We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and beautiful...”
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is a unique experience of which you will take away and think back and talk about for many years after.

The way it is set and effortlessly blends in with the nature around it really does hit you as soon as you walk in. There are a lot of positives about staying in this hotel and the effort it takes to get there is well worth it.

The rooms are compact but very well presented and are a nice surprise to the weary traveller as you arrive, especially the nice clean and spacious bathroom with lovely hot showers after you've spent time travelling to get there or just been to the beach.

The food on offer at the hotel is excellent, there are no meals included in the room price but the menu is reasonably priced for food that you get. Evening meals here are treat, the lighting, the atmosphere the quality of the food and the chef himself are all reminiscent of a high quality restaurant, and me and my wife both thought that the chef was good enough for a top restaurant in London. As mentioned in reviews before, he would come and talk to you and was very accommodating for me being a vegetarian and that really made me feel even more relaxed there.

This hotel is quite an intimate experience, as there are a small number of rooms. So it is important that the staff are really nice, and that is a definite. From Andreas who worked the day shift around reception and the bar, who was such a laid back nice guy who offered so much help and advice about what to do in and around the area from a local perspective, to Jean-Luc and Cici who are the owners. As owners they really do go the extra mile to chat to you and ensure that you're enjoying your stay and they seem generally interested in getting to know you a little better and give you a little bit of background knowledge on the area and the hotel.

It is a romantic setting for couples, and a place that I can see people wanting to come back and visit more than once, given the opportunity.

The beaches are beautiful and you can almost have them to yourself, San Miguel and Costa del Orro were a 1km away and absolutely stunning. The guidebooks seem to have Samara as the beach to see around this area, they obviously have not made it to these then.

With all the effusive praise, there are a couple of considerations for the hotel:

Firstly, the roads leading there in all directions are quite bad, this can be taken on with a standard hire car (make sure you take full insurance, and a Nissan Tiida is a good standard choice), though if it is rainy season or you're looking for more comfort you should probably opt for a 4x4. Secondly if you want to eat at other places other than the hotel then they are a drive away 15 minutes at least due to the roads, in San Francisco and Playa Coyote though don't expect lots of choice, you will be off the beaten track for sure.

Overall I can't recommend the experience of staying here enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Owner at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you Maninder, it was a real pleasure to have the joy to have you in quality of guests. We can't forget your smile and the beauty of your wife. we send you sun and our best memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We started in San Jose and the best part of our adventure was In San Miguel where we found
Hotel Laguna Mar. You will enjoy some of the best 5 star food prepared by chef Pablo who will come out and ask you want you want to eat and introduce himself, I'd go back just to eat. Pablo even went out one morning to catch us fresh lobster and made it the same night because we asked if they would be getting any soon.
But the best part of the place is Jean-Luc and Cici who are the owners of the place and are honestly like family to us now, we love them, they will do whatever it takes to make your stay amazing and organize alI activities for you ie. zip lining, horse back riding, ocean fishing and "butterfly mike" is a must. We recommend renting a car to get around and explore everything the area has to offer and surrounding areas. But it's an easy walk to the beach, which is out of this world and very peacefully it's like it's your own private beach. All the people we meet especially the locals were very friendly, the people there are amazing and we will definitely be going back sooner then later. To sum it up "Hotel Laguna Mar" is a family service mentality in a luscious green boutique setting.
Rosanna & Marco
(Toronto, Canada)

Room Tip: Penthouse balcony room is a treat if you are staying for a longer period of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

True to other reviews this hotel is off the beaten or paved path. As is most anything in costa rica worth seeing.

Do not be discouraged, even in rain you can make it in a non 4wd vehicle. Just slow down and enjor the scenery a little more.

Property is wonderful and is a reflection of the staff without exception!The food is excellent and uses local resources. The bar has an eclectic group of frequent tico's, expats a travelers alike!

Set your expectations. This is a place to relax, finish a book or start a new one. Or enjoy a white sand beach to yourself.

Pura vida mis amigos!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texture916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire qui nous fit grandement plaisir. Nous sommes heureux que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé parmi nous, que le personnel vous a plu ainsi que notre cuisinier Pablo. En espérant vous revoir bientôt..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here after we found out the flying scorpion down the road was closed up. We arrived a little before midnight and the caretaker was very rude/grumpy (despite the "we are happy to serve guests 24 hours per day" sign at the door). She would not turn the AC on for us that night because it was "too difficult," so we slept in a sauna.

Other than that, the hotel is very nice. The caretaker was kind in the morning too. The hotel is very modern and comfortable, I just wouldn't stay here again because it is far from the beach. You must drive to the beach and in this secluded area with such a nice beach, I prefer a hotel that is right on the sand.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jamesdaley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean V, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I am sorry your arrival at the hotel, in the middle of the night and without gave us notice, had not enabled us to receive you in the best conditions. Indeed opening the hotel yard at night to 6 unknowns is not easy because we mind our guests safety. Moreover a power failure in our air conditioning system could not be repaired at night.
Nevertheless we are pleased you could have slept, admittedly one mile from the beach, but in a safety place.
We thank you for taking little of your time to give us your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a lovely boutique hotel in the hills of costa rica. You really need a rental car to come and go. Beach is not far. Small but refreshing pool. The owners are lovely and can plan a variety of activities. I traveled as a single mother with my two daughters ages 14 and 6. We felt very safe and well cared for. The food was amazing. The chef made special vegan entrees for me and my daughter said it was the best pasta she ever had in her life. We went hiking with a guide the hotel arranged and horse back riding. It was one of the highlights of our visit to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre revue qui nous a réchauffé le coeur. Nous sommes ravie que votre séjour chez nous se soit bien déroulé. Je pense que votre fille de six ans se souviendra toute sa vie que la première fois qu'elle monta à cheval fut au Costa Rica. La sécurité ainsi que la propreté de notre hôtel sont des priorités pour nous et nous sommes ravie que vous ayez pu vous rendre compte de cela. Au plaisir de vous revoir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were lucky to be invited to this amazing place while volunteering at Pretoma! We were served wonderful drinks and wine while we lounged out by the pool! Excellent service! Recommend going to this place:)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmilieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre revue qui nous a fait très plaisir. Nous sommes d'autant plus touché de recevoir des personnes qui aident à la protections des tortues et qui permettent à notre région du Costa Rica de préserver sa faune et sa flore extraordinaire. Les gens de Pretoma sont toujours les bienvenus à l'hôtel Laguna Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in March and based our decision upon the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! The vibe is just very laid back and it seems like one big family out in Playa San Miguel. The area is like going back in time where it is very peaceful and everyone knows each other. Although it is a long drive through a lot of countryside to get here, the remote location is what makes it so special. This is a great hotel if you want to experience a genuine side of Costa Rica. First of all, the food here is incredible. The locals will often come from several towns over for dinner. Pablo (the chef) is one nicest and most customer service oriented people I've ever met and will come out to speak with you often to ensure your dinner is cooked to your preferences. I'm talking 5 star dinners here. The whole staff is so friendly we were at ease the moment we got here. Jean Luc, (the owner) will go out of his way to make sure your stay is comfortable and that you are entertained. He has arrangements with local entertainment and sightseeing to make sure you can do whatever you came to Costa Rica to do. Check out Butterfly Mike's farm, also a super nice person who will give you a lot of insight into the local wildlife. We also had some travel issues back to San Jose when we were leaving, and Jean Luc was a big help in helping us get back with time to spare. I could go on and on, but in closing I will say that this place is very special and unique and you will get a great experience at a great price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCJ410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaMar4949, Propriétaire at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour ce commentaire qui nous a fait très plaisir. Nous mettons tout en oeuvre afin de rendre votre séjour le plus agréable et intéressant possible. Notre chef Pablo fait également tout son possible pour vous régaler avec ses produits locaux et son expérience. En espérant vous revoir bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
14.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
214 reviews
13.0 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#3 of 8 in Nicoya
42 reviews
21.1 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing