinker!!! Its nice that the work put into the cider choice is as good as the food!!! Thanks for your lovely review - we are so pleased we are a favourite of yours and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Came here with some colleagues a couple of weeks ago. Staff were really welcoming, the food was plentiful and delicious and we had a great time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucylasticated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are really happy your self and your colleagues enjoyed your experience with us - hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing