We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
210
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool outdoor shower costa rica beach bar every morning fresh fruit get away playing pool delicious food seafood an adventure all kinds kind hosts watching the sunset wheel drive vehicle wealth of information fabulous hosts
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a wonderful location! Our room, the small lodge and the pool were special and the hosts were welcoming. The road up to Cristal Azul requires 4x4. As there are few dining options more effort could be put into meals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

From our first communication with Zene, We looked forward to meeting she and Henner and visiting their piece of "paradise" in Playa San Miguel! We were interested to meet this school teacher from Boston who was drawn to Costa Rica by a charming fishing captain. In Cristal Azul, they have "gifted" their guests with a million dollar setting overlooking expansive open beaches, where you can simply relax away hours, or easily plan day trips and adventures. The pool is magical and was the perfect place to watch the sunset and enjoy tasty appetizers and cocktails in the evening. Every meal served to us at Cristal Azul was superb. We enjoyed fresh fruit, veges, and seafood that was expertly prepared and served. In the morning we started with a "smoothie of the day", and in the evening we enjoyed the days "freshest catch!" Our room was spacious and comfortable and we loved the outdoor shower! Cristal Azul sits high on a ridge and all 4 rooms overlook the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed visiting with Zene during the days and Henner during the evenings. They take an interest in their guests and guide you to wonderful activities in the area. To get to Cristal Azul, you will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle, and you must have a bit of an adventurous spirit. Most of the roads in the area are not paved, and the road up to Cristal Azul from Playa San Miguel is rough...but it is so well worth the journey up when you reach the top and enjoy the view and other amenities that Cristal Azul offers!! We were so glad that we ended our Costa Rican Vacation here, and had time to walk on the beautiful beaches and relax and enjoy Cristal Azul! We would come back here again and recommend it highly to other travelers who want to get away from touristy spots and enjoy a more secluded piece of paradise!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar and all have a view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Such a nice place to stay. The host are great and will accomodate you in any way you need. If you want to be busy they will hook you up and if you say we are good they will be happy to let you just do your own thing. My son and me happened to be the only guest which seemed an incredible stroke of luck as the cabanas are all by themselves. The food was great and make sure to try the french toast at least once. Its unlike anything we ever had before. Henner arranged a fishing trip on our last day that was fantastic and we even brought in some Mackeral that they made for dinner that night. Also make sure to go to the beach shack restaurant at Punta Cayote at least once. The beach expansive and completely empty of people most of the time. If you drive, the trip through San Francisco is roughly 2 hours shorter than the trip down from Samara. Although the views from samara south can be beautiful. We also drove to Ma Pais and even though it was bone dry you still have to drive through 4 running rivers. If you walk through first to find the lowest spots it was no problem in a Bego or comparable vehicle. If you want to get "away" this is a great spot for sure. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxydendron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There is so much to say about Cristal Azul… What an amazing place. Zene and Henner have created a little paradise on the coast of the Nicoya peninsula, in the most beautiful setting. The service is personal and gracious, and so pampering! We felt like royalty.

The place itself is stunning. Look at the pictures… The aesthetics of their design combined with the natural beauty of the place is pleasure to the senses. Our favorite moments were having our coffee in the morning at the pool overlooking the ocean and sipping wine in the same spot in the evening while watching the sunset. And we had awesome views from our bed as well!
The rooms have everything you need with nice little touches. High-end mattresses and bedding, AC, complimentary toiletries, ect., but you still feel that you are in wild Costa Rica with the outdoor showers and monkeys in the trees…

The food was SUPERB. They customized everything to our desires. At 5:30pm we were served delicious home-made appetizers (guacamole and yuka chips or a large plate of clams) with a cold glass of excellent white wine at the pool. We watched the sunset while sipping and enjoying decadent food. Then dinners prepared by a private chef are spectacular. Whole fresh red snapper marinated in white wine and herbs wrapped in banana leaves and grilled… all in a romantic setting with candle light…

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, but we just wanted to hang out at the beach and serf, read, and relax. They gave us towels, a little cooler with ice and cold drinks/fruit, boogie boards, a beach umbrella, and even sun screen! And recommendations for where to eat fresh fish for lunch. With their help in planning and the little details they thought of – our time there was perfect.

We felt very grateful that we found this place and that people like Zene and Henner exist – who clearly enjoy providing pleasure and serving others and love sharing their beautiful oasis. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Israeli-winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enez, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hola! Thanks so much for the kind words about Cristal Azul and for sharing your experience with people considering a staying with us! This is a very small, private place and guests like the both of you really "get" what it is we are trying to offer! Your appreciation of the comfort, amenities, immersion with nature and the fresh local, typical food we serve is what we hope everyone will experience. Rustic elegance in remote paradise! Chatting with you in the Rancho was something I looked forward to daily and we are hoping some of the gorgeous pictures you sent us will be able to be shared with others on our new website! cristalazulhotel.com! Stay in touch, let us know if you are ever in the area again and stop by LocosCocos on the beach for sure! We are so close to opening! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Truly breathtaking views that were almost too beautiful to be real! Loved the remote, authentic experience and would go again in a second! Zene and Henner were wonderful hosts and make the stay so comfortable and inviting. Food was excellent as well. If 10 stars were an option, that's what we would give! Go see Butterfly Mike, too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews