We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch after walk in the forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guildford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good lunch after walk in the forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We called in here for a late lunch (2pm) on a weekday. 5 adults, 2 children & baby. They had obviously been busy but we managed to get a table inside and all the menu items were still available. Small portions were available which suited the children as they like to eat adult food and not just chicken nuggets! I had stuffed chicken breast which was delicious and perfectly cooked including the veg. Others had fish & chips and beef burger stacks. Small stack would be more than enough for a smaller appetite. This was not a cheap lunch but after a long walk we felt we'd had a great meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    98
    30
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Four of us arrived for a meal on Steak Night, which sounded promising and so we all ordered the sirloin steaks. When asked if everything was OK we had to say that the steaks were tough and we could not eat them.
At no point did the staff return to apologise or to offer an alternative and they seemed totally indifferent to our comment.
What a pity, as we used to eat there often but will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu, awesome ales & wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very impressed with the wine selection, food menu, and the general vibe of this pub. The barman was a hoot! What a character - friendly, nerdy, knowledgable, informative and welcoming.

Even though this is a chain (as my wife pointed out), the Swordfish bitter was brilliant and their menu was spot on! I had the Asian Duck cake which was delicious.

We will certainly visit again when we are in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank druidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnt199
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the pub with a friend for an early dinner. The choice of beers was excellent and the food delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mnt199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We walked from Fritham and had booked for lunch. We were sat in the lovely bar area as we had our dog with us but it has been refurbished to a high standard and we had a lovely table by the window. We both plumped for the roast, I had the beef and my husband had the pork;both were delicious and my homemade Yorkshire pudding brought back memories of pre Aunt Bessie days!
Very friendly staff and certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrongsideofforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foresters Arms also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Stuckton, Fordingbridge
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing