We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottage”
Review of Burgate Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burgate Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in the Wishing Well for a 4 night break in April - 2 adults and 3 children 13, 9 and 3. Cottage was excellent, comfortable and well equipped and Christine was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Lovely touch to have fresh milk, tea and coffee when we arrived. Kids loved the playbarn and the leaflets provided a wealth of information. Thank you Christine for a lovely break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Wishing Well during the Easter school holiday period. As you mentioned, the Games Barn is a great 'hit' with everyone, especially the children.
I appreciate your nice comments & for taking the time to put a review onto Tripadvisor for me - thank you.
Christine Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week staying at Little Thatch. The cottage was excellent with all the home comforts that you could require, and little extras such as milk in the fridge and biscuits made it extra special.
Christine made us feel very welcome and knows the area well which along with the many leaflets in the play barn was like our own tourist information office.
The barn itself was all enjoyed by all (children 7and 4-skittles and table tennis were the favourites) which along with the little football pitch and the swing outside ensured that as well as exploring the local area also made sure we had plenty of time around the farmhouse.

Burgate Farmhouse is in a lovely location for exploring the New Forest and beyond, but also the cottage and grounds provide a fantastic base to stay around. The little extras add to the experience and would highly recommend a stay there, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It is so nice to get such lovely feedback when a family have really enjoyed themselves here. It makes it all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic Easter weekend at The Wishing Well Cottage.(6 adults, 2 young children and 2 dogs!). Christine made us feel very welcome ( milk in fridge, tea, biscuits on our arrival) and the facilities were excellent. The cottage was very comfortable, clean and full of character. Christine provided a range of toys, books, bath toys along with high chair, stair gate and baby alarm for our young grandson . We were lucky to have some good weather and enjoyed a BBQ in the lovely gardens ( BBQ, charcoal and fire lighters supplied by Christine). We all enjoyed the games barn and the goal posts in the garden! Thank you Christine we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay in Wishing Well over the Easter weekend. I am glad that you all enjoyed yourselves. I'm sure that the games barn was a welcome retreat for the very wet day on Sunday.
I hope to welcome you all back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage and grounds were beautiful. The cottage was really comfortable and well equipped. The games barn was enjoyed by us all (teenagers through to a grandad). Christine was really helpful and friendly. Will definitely be returning.

The Burnhams, Warrington

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nljkb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I appreciate your kind comments & am glad that you all had a good family 'get together' here. The games barn is a great 'facility'. You had good weather so it wasn't crucial for you. When the weather isn't so good then it really 'comes into its own'!
I hope you are able to come again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've just returned from an extremely enjoyable 4 night stay at Little Hatch with our 2 dogs and can't wait to return for another short break later in the year. This was our first visit on a friend's recommendation. The cottage is delightful, very comfortable, clean, well maintained and free wifi (where would we be without!) Christine's attention to detail was greatly appreciated, especially the welcome pack, tea & biscuits on arrival on a chilly wet afternoon went down well! We didn't use the games room or laundry but having both is ideal in bad weather or on a longer holiday. The dogs enjoyed their stay too and the totally safe back yard meant we all relaxed and could enjoy, especially as the weather improved as the week went on! Christine had no input on that score but everything else we enjoyed at the cottage was down to her. We've stayed in the New Forest before and love the area but this is a true "home from home" and we can't wait to come back!
Many, many thanks, Pam & John from Kent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your really lovely comments about your stay in Little Thatch. It was lovely to meet you and your 2 delightful little dogs & I'm so pleased that you will be coming again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent Christmas in The Wishing Well Cottage, Burgate Farnhouse, with my partner and our 3 children (17, 12 and 9) and had a magical time. Christine, the owner, very kindly put a Christmas tree up for us and various decorations. I was able to have all of my food shopping delivered on the morning of our arrival, which was all put away for us. The cottage is just lovely, with long corridors, exposed beams and loads of character, and more than enough space for everyone. Weather was very wet and windy, but I can honestly say that it didn't spoil a single moment. The Games Barn is a touch of genius and kept my two youngest occupied for hours.
I can't recommend this lovely place enough, and we can't want to go back some time this year. Thank you Christine for everything and Happy New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas at Burgate Farmhouse. It was a pleasure to welcome your family.
Thanks for your very nice review which is appreciated.
I hope to see you again soon.
Christine Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent a week at the Little Thatch cottage and we loved it.
Everything was just right. The cottage is well equipped and warm. It was very quiet, cosy and relaxing.
We had wet and windy weather, but it didn't stop us going out and visiting the town about 15 mins walk. We visited various towns/villages nearby. Christchurch was lovely. We had dinner at the Surma Valley Indian Restaurant next door - Christmas Eve. (very nice) We had Christmas Lunch at 'The George' in Fordingbridge right next to the river. Christine sent me a copy of the menu before christmas recommending it - great choice.
The food was excellent, no cooking for a change ....
I would not hesitate to recommend this cottage and we would love to go back sometime next year.
Thank you Christine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDYWOON073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmorton, Owner at Burgate Farmhouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed spending your Christmas here at Burgate Farmhouse and that you had a wonderful meal at the George for Christmas Day.
I hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks for your lovely review.
Christine Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
16.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
414 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
8.4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
14.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
16.8 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgate Farmhouse

Property: Burgate Farmhouse
Address: Burgate, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP61LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century listed thatched farmhouse with 2 self catering wings (Little Thatch sleeping 2-4 & Wishing Well 6-7). Avon Valley & New Forest walks nearby. Highly recommended Indian restaurant/takeaway nearby. Games barn with pool table, table tennis, skittles, darts & lots of children's toys. Large garden with swings, play area, football net, summerhouse, BBQ. Dogs welcome (secure back garden/yard area for Little Thatch). Free wi-fi. On-site laundry room. Large amount of baby/toddler 'kit' available to borrow (free of charge). Bed linen inclusive. Towel hire available. Plenty of parking. Great central location for visiting New Forest & surrounding areas.Short breaks available from Nov through to mid May (either 3 night weekend starting Friday or 4 night midweek starting Monday). 5 Mins drive to New Forest National Park. 25 Mins drive to Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burgate Farmhouse Fordingbridge, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing