We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location. Great hosts. Would definitely go back”
Review of Alderholt Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alderholt Mill
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb location. Great hosts. Would definitely go back”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

The weekend was booked as a surprise for my birthday by my husband. The mill and location is superb. Very quiet and peaceful and very relaxing. We were made very very welcome by Richard & Sandra and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in the mid mill cottage which was well equipped, clean and tidy. The bonus was having the back door which led into the beautiful gardens at the back which was great as we also had our 2 chocolate Labradors with us ....
The location is wonderful, a short distance from fording bridge and the new forest.
For cream tea lovers, Sandra & Richard serve amazing cream teas at weekends served in the courtyard at the front of the mil.
Can also recommend the Rose & Thistle but you will need to book in advance as it is very popular.
In all a wonderful experience and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choclabs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Always feels welcome by Sandra and Richard. Lovely and clean. Lovely breakfast. Quaint. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordingbridgelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in Mid Mill for a week and were very happy we choose Alderholt Mill.
We felt very welcomed, the 'cottage' was well equipped and had free wifi. Our back door opened up into the garden which was a delight to be in. We also had the water mill as we came out our back door which was a great feature.
The location was great, just on the edge of the New Forest and also only 30 minutes from Bournemouth.
Fordingbridge is only 5 minutes in a car and has some very nice bakery's and pubs. I would recommend 'The Ship Inn'. A great, dog friendly pub with a large specials board and tasty, well priced food.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickham bishops essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

we stayed here to be near to Beaulieu, with only 1 review we felt we had to Tripadvisor this lovely B&B. From the moment we arrived Sandra & Richard welcomed us to there home,Sandra showed us to our room and invited us around the grounds,so pretty.
We sat in the garden and had the best cream teas I have ever tasted and scones home made,with there own flour form the mill.Sandra & Richard recomended the Rose & Thistle a local pub/resturant to eat & drink and again 10/10 for food & hospitality.
We had a lovely view overlooking the stream and gardens, we got up for breakfast the next morning to be greeted by Richard a lovely man with a great sense of humour and a tale to tell. There was plenty of fresh friut ,cereals,toast & fresh orange along with a hot pot of coffee,then followed the cooked breakfast, fresh egg, sausage,bacon and all the trimmings all piping hot, again 10/10 well done Sandra and Richard for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ireland02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Alderholt Mill is one of the best kept B&B's we stayed in the UK. We used it as a base for visiting the New Forest area. The B&B is in fact an old working flour mill with two self-catering apartments made from part of the mill building, and (if I recall) five B&B rooms in the attached cottage. Count on a fine English breakfast cooked to order. Plenty of outdoor space for picnicking and a unique site with the mill stream, big wheel, and nearby country pubs. We'd stay again, without question.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritzarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
15.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
8.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
326 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderholt Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderholt Mill

Property: Alderholt Mill
Address: Alderholt Mill Farm Sandleheath Road, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alderholt Mill is situated on the edge of The New Forest National Park on the Hampshire/Dorset border and a member of the New Forest Tourist Association We are a family run, working mill, offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation for up to 4 guests, in our 1 double, 1 twin/double en suite rooms. We also offer Cream Teas from Easter to end of August, using our own freshly ground wholemeal flour to make our scones. We are surrounded by trickling streams formed by the river Allen, a small tributary that joins the River Avon at the nearby old market town of Fordingbridge. We are dog, walker, cyclist and fisherman friendly, with private fishing available, however due to us being surrounded by water , we do not recommend for families with children under 8 years. Alderholt Mill is perfectly positioned for exploring the South of England with easy access to Bournemouth, Christchurch, The New Forest, Salisbury, Southampton and Winchester. With surrounding attractions such as Beaulieu Motor museum, The Jurassic Coast, The Heavy Horse Center, fishing on the river's Stour and Avon and Salisbury Cathedral to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderholt Mill Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing