We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage in Beautiful Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Spacious and luxurious family bathroom
A second luxury shower room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
300barb
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage in Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful stay in this very clean and well finished property, which provided everything we needed, as well as being very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views of the countryside from the comfortable sitting room. The cottage was more spacious than we anticipated with plenty of storage, photos do not really do it justice it is situated in a lovely location and was very private. We really appreciated the tranquility of the cottage after spending the days with our young grandchildren who live in the area. The owner was very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

Would definitely like to stay here again, Thank you Astrid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah P
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“The photos don't quite do it justice!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Tack Room for 3 nights with our 2 year old daughter. The living space was larger than we expected with a decent sized open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area. It was lovely to look out through the patio doors from the sofa each evening across the private walled garden and into the trees. I think the pictures show this well. It is a very private location and although the host lives in a property nearby, you have plenty of space to yourself, including a private garden and ample parking.
The kitchen had more space than the photos show and although there are not lots of utensils and equipment, there was everything you could need to cook up a good meal for a small family and all of the kitchen equipment was in excellent condition and very clean! On the whole, the property is not cluttered with unnecessary items, it is quite minimalistic but has most things you need.
The shower room photos don't show you that there is in fact a large double shower and again the room is of a good size considering the size of the property and is very clean!
There was plenty of storage in the bedroom and we were able to fit a travel cot at the bottom of the bed and still get around which is not always possible in double bedrooms!
The porch came in really handy for storing our outside shoes, coats and boots from walking in the forest opposite the road. We took our daughter over to the forest over the road a couple times and she loved seeing the horses, ponies and deer that were roaming freely.
We were warned that mobile phone reception can be a problem however both my husband and I managed with Orange and O2 networks without too much trouble. There isn't however any wifi but having been pre-warned we did some research before hand and used our mobiles when needed. I know that for some this can be a real issue so would suggest that they fix this up sooner rather than later if at all possible.
Astrid the host was very friendly and welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed when we arrived and gave helpful suggestions of places to visit with a little one which was very kind of her.
If you are looking for days out, nothing is all that far away in the new forest and although most roads are restricted to 40mph we managed to get most places within 20mins and you could make it to the south coast in around 30mins. We visited the Romsey swimming pool which is brilliant for children (mostly 12yrs and under!) and our 2yr old loved it! We also visited the Raptor and Reptile Centre near Ringwood where we saw a great presentation of birds of prey but its only a part day activity (a few hours max I'd say!). Mudeford was a nice coastal place to visit and has a play park for children as well as a large open quay/green where you can eat a picnic near the water. Lyndhurst is worth a visit but don't drive through there unless you intend on stopping at the car park in the centre as traffic was very heavy even on a Sunday and you will queue in and out of the town.
We had a lovely stay, enjoyed the peace, quiet and space that came with this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet, space and cleanliness of this property
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa15...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem located in the heart ♥ of the New Forest.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage with breath taking views.

Suitable for all ages who are looking for a relaxing break away.

The owners are very welcoming and made us
feel at home.

We would highly recommend the Tack Room to all and we would love to return with our friends and family.

Many thanks for our wonderful extended holiday at the Tack Room.

With kind regards.

Vanessa & Dave x

Very welcome

home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephie D
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage - perfect for a couples retreat”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect little cottage for a couple, beautifully furnished and well kept.
Had all the necessities, and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Wonderful little cycle routes all around for both road and off-road

Only slight problem was the distance away from tourist destinations, but that was only for what we wanted to see and so, for someone else it may be alright.

Would very much recommend this cottage for a quick weekend away :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness and garden view
Liked least: Distance from toursit destinations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Astrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ria Q
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing