We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the paved path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Punaauia, French Polynesia
1 review
“Off the paved path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

True to other reviews this hotel is off the beaten or paved path. As is most anything in costa rica worth seeing.

Do not be discouraged, even in rain you can make it in a non 4wd vehicle. Just slow down and enjor the scenery a little more.

Property is wonderful and is a reflection of the staff without exception!The food is excellent and uses local resources. The bar has an eclectic group of frequent tico's, expats a travelers alike!

Set your expectations. This is a place to relax, finish a book or start a new one. Or enjoy a white sand beach to yourself.

Pura vida mis amigos!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texture916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire qui nous fit grandement plaisir. Nous sommes heureux que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé parmi nous, que le personnel vous a plu ainsi que notre cuisinier Pablo. En espérant vous revoir bientôt..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    27
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after we found out the flying scorpion down the road was closed up. We arrived a little before midnight and the caretaker was very rude/grumpy (despite the "we are happy to serve guests 24 hours per day" sign at the door). She would not turn the AC on for us that night because it was "too difficult," so we slept in a sauna.

Other than that, the hotel is very nice. The caretaker was kind in the morning too. The hotel is very modern and comfortable, I just wouldn't stay here again because it is far from the beach. You must drive to the beach and in this secluded area with such a nice beach, I prefer a hotel that is right on the sand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesdaley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I am sorry your arrival at the hotel, in the middle of the night and without gave us notice, had not enabled us to receive you in the best conditions. Indeed opening the hotel yard at night to 6 unknowns is not easy because we mind our guests safety. Moreover a power failure in our air conditioning system could not be repaired at night.
Nevertheless we are pleased you could have slept, admittedly one mile from the beach, but in a safety place.
We thank you for taking little of your time to give us your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a lovely boutique hotel in the hills of costa rica. You really need a rental car to come and go. Beach is not far. Small but refreshing pool. The owners are lovely and can plan a variety of activities. I traveled as a single mother with my two daughters ages 14 and 6. We felt very safe and well cared for. The food was amazing. The chef made special vegan entrees for me and my daughter said it was the best pasta she ever had in her life. We went hiking with a guide the hotel arranged and horse back riding. It was one of the highlights of our visit to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre revue qui nous a réchauffé le coeur. Nous sommes ravie que votre séjour chez nous se soit bien déroulé. Je pense que votre fille de six ans se souviendra toute sa vie que la première fois qu'elle monta à cheval fut au Costa Rica. La sécurité ainsi que la propreté de notre hôtel sont des priorités pour nous et nous sommes ravie que vous ayez pu vous rendre compte de cela. Au plaisir de vous revoir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were lucky to be invited to this amazing place while volunteering at Pretoma! We were served wonderful drinks and wine while we lounged out by the pool! Excellent service! Recommend going to this place:)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre revue qui nous a fait très plaisir. Nous sommes d'autant plus touché de recevoir des personnes qui aident à la protections des tortues et qui permettent à notre région du Costa Rica de préserver sa faune et sa flore extraordinaire. Les gens de Pretoma sont toujours les bienvenus à l'hôtel Laguna Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in March and based our decision upon the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! The vibe is just very laid back and it seems like one big family out in Playa San Miguel. The area is like going back in time where it is very peaceful and everyone knows each other. Although it is a long drive through a lot of countryside to get here, the remote location is what makes it so special. This is a great hotel if you want to experience a genuine side of Costa Rica. First of all, the food here is incredible. The locals will often come from several towns over for dinner. Pablo (the chef) is one nicest and most customer service oriented people I've ever met and will come out to speak with you often to ensure your dinner is cooked to your preferences. I'm talking 5 star dinners here. The whole staff is so friendly we were at ease the moment we got here. Jean Luc, (the owner) will go out of his way to make sure your stay is comfortable and that you are entertained. He has arrangements with local entertainment and sightseeing to make sure you can do whatever you came to Costa Rica to do. Check out Butterfly Mike's farm, also a super nice person who will give you a lot of insight into the local wildlife. We also had some travel issues back to San Jose when we were leaving, and Jean Luc was a big help in helping us get back with time to spare. I could go on and on, but in closing I will say that this place is very special and unique and you will get a great experience at a great price!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJ410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour ce commentaire qui nous a fait très plaisir. Nous mettons tout en oeuvre afin de rendre votre séjour le plus agréable et intéressant possible. Notre chef Pablo fait également tout son possible pour vous régaler avec ses produits locaux et son expérience. En espérant vous revoir bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I don't know where to start! My experience in Laguna Mar was perfect! I can tell you that what i love the most in my trips, is meeting people and the things i can see around the place i choose to stay... Here everything matches perfectly with my preferences. In Laguna mar the atmosphere is amazing, they make you feel as you are at home, they enjoy your company and mostly they will do everything to make your experience unforgettable and they really add value to your trip! The staff is the best, and the smile they present to you everyday, is wonderful! The rooms are beautiful decorated and are extremely comfy! The swimming pool is marvellous, and you can really enjoy it till late. And the food? So goooooood! And if you are lucky you'll be able to enjoy Pablo's gourmet cuisine... Which is delicious! And then you can enjoy one of the best places in Costa Rica! You have several beaches around the hotel, beautiful and almost desert.... You'll find the peace there... People who lives nearby are so nice, and they'll salute you everytime they see you! You can also do lots of things the hotel offers: visit a Butterfly farm, have a massage, see the turtle nesting, ride a horse, surf, meet the Ara project (i did and recommend), kayak, ..., and so on so on!
If you are visiting Costa Rica, you have to stay at least one night here! You will not regret!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Owner at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Anna to have spent your last days in Costa Rica in our company. We spent wonderful moments in your warm and friendly presence. Then, thank you and see you soon in Portugal, who know.....we hope so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were sent to Hotel Laguna Mar to eat dinner, by the property manager of the house we rented in San Miguel. We can't say enough about this Hotel we felt very welcomed as soon as we stepped in the owners are the most genuine & friendly people, the chef Pablo came out and talked with us after we ate our amazing meals the beef ribs was a favorite in our group. We did not stay the night at the Hotel but we did go back the next night for dinner and to hang out with the great people both working and staying at the hotel, and the 3rd night we met the owners Jean Luke & CiCi for a sunset drink. Our next trip to the area would definitely include a stay at Hotel Laguna Mar, especially since they helped us learn about the area and they set up both our fishing trip and our horseback riding trip, anything we were interested in they went out of their way to help us set up and we weren't even staying at the hotel, they made our trip so special and it's very evident they love the area, the locals and they especially love their hotel and their guests and want them to have a special time while you're in Costa Rica! Thanks again Jean Luke & CiCi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boylan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
hola, hello,
it was a pleasure for all the staffs of laguna mar hotel and restaurant to have great guys like you.
you have understand very well costa rica spirit pura vida.
hope to seen you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
14.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 7 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Property: Hotel Laguna Mar
Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing