We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, awesome ales & wines”
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu, awesome ales & wines”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very impressed with the wine selection, food menu, and the general vibe of this pub. The barman was a hoot! What a character - friendly, nerdy, knowledgable, informative and welcoming.

Even though this is a chain (as my wife pointed out), the Swordfish bitter was brilliant and their menu was spot on! I had the Asian Duck cake which was delicious.

We will certainly visit again when we are in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank druidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    99
    31
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mnt199
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern twist”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the pub with a friend for an early dinner. The choice of beers was excellent and the food delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnt199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Roast”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We walked from Fritham and had booked for lunch. We were sat in the lovely bar area as we had our dog with us but it has been refurbished to a high standard and we had a lovely table by the window. We both plumped for the roast, I had the beef and my husband had the pork;both were delicious and my homemade Yorkshire pudding brought back memories of pre Aunt Bessie days!
Very friendly staff and certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrongsideofforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice to see much improved”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great to see this pub has been taken over and much improved. Nice decor, lovely food and welcoming staff who made us and our dog feel welcome. Not as much dog space as before which may be a problem in busy periods but we managed to secure a table ok on a Saturday lunch having walked from Linwood to Frogham. Great to see the opening hours are every day now and thought the food and drink reasonably priced and presented well. Will be back and would certainly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having recently changed hands, the pubs is still an excellent venue for both food and drink. We were concerned that the change of ownership and the new menu would ruin what was a good New Forest pub, but this is not the case and it was a great evening. You may have to wait a while as it is freshly cooked but it is worth it. We ate there on "Curry night" and the two of us that had the curry were very pleased. The third member of the party went for the Ballantine of Chicken and it was delicious. There is also a wider selection of real ale on offer and the three I tried were all kept well. This will remain on our list of "pubs we must visit" on our numerous trips to the New Forest.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foresters Arms also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Stuckton, Fordingbridge
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing