We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fighting Cocks”
Review of The Fighting Cocks

The Fighting Cocks
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Fighting Cocks”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Reversed table of twelve for business related meal by telephone and staff member was very attentive whilst booking, on arrival staff very polite and indeed helpful, reversed table was allocated in back annexe which was cool in temperature which was nice as it was a warm day, decor dated somewhat. Once seated a member of staff came quickly and told us about the standard menu and specials board. Standard menu is normal bar fayre, whereas the special board is somewhat comprehensive in content so much so we needed to snap it and pass a smartphone around the table, a lot to choose from. Once each had selected meal we went to order, it was busy at the bar and at food ordering position but no more than twenty minutes wait, we asked if the children's meals could come first and indeed they did within ten minutes of ordering, the bulk of our table ordered Beef roast meals, all served piping hot with no complaint as to the quality of the Beef or vegetables, one member had Steak and Ale pie which was crammed with quality meat, others had Turkey roast meal without complaint. As to drinks, bar willingly gave jug of water with ice and lemon gratis, soft drinks came from post mix pump and to be honest not bad but not brilliant in taste. So in summary, all food hot and tasty 7.5/10, drinks 5/10, internal decor 4/10, overall setting of venue 7/10, staff 8/10, would we return? For drinks on a summers day, maybe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daymon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    164
    128
    81
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to a nice meal. Unfortunately that was not the case. What was served up was no more than packet food which could have been bought from a cheap supermarket . This included the specials. Until the home cooking returns I will not be recommending this place to anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JanElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good lunchtime meal”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped off while passing on the way to Fordingbridge. A good value pub with wide choice of meals, mainly traditional pub fare, but with some unusual specials. My wife had an excellent duck breast salad and I enjoyed a very large gammon steak - almost big enough for two! We will remember this place and visit when in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GOOD VARIETY OF FAMILY MEALS”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

10 of us enjoyed different meals here, eaten outside in gorgeous weather.an ideal family drop in at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neal d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than we thought”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have visited the Fighting Cocks on several occasions, this was I must say was actually better than previous visits. The food was good value for money, and tasty as well. Will go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fighting Cocks also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Stuckton, Fordingbridge
 

Been to The Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing