We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why this bad?”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Philpott's Fish And Chip Shop
Ranked #22 of 25 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Why this bad?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Why does fish and chips have to be this bad? Wet, greasy, tasteless. I liken the experience to dunking stale bread in a vat of cheap used poor quality oil.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hikeyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I thought give them another chance but they didn't dissapoint, still rubbish.
Huge mass of cooked chips waiting for who know's how long to be served, fish the same kept in the heat not cooked fresh.
Arrogant staff who have no idea about service or quality of food.
You don't need to have so much food cooked off as it's not busy, this shows signs of lazyness.
Will never return here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 237Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst fish & chips I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fish was re- fried and the batter hard and not edible. Chips were dry and in edible too. Worst I have had by far in 52 years. I am not even sure it was cod. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nwar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Needed a quick take away for 10 people so decided to try the local fish and chips - bad mistake. the oil was old and tasted off, the fish was not fresh and the chips where either soggy or burnt. this visit was in December and so a couple of months ago - hopefully improved in the last few weeks. But I am not prepared to try again for a long, long time - very bad experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Made me ill ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Bought sausage and chips .today I thought it was undercooked at the time !! And shouldn't of eating it but I did ..iv now become ill ..With well I won't describe it to you but u can get the idia ..not very clean either ..wow avoid avoid

Helpful?
3 Thank holidayrep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Philpott's Fish And Chip Shop also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Philpott's Fish And Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing