We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
Certificate of Excellence
toronto canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Hotel Laguna Mar really felt like staying with friends - and friends who just couldn't do enough for you!
It's so easy to get comfortable and relax into the rural Costa Rican lifestyle .
Thanks to Drew our host, manager Michael , Chef Pablo, and office manager Anjelica
We loved the surrounding jungle feel, the beautiful beaches and sunsets and the sea breezes.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianCRlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    27
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay and it was perfect.....The entire staff was friendly and professional. The food was excellant especially the dinner menu. Not only do they do a great job at keeping your rooms clean but they cleaned the entire hotel every day (sweep, mop, dust). We wanted to try another restaurant so Drew (owner) was nice enough to drive us there and had dinner with us. We had a rental which I would recommend as long as you use it. We were happy just to hang at the pool all day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in Playa Coyote this past January for 9 days and we visited Laguna Mar twice for dinner. With only a few good options, we were told Laguna Mar was the place for a great dinner. Good advice! The owner of the small resort, restaurant and bar, Drew, was most accomodating, gracious and thankful for our visit. He was also very attentive and willing to share a good deal of information regarding the area. The staff was professional, polite and always there when you needed them. And the Chef, (who I wish I could remember his name) was wonderfully talented and very willing to accomodate your personal tastes. And like everyone else, friendly and polite. The bar and restaurant are adjacent to the lovely pool, lit up with soft color in the evening. It truly is a great spot for drinks, dinner or both. We loved the atmosphere and food enough to visit twice. For those very few who are staying in the Playas Coyote or Miguel area, do pay them a visit. It's worth the effort!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel Laguna Mar for 3 days, was truly a treat in every aspect. The rooms are new and have every possible amenity, the restaurant/bar has amazing food, the pool area is relaxing. Most importantly, Drew and his staff are truly welcoming and genuinely warm people who enjoy their environment and assisting as necessary. A bit hard to find, but worth the effort. The beach is great and always uncrowded. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Wow I really enjoyed this place, especially after the horrible hotel I just stayed at before arriving to this little gem of a hotel.
It's off the beaten path so it caught us off guard, but it was worth the drive! If you want to relax and be pampered, then this is the spot for you. Clean, posh, great service, amazing rooms, amazing restaurant and secure. I loved waking up to the monkeys and birds in the morning. Great beaches around too so go out and explore!
The owner of the place, Drew, was very helpful with lots of tips and ideas about the area and he was very inviting and friendly. We could tell that he just loves Costa Rica with all of his knowledge. Anjelica was so sweet and helpful and so was Michael. Great job everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place, nice design for a small hotel. Excellent service!!! The staff provide us outstanding services. Very clean! I recommend it!!! Good quality, fair price! I visited playa Coyote and i enjoyed my stay! Social area of hotel laguna mar is beautiful, a pool, a jacuzzi, modern design.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grevargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I usually don't take the time to write reviews about my travel experiences however this hotel is an exception. All I could say was "WOW" when I walked up to this beautiful hotel from the entry way! We were greeted immediately by the staff with a couple of refreshing cocktails!
During our stay, the service was impeccable! Kudos to Michael! One of the staff members at the hotel! He was right on top of everything. Very eager to please.
Michael helped set us up with a fishing trip on my Birthday. When we returned to the Hotel with freshly caught fish, Michael immediately called the chef to come in, clean the fish and make a special Birthday dinner for me. The chef came and introduced himself to us and asked if I had any special requests for preparation of the fish. I asked for a Ceviche appetizer and Chefs choice for dinner. He did exactly as requested. He made an incredible Ceviche and fish dinner! I was very impressed!
The hotel had a booking for a large party that evening so, Michael set up tables and candles on the balcony of the top floor suite so that we could dine in private. Again! Service! Service! Service!
I'd also like to mention that they have thought of everything when it comes to creature comforts in the rooms. Ipod docking station, nice flat screen TV, good lighting in the bathroom (which is very important for us ladies), hanging wracks and mirror in the shower, additional pull out vanity mirror in the bathroom. What else can I say. I just recall saying to my man. "Wow" they have thought of everything.
They are doing it right here! Do yourself a favor and stay here if you are visiting this area of Costa Rica! You WILL NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
14.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 7 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Property: Hotel Laguna Mar
Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing