We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laguna Mar
Nearby Hotels
Casa Caletas Hotel(Punta Arenas)
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection(Punta Islita)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leyenda(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Hermosas(Santa Teresa)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
189
32
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
32
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaboutique hotelsmall hotelnicoya peninsulaa bit overpricedstaff was very friendly and helpfulsea bassexcellent chefpizzaby accidentpool area islong driveget awaybeautiful poollittle gempablobeaches
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived at Hotel Laguna Mar intending to stay only one night but quickly decided to extend our stay to four nights. We loved everything about this place; staff was kind and attentive (always smiling and cheerful), the accommodations were modern, clean and comfortable, the restaurant was terrific and the owners genuinely interested in making your stay memorable. Truly, the warmth extended to us by the staff made for an unforgettable experience. The Hotel also assisted in organizing a day trip for us to go snorkelling and spend some time on Tortuga Island which was well worth the (very reasonable) price. Nearby Playa San Miguel is absolutely perfect - clean, private and long. We enjoyed our time at the beach and the proximity to the hotel. Everything about our last four days in Costa Rica and staying at Hotel Laguna Mar was perfect - thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Owner at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

All the team thanks you for your comment and wish to see you again in our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place, rooms are magnificent and food was delicious. Thought went into designing this resort. The staff and owner were friendly and made our stay very pleasurable. If you are in this area this is the place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

To Cici and staff-we want to offer our sincerest thanks for a wonderful stay at your exquisite hotel. The rooms were well appointed, extremely clean; the bathroom was filled with many toiletries, and the towels were so plush and absorbent. Add to that its spa-like ambiance and serenity - especially at night in the pool area with its multicolored, soft lighting. We ate dinner in the restaurant and without any exaggeration, I can say it was absolutely the best meal I've had in Costa Rica on this trip. The short ribs were to die for with a sauce that I could not stop raving about. Since my husband had some redness from being in the
Costa Rican sun for 2 weeks, Cici graciously brought a bottle of aloe vera for him to use and keep. She did the same for another couple we were traveling with. Upon our departure Cici gave us 4 bottles of water to continue our northward travels with.This is a place you would definitely do well to visit . You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5 & 6 which had very large bathrooms with nice walk-in double sized showers. Water quality was great because I could actually get a lather with my shampoo which I could not get elsewhere. We didn't get to go inside but there is a penthouse room which has great views. Room #9
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Owner at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Your laughter and your good mood still fill the hotel. thank you for your visit and for your warm comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is a true gem! If you want to get away from it all and relax in solitude this is the place. The rooms and the hotel grounds are kept spotless and the restaurant is top notch. The owner and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There is not really more I could ask for, we'll done!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Owner at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for having shared a moment in our hotel, we shall not forget your kindness and your musical talents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We did not stay here but this adorable little boutique hotel has a wonderful bar/restaurant area where 8 of us who were renting a house near by went to eat and watch American football play offs. The staff was super nice, the food was excellent and we enjoyed our selves tremendously. If you are in the area don't miss this little jewel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Your comment is heart-warming to us. I am going to communicate it to all the team. It is necessary to say that you are also great customers. Thank you for having taken time to draft this opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews