We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of The Cartwheel Inn

The Cartwheel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under new management since December 2017. We offer home cooked food and friendly service. Food is served from 12.00-14.00 & 18.00-20.30 Tuesday to Saturday. We serve Sunday lunch from 12.00-15.00 every Sunday. Checkout our Facebook page for regular updates on what is happening at The Cartwheel Inn.
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Found this pub whilst driving through the New Forest. A real gem tucked away. The people were warm and welcoming and the home-made food was amazing. Would def recommend this for a bite to eat or to just absorb the lovely atmosphere. Scrumpy on sale too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TInwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The chef at the Cartwheel has got it just right with a menu that appeals to all tastes and is excellent value. We were a party of seven and were spoilt for choice. I had the belly pork with bubble and squeak, which was very tasty and my husband had the ribs - he has a good appetite and the portion size almost defeated him, but he was intent on finishing them as they were so good. We will definitely be back for a return visit when we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lovetotravel2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We ate at The Cartwheel Inn for dinner on Saturday night and the place was packed - always a good sign! In spite of the staff being rushed off their feet, they were very welcoming, helpful and quick to take our food and drink orders. The food was absolutely delicious - we both had the homemade burger with homemade chips. They were the best chips I've ever had in a pub - piping hot and crispy! The rural location made this pub and even more special find. I can't wait to return - The Cartwheel Inn puts other pubs to shame, it's that good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lotetuquri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really nice owner. Very relaxed. We have 4 kids and this wasn't a problem. Lovely food..and beer! Sat nav got us there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Halfway on a 14 mile walk, this Inn was like a mirage in the desert! Such a friendly welcome, we had a great lunch in the sunshine in the pub garden (ploughman's and Tapa's plates were lovely, both served with home made gazpacho) , with some good local beer. Would certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whiteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cartwheel Inn also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to The Cartwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing