We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Fordingbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Crown is that rare thing...a traditional English pub.....With roaring open fires, an excellent range of ales, and good food.
The change of management did cause some concern...but.....cast aside any doubt...the new management have not only kept the atmosphere as it was...they have improved the food offer.
They have thankfully not gone down the "gastro" route...The Crown is exactly what it looks like...a traditional English pub, in a traditional English town...and there is nothing at all wrong with that...All power to it, and long may it continue

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We took the family over to The Crown after a forest walk on Sunday.On arrival we were greeted by a roaring fire and the delicious smell of roasting meat wafting out of the kitchen.We in the majority had the roast of the day which was beef or pork belly while i had the homemade burger.The beef was a prime cut cooked to a pinky perfection, a generous portion with roasted vegetables and crispy duck fat potatoes and real homemade gravy,very nice.The pork was again a good size piece with crackling deliciously crispy again this was served with veg and potatoes and yummy gravy.Burger tasted properly homemade in a fresh slightly toasted bun with salad and triple cooked hand cut fries.The service was excellent with all staff helpful,polite and quick.I would definitely recommend you try and visit The Crown if your in the surrounding area you wont be dissapointed.Oh and the Timothy Taylor Landlord ale is a must!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews, but The Crown was so amazing I felt compelled to spread the word. We'd heard it was under new management and that the food was great, so, as we're locals, we thought we'd better check it out. My family and I ate in here on Sunday. The menu is fantastic; plenty to choose from and all sounding so delicious and reasonably priced. In the end we all went for the pork and I can honestly say it was AMAZING! It came out quickly, piping hot, absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection, loads of crispy crackling, roasties, massive Yorkshire pudding and veg, absolutely spot on! We had pudding too (how could we resist?) all of which are home-made. We were expecting great things judging by the main course, and they didn't disappoint. The Eton Mess was delicious and packed with fresh fruit, cream and meringue and the sticky toffee pudding really blew us away. My teenage son said it was the best he'd ever had! A truly fantastic food experience. The bar and waiting staff were all so friendly too, such a great, welcoming atmosphere. I can't recommend this place enough. Of all the 'foodie' pubs around this area, The Crown ticks all the boxes and in my opinion is the cream of the crop. I'll certainly be back....very soon!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenTheAlmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

have been there a couple of times since the new owners took it over. Our first visit we had stopped there for lunch and the food was really good so we have been back in with family, who were also really impressed! the new owners and staff are really friendly and lovely! We have a large family table booked for a birthday gathering in a couple of weeks and we're all looking forward to tasting the sunday menu! Also awaiting the christmas menu so we can book a table for that too! This pub is definitely worth a visit!

They have a facebook page with a few pictures of the food which I have coppied to show you, I never thought to actually take pictures!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheALP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I just can't find fault with the meal I had, in fact it is the best meal I have eaten in a pub. I had the Jacobs ladder rib of beef in a barbecue sauce from the specials board, followed by eaton mess for dessert. All carefully prepared, properly seasoned and served by friendly helpful staff, we will be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I got taken to lunch at The Crown by a friend (I am visiting from New Zealand) and wow this place was great. Awesome English pub with fantastic food specials. My burger was fantastic and my friends chicken kiev was divine. The desserts were out of this world and I love that it was all homemade. The service was great too, such a friendly welcoming place. Would definitely recommend to anyone and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were lucky enough to stumble across this little gem right in the heart of fordingbridge, under new ownership, lovely people top drawer homemade food, the chefs are from the highly renowned ship in Christchurch. My Cornish mussels were the best I've had, a very generous portion just wonderful, my wife's pork belly was tender and delicious, proper homemade desserts Eton mess chocolate mousse to name but a few. They have got it spot on even a good choice of ales and Weston's old Rosie on draught. I'd give it 10/10 miss it and you WILL miss out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MWST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
7.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
350 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
118 reviews
3.8 mi away
High Corner Inn
High Corner Inn
#4 of 21 in Ringwood
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: 62 High Street, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing