We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub, Excellent Food”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Crown Inn is a nice, traditional High Street pub with excellent value pub-food. Good cask ales and a separate space to eat if you wish. We stayed 3 nights in a small room accessed seperately from the yard overlooking the High Street. A little traffic noise but nothing that disturbed sleep. Not the most welcoming décor in the rooms - quite cramped and old-fashioned to be honest. But good value for money at £55 b&b with an excellent cooked breakfast thrown in. Fordingbridge has two other pubs which do food- of which the Ship is the best. Good base for touring the New Forest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to try the crown for our Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. The food was amazing great portion sizes and value for money. The staff were very friendly and service was fantastic. We again decided to eat here a few days after and the food from the standard menu was just as good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resturant / pub to anyone visiting fordingbridge

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

3 of us turned up for Sunday Lunch + 2 dogs. The blackboard food was interesting - Mum had a lovely Chicken, Alison a suburb Chicken Kiev. We will be visiting again and again and again - at least until I get through the menu. Great atmosphere, and great beers and ciders.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed our annual get together for 19 friends at The Crown inn on Tuesday 7th January. We were treated to first class service and delicious food. The food was home cooked, well presented and traditional in style with a very fair price tag. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The barman/waiter was particularly tolerant when my adding up became an issue!!!! If you haven't tried it already give it a go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited on a Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Probably the best roast dinner I've eaten in a long time. Good value for money. No scrimping on the crackling. The pub is rustic, homely and authentic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mandyfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not experience any roaring fires or exceptional service as previous reviewers have stated... We had very good food (very very) served in a tired cold pub by staff who when asked if I could get a glass of wine replied " I think so" and it all just seemed to take ages. I hope the chef can find some support out front cos he can cook!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kerry_dow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Crown is that rare thing...a traditional English pub.....With roaring open fires, an excellent range of ales, and good food.
The change of management did cause some concern...but.....cast aside any doubt...the new management have not only kept the atmosphere as it was...they have improved the food offer.
They have thankfully not gone down the "gastro" route...The Crown is exactly what it looks like...a traditional English pub, in a traditional English town...and there is nothing at all wrong with that...All power to it, and long may it continue

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fordingbridge hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 12 in Fordingbridge
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: 62 High Street, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing