We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite cottage, perfect for New Forest...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Terraces

Eat in front of the fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat in front of the fire
Chill out like these cats Comfy sofa in our cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Eat in front of the fire
Chill out like these cats
Comfy sofa in our cosy lounge
Sunny holidays
A real fire with some coal and logs, bliss
Lots of bright art work
Fab sofa to snuggle up on
Love these nail coat hooks
View into the lounge from the kitchen
Relax
One of the many art touches in the cottage
Fully equipped kitchen
Lots of colourful crockery for your use
View into the courtyard - perfect for early morning tea
Brighten up your day
Tea towels included
Sharp knives just part of the kitchen collection
Dishwasher to make your life easier
Teas and coffees waiting for you
Colourful mugs
Ready for that real coffee
Spices to liven up your meals
Happy days
Lovely comfy bed with crisp cotton linen
Just 2 of the flamingos at the cottage
Just what you need for a good night's sleep
Nice touches
Great dressing table
Plenty of storage for your holiday clothes
Seaside bathroom with warm fluffy towels
Little houses to make you feel at home
Part of the the sweeping view from the top terrace across the Salisbury downs
Spot our lovely bright new arrival on the middle terrace!
The cottage from the top terrace at night.  Magical low lighting to watch the stars by.
The steps looking picturesque in the winter snow
Little Terraces, the perfect home from home for a relaxing holiday
Sit quietly on the top terrace and you may see the visiting deer, beautiful
A perfect sunset from the top the terrace, the moon was rising over the field behind
If you wake up early see the sun rise behind the top terrace, glorious
Cosy beamed lounge with wood burning stove, books and local information
Bright and light the lounge is lovely at any time of day
Comfy sofa to relax on in front of a real fire in the wood burning stove
The table can be pulled out to suit you, seats 4, with plenty of  colourful crockery to use
Lots of information is provided in the guest folder, please leave your comments for us
Fully equipped kitchen including cooker, microwave, fridge and dishwasher
The country kitchen looks out onto the sheltered courtyard and the 39 steps to 2 other terraces
Contemporary furnishings in a character holiday cottage
You will sleep well on the comfy double bed, with feather duvet and pillows, fresh cotton linen incl
The double bedroom has modern furniture providing ample storage for your holiday wardrobe
The light and spacious bedroom with spring flowers.
We are always updating the cottage, spot the new art work in pride of place over the bed.
Lots of light near the mirror, perfect for applying make up and using the supplied hair dryer.
Refurbished New England style bathroom with power shower, bath and heated towel rail
The charming village of Downton, thatched cottages, shops and pubs all within walking distance
Little Terraces in the snow
The top terrace in the crisp white snow
The view from the top terrace is equally beautiful in winter
The river Avon flows through Downton, enjoy the picturesque riverside walk
The baby donkeys have arrived in the New Forest
The foals have arrived.  They are so cute
Come and see the latest youngsters
Bouncy baby donkeys make you smile
Fabulous Furzey Gardens in glorious colour
Lush ferns in the Forest
Giant Gunnera, amazing sight
The Forest is so green and lush now
Ponies of all sizes
Perfect for off road biking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
josejose3
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite cottage, perfect for New Forest exploring”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My partner and I stayed in Little Terraces for a week in September. We wanted to be close enough to pop into the New Forest for walks everyday and this property in Downtown fit the bill perfectly.

Little Terraces is a really cosy one-bed cottage. It's the most well-equipped holiday cottage we have ever stayed in - there's an excellent larder, plenty of reading materials and maps for walks, and lots of little extras that I always forget about, like sandwich bags and tinfoil!

It was really lovely turning up to the Terraces to find a bottle of wine on arrival and a hand written note from Sue and Simon wishing us the best for our holiday. They were lovely additional touches and it made us feel right at home. The cottage itself is very warm, cosy and colourful. We found the red folder very handy and all the instructions self explanatory for the heaters and other electricals. There is a lovely wood burner in the front room but unfortunately it never got cold enough for us to try it out.

Terrace garden is a real gem. I've never seen anything like it where i have stayed before, and the views across the countryside are stunning from the top. We were lucky enough to get good weather so managed to enjoy a few drinks up there which was really special.

The cottage itself is located in Downtown. Initially we had chosen the cottage purely for its proximity to the New Forest and figured we would be using it as a base for our explorations. However, Downtown itself is a really picturesque and friendly village. We spent a whole day going on local walks around the village and discovered the Moot (worth checking out!) and ate out in both village pubs during our week there. The costcutter is also super handy and has long opening hours, which is handy if you need something last minute and there's also a co-op, bakers, butchers and tea rooms within a ten minute walk of the cottage so there is very little need to venture to a big town.

We really loved our stay and would highly recommend. Thank you Sue and Simon for making our stay so enjoyable!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
We are delighted you had such a good time and enjoyed yourselves. As you discovered Little Terraces is about the New Forest but so much more as well! We look forward to welcoming you again some time. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicasie...
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Little Terraces”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had such a lovely time in the cottage. We felt really at home. The way it is decorated and planned make it really cosy, so after exploring the beautiful area we were looking forward to going back to the cottage. The different appliances, linen and kitchenware are high quality and lovely looking, so you really feel the cottage is worth the price you pay. The garden is very cute, you can enjoy a cup of tea in many different little corners and there are amazing vews from the top terrace. As for Sue, she was very helpful, always available as well as respectful of our privacy during our stay. I also had a wonderful personal experience, as I lost some sunglasses in an area nearby, she was so kind as to go and look for them and post them back to me in Spain. I would definitely recommend renting Little Terraces. It has given us lovely memories that will stay with us and we would definitely go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
I am delighted that you had a lovely time at Little Terraces with your daughter. Happy holiday memories are precious and I am privileged to have added a little to yours. It was a pleasure to reunite you with your sun glasses!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Little Terraces and some of the extra touches that we hope make holidays with us special. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sue c
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect base .... .....”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Little Terraces is an ideal base for a couple to visit The New Forest and surrounding cathedral towns - which is why we went. May is a lovely season in the forest as there are many colts and foals and - if you are lucky - baby deer .... we were!
Downton is an interesting village with excellent walks from the cottage and the pub and shop owners are very welcoming.
Sue, the owner of the cottage has equipped it with good quality white linen and a feather down duvet so it really has home comforts which are important for a comfortable stay on holiday. Because of the quiet position guests can simply walk from the front door to amenities but also to pleasant riverside walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Little Terraces and all that the area and cottage have to offer. It is a lovely time to come. All the seasons have something different to offer. We hope you will return one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily b
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Break away”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner ,dog and I have just returned from our lovely getaway to the little terraces New Forest.
Little terraces is extremely well equipped, with great attention to detail on things that we ourselves had forgotten ! for example a rucksack ,ice pack picnic blanket ,picnic basket! the Cottage itself is in a fantastic location with everything nearby
with great sites ,scenery an stunning walks.
We arrived late on Sunday and loved that we were able to get into the cottage using the key safe, get settled without being disturbed with all the meets and greats after a long drive.
we're also extremely grateful to be given such a late check out on the Wednesday, meaning we had a full day in the New Forest before departure .
The garden Terrace is a complete treasure to this property, we loved being able to sit up looking out at the views eating our breakfast of a morning.
Sue really has thought of everything with this property, from a red folder providing information on local dining an tourist locations down to a hoover and kitchen utensils.
We will certainly be back again. many thanks Sue.
from, Emily and Martin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thanks Emily and Martin. I was delighted to be able to offer you a late availability break that suited your timings. We always try to be as flexible as we can. I'm so pleased we had the things you forgot! We like to make your break as stress free as possible. Hopefully we will welcome you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suedavies...
Gibraltar
1 review
“Cosy, character cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Situated on the edge of Downton and close to the New Forest, Little Terraces is an excellent place for a peaceful break, especially for walking holidays. Small but well-appointed accommodation and parking, in an attractive village with good local amenities including 3 pubs with restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thanks for staying with us again. We are delighted you enjoyed your second break in our cosy cottage and took full advantage of all the locality has to offer. Hopefully see you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellem...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Terraces”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy cottage with lots of little extras. Fresh flowers and chocolates a nice surprise. Even provided sandwich bags, which is something I always forget for when we go walking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
We try to think of the things you have forgotten! Glad the sandwich bags came in handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing