We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
149
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games barn table tennis games room all ages home from home skittle alley new forest surma valley already booked for next year helpful owner fantastic property amazing play grown ups lovely cottage large garden wonderful week fantastic family
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was our second visit - and it was wonderful! The three of us relaxed so much, and even the dogs had a ball. Within a few minutes of arriving we felt as though the holiday had truly begun. A wonderful relaxing atmosphere at the cottage, with everything we could ask for readily available. Hubby went cycling (mountain bike) at Moors Lake which isn't too far away, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We all went walking nearby, and had huge fun in the games room! Can't recommend it highly enough. Just fantastic, and we hope to be back in the not too distant future.

Room tip: If you're travelling with animals, ask for the cottage with the enclosed back garden.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluelindy0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Little Thatch. I am pleased that you enjoyed your weeked here and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent a lovely few days at Wishing Well with our two boys. Owner Christine was very welcoming and lent us lots of toddler toys and other useful baby equipment, like a listening monitor. This was really helpful as two of the bedrooms are a way from the sitting room. Games room fantastic with pool table, table tennis and skittles; also a good garden with football nets on one side. Very comfortable accommodation and well placed to explore the New Forest, Salisbury or the coast. You do get some noise from the road but not enough to bother us. Another thing to note (though I think this is clear on the property website) is that you have to walk through the twin bedroom to get to the main bedroom. Again, this wasn't a problem for us at all but it's something to note depending on who is going with you. Overall, lovely clean house full of character and good facilities. We hoping to return next year.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that the 'baby/toddler kit' was useful.
I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our second stay and we have already booked for next year. Excellent accommodation, good pubs nearby, really good Indian restaurant (very obliging and cooked for my delicate palate), lovely walks in the autumn sunshine - what more can you ask for? We are so pleased we found this little gem.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for putting a review on for me. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay again & have booked again for next year. It is really good to see repeat visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have returned for another fabulous visit to the Wishing Well Cottage for a weekend trip. This was our second trip to the cottage. The cottage has fantastic facilities and has easy access to many walks, pubs and other activities. Upon arrival, you are made to feel at home straight away, Christine makes sure that you have everything for your immediate needs. Had another fantastic stay. Many thanks Christine.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I'm so glad that you had another good weekend here. It is always nice to welcome back past guests.
I hope to see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from yet another holiday in 'our' cottage. Perfect ambience, facilities, privacy and cosiness. Secluded, safe, large garden helped us relax totally in relation to our dogs (2 Yorkshire Terriers), who always quickly feel it is their own territory running around, whilst we catch up with our reading on wet days. Our lovely host Christine always ensures that Little Thatch is scrupulously fresh, both inside and out, so consequently we feel that we are the first visitors! The area is very 'dog-friendly' and therefore we are able to take them anywhere with us, including pubs and shops both locally and in surrounding villages. Having family in the area, we were able to entertain in our 'home from home' with a superb take-away from the local Indian Restaurant. Obviously, we have been back over the last few years and shall continue to return in the future.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for putting such a lovely review on for me. It is nice to know that all the little touches are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews