We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a quiet gettaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Toms Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
englandgi...
england
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quiet gettaway”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fantastic place on the edge of the New Forest. A bit hard to find at first, but with the help of a kind neighbour we arrived to find the fantastic Toms Cabin.
More space than we thought it would be. The bathroom has the added bonus of a bath, with shower over. We went to visit the on site pottery & were given a guided tour.
Bed was comfortable. Loads of storage space. Well stocked kitchen with everything we needed. We brought our own cloths, wash up liquid etc, but found they were provided. There is even a washing machine!
TV & free wifi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace & quiet
Liked least: finding it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review .we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again . Tina and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkiLoug...
loughborough
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just spent 4days at cabin with hubby and x2 small dogs.!
The cabin was lovely. .clean comfy and welcoming!!!
Had lovely veranda and small enclosed garden which made for a nice relaxing rest after trips out....knowing dogs could chill safely!!!
Lots of lovely trips out and down to coast..
Everyone had a great time....
Thanks to Tina and dogs for welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarajeanB...
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“as close to perfect as you could ask for”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just stayed here for a week with our two papillons. Have stayed at many holiday rentals which say they have an enclosed garden but that has never actually been true until now. Garden was totally escape proof which gave great peace of mind as I wasn't having to constantly watch them. Apart from that, cabin was comfortable and roomy. Although this is a working farm, it was still very peaceful. Excellent walks start just across the road. Would highly recommend this place and we certainly hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and secure garden
Liked least: fairly steep steps down to garden. a bit difficult for very small dogs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blloyd11
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cabin is a real home from home. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay; the kitchen is well equipped and the cabin is spacious and very comfortable. The garden qand terrace is also very secure for a dog. It is in a fantastic location for exploring the New Forest. We would highly recommend and will hopefully be visiting again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimthefis...
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We hired the cabin as we were going to a family wedding close by and we needed somewhere local to stay. Our kids are 6 and 8 so self catering seemed a better option than hotel. The cabin was very clean indeed and absolutely perfect for our needs. In addition to the wedding, we also made a visit to Splashdown Water park in Poole, which our kids enjoyed... oh who am I kidding, so did me and the wife!! An awesome collection of 12 different water slides from gentle to terrifying, well worth a visit if you enjoy that sort of thing!

Whilst we didn't really have a lot of time to explore, its certainly true that the cabin is really well placed - being far enough in to the new forest for you to really feel that you're staying there, but being close enough to the A338 at Fordingbridge to get you to Bournemouth or beyond.

The cabin was perfectly equipped with everything we needed - and a packet of complimentary cookies is always nice!

To sum up - would I stay again? Most definitely yes. Would we recommend to friends? YES!!

Thanks Tom and Tina for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cabin”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We loved Tom's Cabin. It had everything we needed and it was just so lovely to be surrounded by trees and birds singing. Tina and Tom were very helpful and friendly. They had thought of most things to make the stay run smoothly. We took 2 very young children and found it to be ideal for us. We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tom Aplomb”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Pros:
- Excellent location near lots of good walks. Didn't need the car at all after we had arrived.
- Clean, spacious interior with comfortable mattress and decent furniture.
- Well stocked kitchen with all the utensils needed to cook up a frankly spectacular vegetarian lasagna... and a half decent butter bean stew.
- Good heating and hot water on demand.
- Provision of OS map, some DVDs, games and bubble bath liquid.
- Tina was very helpful with advice on walking routes and nearby attractions.

Cons:
- Couldn't find a wifi signal, but didn't ask Tina or read the information leaflet so there may have actually been one.
- Kitchen knives need sharpening. Luckily I brought my own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Couldn't find wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing