We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Breamore House

Breamore House
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We visited Breamore House on a wet sunday afternoon visiting their museum first followed by a guided tour of the house itself.
The outside of the house is quite outstanding and appears well kept with very beautiful parkland surrounding it.
We received an interesting guided tour of the house which was informative and well done.
If your sightseeing in nearby Salisbury, Breamore House is about a 20 minute drive from the city centre. I would choose a nice day weather wise to plan a visit especially if you wish to enjoy the surrounding parkland.
The day we visited was awful weather which made the visit of the house feel rather cold and light in the house was quite minimal.
Some interesting history. I believe they do weddings and functions there too. Their is a small cafe for light lunches and tea and cakes etc. Check the times of opening before going and the guided tour times.
Overall, quite a pleasant half day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great House Tour”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Tour Guide for the house made the visit very interesting and the museum very well worth a visit. In good weather the whole Village is very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Visit on 18/08/13”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not the best of starts with having to drive against the tide of veteran vehicles leaving their exhibition in the groundsearly. If there were directions to avoid this, they weren't obvious. Improved afterwards with good parking (though couldn't see how disabled visitors could park outside the house itself). Good tour with enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide (though my sister read somewhere that it only lasted 30 mins instead of the hour actually allowed for it). Large and interesting museum with many aspects of past country life - all wheelchair/pushchair-accessible too. Do hope nearby schools make use of it for visits. Even a maze and health-and-safety-compatible playground. Superb cafe with indoor and outdoor seating. Wonderful cakes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
347 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A good diversion on our walk!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Walking with friends, we came upon Breamore. What a pleasant suprise. Interesting tour of the house - knowledgeable guides. Reasonably priced guidebook - great. Also an interetsing countryside museum thrown in for good measure. Would certainly recommend a trip to this house - although you need to time your visit to coincide with the tour times!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A satisfying day out for the family.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This property was a lovely surprise to our party of 4,who visited it this week.
Parking is easy & the welcoming teashop was of a very good standard,although there was a little bit of a wait for food,which was freshly prepared. This did not bother us as we had the whole day set aside to enjoy the experience. After passing through the small shop we visited the very extensive Countryside Museum. This was full of interest & we 4 adults spent a good hour exploring it. It contained many replicas of old village life from 100 years ago & the range of Tractors & other Farm Implements on show was quite mind boggling. Adjoining this was a childrens area with the usual attractions.
Before our visit to the house[which opened at 2.p.m].we purchased a Guide Book for the princely sum of £1.50.![ Please note other stately homes]
The House Tour is escorted & our guide had an excellent knowledge of the House & its history & we were able to visit a large number of rooms.
The gardens are laid to lawns rather than flower borders.
We concluded our visit with a short diversion to the Saxon Church in the grounds,which is well worth a visit with its Medieval Font & Saxon Arches.
Before leaving for home we enjoyed a further visit to the Tea Room with its friendly service & very reasonable prices.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Breamore & children will enjoy the Countryside Museum, although, for the younger ones, the house may not be their scene.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristolianexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breamore House also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Minstead, New Forest
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Breamore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing