We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch pub grub!”
Review of The Cartwheel Inn

The Cartwheel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under new management since December 2017. We offer home cooked food and friendly service. Food is served from 12.00-14.00 & 18.00-20.30 Tuesday to Saturday. We serve Sunday lunch from 12.00-15.00 every Sunday. Checkout our Facebook page for regular updates on what is happening at The Cartwheel Inn.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We ate at The Cartwheel Inn for dinner on Saturday night and the place was packed - always a good sign! In spite of the staff being rushed off their feet, they were very welcoming, helpful and quick to take our food and drink orders. The food was absolutely delicious - we both had the homemade burger with homemade chips. They were the best chips I've ever had in a pub - piping hot and crispy! The rural location made this pub and even more special find. I can't wait to return - The Cartwheel Inn puts other pubs to shame, it's that good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lotetuquri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 509 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really nice owner. Very relaxed. We have 4 kids and this wasn't a problem. Lovely food..and beer! Sat nav got us there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Halfway on a 14 mile walk, this Inn was like a mirage in the desert! Such a friendly welcome, we had a great lunch in the sunshine in the pub garden (ploughman's and Tapa's plates were lovely, both served with home made gazpacho) , with some good local beer. Would certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whiteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I live very local to the Cartwheel Inn and haven't used it for 12-13 years because the previous owners were not very friendly and changed the type of food they served there. That all changed when the new owners arrived about 6 months ago.

If you want a nice country pub with great food and friendly service, go to the Cartwheel Inn.

My family and I will certainly be using the Cartwheel Inn again. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Visited based on reviews and not disappointed. Business lunch and host Sherry made us feel very welcome. Food excellent and looked good on the plate. Speciality was fish and chips using hake and their own "Cartwheel" burger with a variety of available toppings. A little but out in the sticks but well worth the effort to find.

Thank Kevin_GH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cartwheel Inn also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to The Cartwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing