We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely late November short break.”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior View Cottage 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior View Cottage 1
Entrance Hallway Dining Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Exterior View Cottage 1
Entrance Hallway
Dining Table
Dining Area
Lounge Area
Open Plan Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Downstairs Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Upstairs Shower Room
Upstairs Shower Room
BBQ Area
River Avon
Surrounding Fields
Fishing August 2015
Fishing August 2015
Fishing August 2015
Fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louise d
1 review
“Lovely late November short break.”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We booked a late November short break at no 1 Spring Cottages for ourselves and 2 friends. The owner Joanna was very accommodating, she let us stay Thurs to Sun instead of the usual Fri to Mon, she messaged to say we could check in earlier from 12pm and could check out later than the usual 10am. It was also lovely on our arrival to find a note telling us that as the weather had turned colder she had set the heating and hot water to stay on continuously during our stay. The cottage is very comfortable, very much home from home and very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The grounds the cottage is set in are a delight and it is very well situated to explore the New Forest area and coastal towns. Highly recommended and would love to visit again in the Summer to make the most of the lovely setting. Many thanks, Pauline and Tony Dixon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
To Pauline and Tony,

It is so lovely to read your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable with a home from home feel.

It would be great to welcome you back in the summer.

Kind regards,

Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trekhound
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great stay in shepherds Spring cottage 1. It was lovely and clean, lots of space for 4 adults, baby and dog. It had everything we needed and was superb value for money. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all of our friends. Some reviews pointed out that it's off a main road. It's really a country lane and the cottages are set back so no noise or issues with that at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Hi Jane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here at Shepherds Spring Cottages. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Shepherds Spring Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Dear Scott,

Thank you for your recent review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Shepherds Spring Cottage 1.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness and the facilities in the cottage - a home from home
Liked least: hard to say...maybe the placemats.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Hi Hayley,

Thank you very much for your amazingly positive review it is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne G
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything we needed for a very enjoyable week. Wildlife on the doorstep, easy access to Fordingbridge and the New Forest. We parked the car up and didn't use it for the whole week. We used the open top bus and walked and cycled. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely barbeque area to relax in. The good weather was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your recent review your kind comments are much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Shepherds Spring Cottages.

We would also like to take this time to thank you once again for leaving the cottage so spotlessly clean it really was lovely of you to take the time before you left, we have never seen a cottage left so clean and tidy. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant accomodation for all the family!”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is extremely well kept and has all the features you could expect from a holiday let and more. The upstairs rooms are of a good size, the downstairs double is good too. Good range of kitchen facilities including large dishwasher and plenty of plates, cups etc to fill it with! Lounge/dining areas are comfortable and fit the whole family around nicely. Our two children (2 and 4 year) loved the cottage, especially the enclosed garden with BBQ, plenty of seating and views over the horse field. Lots of child related things available including stair gate and high chair. Iron and ironing board, good washer dryer, which was very useful after exploring the forest! The location is just outside Fordingbridge (1 mile walk to the nearest pub) which is a great location for exploring the whole of the forest. The property is set back from a main road into Fordingbridge, not busy at night but noticeable in the day, there is a secure gate to stop children getting near the road, so safe in that respect. We found the property easily and everything was equal to or above expectation, including nice touch such as fruit in the fruit bowl. Thank you all for a great stay! Our miniature schnauzer really loved it too and there were no holes for him to escape through in the garden so he was able to explore to his hearts content.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness of rooms and garden area
Liked least: near a road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and glad the weather permitted you to make good use of the garden area. It was so thoughtful of you to return the map to us and thank you for your wonderful review. Kind regards and best wishes, Shepherds Spring Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and our first TripAdvisor review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shepherds Spring Cottages and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing