We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cristal Azul Playa San Miguel Guanacaste, Costa Rica”
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this 4 room inn. Because you need a 4x4 to get up to Cristal Azul it is easier to eat dinner(not inexpensive) at the hotel . It would be nice to have more variety for dinner
The beach is gorgeous --absolutely clean and no people -loved walking early morning .
The hosts(Zene and Henner) were very enjoyable and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enez, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hola Mary!

We had a good time with you both as well! Thank you for your review! It is always helpful to hear feedback from past guests and whenever possible, we make any changes that will help improve the the experience for future guests.

We appreciate the effort it takes to reach us on this remote beach, which is why we stress prior to arrival that the roads of the Southern Nicoya Peninsula are unpaved and require 4x4 especially during the Green Season. It can be an adventure to reach this area but that is also what has kept it so special, you truly do experience what small, beach town Costa Rica was like before the world arrived! The drive up to Cristal Azul is at times steep and does “twist” around the hillside to access the property, but we hope you enjoyed the stunning views and privacy our location afforded you.

Knowing that it takes a bit of effort to get up the hill, we offer meals and snacks in the Rancho so guests do not feel “trapped” into always dining with us. Our House Specials are some of the more expensive plates in the area but everything we serve is fresh, local and brought in for each guest based on menus that are planned personally with you daily. And with only four cabinas, candle lit dinners in The Rancho are always private and without the crowd of locals at the bar and tables coming and going. Cristal Azul dinners are for guests only.

During the booking process we offer the option to sign up for our Half Board Meal Plan that includes the choice of a Filet of Fresh Fish, Chicken, Beef or Pork plate nightly with sides of mixed veggie, rice and bean dishes with a garden salad. This plate is priced competitively with local restaurant dinner menu rates. Guests can then upgrade to a House Special daily while here and add Appetizers and Deserts as well. Cristal Azul is a small, intimate retreat and we have found that this is the best way to maintain a fresh and full inventory and keep waste to a minimum. We will now go out of our way to make this much clearer as guests are inquiring about their stays. We are also going to add two plates daily from the Meal Plan to the Dinner Menu that will be priced at “current market cost”.

Thanks again Mary for your review and kinds words about your care from us while here, it is so easy to go the extra mile when you are sharing paradise with fun and interesting people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a wonderful location! Our room, the small lodge and the pool were special and the hosts were welcoming. The road up to Cristal Azul requires 4x4. As there are few dining options more effort could be put into meals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

From our first communication with Zene, We looked forward to meeting she and Henner and visiting their piece of "paradise" in Playa San Miguel! We were interested to meet this school teacher from Boston who was drawn to Costa Rica by a charming fishing captain. In Cristal Azul, they have "gifted" their guests with a million dollar setting overlooking expansive open beaches, where you can simply relax away hours, or easily plan day trips and adventures. The pool is magical and was the perfect place to watch the sunset and enjoy tasty appetizers and cocktails in the evening. Every meal served to us at Cristal Azul was superb. We enjoyed fresh fruit, veges, and seafood that was expertly prepared and served. In the morning we started with a "smoothie of the day", and in the evening we enjoyed the days "freshest catch!" Our room was spacious and comfortable and we loved the outdoor shower! Cristal Azul sits high on a ridge and all 4 rooms overlook the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed visiting with Zene during the days and Henner during the evenings. They take an interest in their guests and guide you to wonderful activities in the area. To get to Cristal Azul, you will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle, and you must have a bit of an adventurous spirit. Most of the roads in the area are not paved, and the road up to Cristal Azul from Playa San Miguel is rough...but it is so well worth the journey up when you reach the top and enjoy the view and other amenities that Cristal Azul offers!! We were so glad that we ended our Costa Rican Vacation here, and had time to walk on the beautiful beaches and relax and enjoy Cristal Azul! We would come back here again and recommend it highly to other travelers who want to get away from touristy spots and enjoy a more secluded piece of paradise!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar and all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Such a nice place to stay. The host are great and will accomodate you in any way you need. If you want to be busy they will hook you up and if you say we are good they will be happy to let you just do your own thing. My son and me happened to be the only guest which seemed an incredible stroke of luck as the cabanas are all by themselves. The food was great and make sure to try the french toast at least once. Its unlike anything we ever had before. Henner arranged a fishing trip on our last day that was fantastic and we even brought in some Mackeral that they made for dinner that night. Also make sure to go to the beach shack restaurant at Punta Cayote at least once. The beach expansive and completely empty of people most of the time. If you drive, the trip through San Francisco is roughly 2 hours shorter than the trip down from Samara. Although the views from samara south can be beautiful. We also drove to Ma Pais and even though it was bone dry you still have to drive through 4 running rivers. If you walk through first to find the lowest spots it was no problem in a Bego or comparable vehicle. If you want to get "away" this is a great spot for sure. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxydendron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There is so much to say about Cristal Azul… What an amazing place. Zene and Henner have created a little paradise on the coast of the Nicoya peninsula, in the most beautiful setting. The service is personal and gracious, and so pampering! We felt like royalty.

The place itself is stunning. Look at the pictures… The aesthetics of their design combined with the natural beauty of the place is pleasure to the senses. Our favorite moments were having our coffee in the morning at the pool overlooking the ocean and sipping wine in the same spot in the evening while watching the sunset. And we had awesome views from our bed as well!
The rooms have everything you need with nice little touches. High-end mattresses and bedding, AC, complimentary toiletries, ect., but you still feel that you are in wild Costa Rica with the outdoor showers and monkeys in the trees…

The food was SUPERB. They customized everything to our desires. At 5:30pm we were served delicious home-made appetizers (guacamole and yuka chips or a large plate of clams) with a cold glass of excellent white wine at the pool. We watched the sunset while sipping and enjoying decadent food. Then dinners prepared by a private chef are spectacular. Whole fresh red snapper marinated in white wine and herbs wrapped in banana leaves and grilled… all in a romantic setting with candle light…

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, but we just wanted to hang out at the beach and serf, read, and relax. They gave us towels, a little cooler with ice and cold drinks/fruit, boogie boards, a beach umbrella, and even sun screen! And recommendations for where to eat fresh fish for lunch. With their help in planning and the little details they thought of – our time there was perfect.

We felt very grateful that we found this place and that people like Zene and Henner exist – who clearly enjoy providing pleasure and serving others and love sharing their beautiful oasis. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Israeli-winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enez, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hola! Thanks so much for the kind words about Cristal Azul and for sharing your experience with people considering a staying with us! This is a very small, private place and guests like the both of you really "get" what it is we are trying to offer! Your appreciation of the comfort, amenities, immersion with nature and the fresh local, typical food we serve is what we hope everyone will experience. Rustic elegance in remote paradise! Chatting with you in the Rancho was something I looked forward to daily and we are hoping some of the gorgeous pictures you sent us will be able to be shared with others on our new website! cristalazulhotel.com! Stay in touch, let us know if you are ever in the area again and stop by LocosCocos on the beach for sure! We are so close to opening! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Truly breathtaking views that were almost too beautiful to be real! Loved the remote, authentic experience and would go again in a second! Zene and Henner were wonderful hosts and make the stay so comfortable and inviting. Food was excellent as well. If 10 stars were an option, that's what we would give! Go see Butterfly Mike, too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First of all I'd like to apologize to Zene and Henner for how long it's taken us to write this review, but fresh off another adventure, this time to a couple Caribbean islands, we felt compelled to write about our experience last year. I'll make it short and sweet, if you want to stay in an all-inclusive, drink all day, eat yourself silly and have no interaction with the country you're in do not stay here! If you want an adventure and to interact with a wonderful culture, be secluded and rustic but yet have the ability relax by their wonderful pool...and have a few Imperials (so good) then do stay here. We hope to make it back someday, still a lot of adventuring to do, but we would come back in a heartbeat. Video is coming someday soon, I promise.

Also, if you want to do some fishing have them hook you up with Chico (which I highly recommend, totally reasonable price as well) and if you speak some Spanish ask him if he remembers the couple he took out that caught the Barracuda off the back of the boat, I'm guessing he probably hasn't forgotten.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
141 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#3 of 8 in Nicoya
42 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Address: Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel 1KM, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range: £143 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul is the perfect destination for those looking to step off the beaten path and experience what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. A totally private property with no public access, guests enjoy 180’ panoramic ocean views and the ultimate in barefoot luxury in a rustic setting. Prepare to unplug, unwind, and get lost in paradise! Great times are had here and memories of a lifetime are created! Four cozy "cabinas" guarantee there is never a crowd; each is equipped with AC, ceiling fans, screened doors that let in the ocean breeze and sound of the surf below, hot water, outdoor garden showers, fine linens, Raw Botanicals organic bath products, and the most impressive views in the area. An oversized, open air Rancho provides a luxe “Glamping” experience with an honor bar and billiards table as well as dining and lounge area ample enough for all guests. The vanishing edge pool overlooks six miles of undeveloped beach and provides a front row seat to the most amazing stargazing under the canopy of the Milky Way! A full typical Costa Rican breakfast is served daily and a chef prepares dinner nightly for guests in the Rancho upon demand. The only Costa Rica owned and operated hotel in San Miguel, your hosts also own LocosCocos (#1 Restaurant in area, #1 Beach Bar in Costa Rica; Lonely Planet)which is a guest favorite for sunset dinners on the beach. It is also a great place to spend the day steps from the surf with cold beers and catch of the fresh fish and seafood ready at your beck and call! 4WD and love adventure required too reach this area! Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only. For best rates, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing