We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balbirnie House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having visited the hotel many times we visited as part of my birthday celebration and had dinner in the Orangery. The surroundings of this hotel are wonderful at any time of the year and are part of the experience. It is a very popular venue for weddings so may be difficult to obtain reservations particularly during the summer months. Service is always good and the menu is varied and reasonably priced. I also enjoyed the maitre de allowing us to taste the wine before deciding which one was suitable for our dinner choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greigScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Greig, many thanks for your kind comments and 5 Star review, so very kind.

You are absolutely correct - always best to make a booking, and actually - that is applicable all year round these days - not just during the peak summer months.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have more than 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE - All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    138
    79
    34
    18
See reviews for
195
373
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

On Saturday the 21st December a group of six of us attended what is undoubtably the best local Hotel in this area for a party night. From the second we entered the Hotel we had a fantastic evening. The food served was outstanding, the service from the youngish staff on duty fantastic and the number of guests there was just right as we all had ample room at each stunningly set table and the dance floor whilst busy was never overcrowded. It has been seldom that we have ever experienced such high standards at this sort of night and without doubt we all scored the event a stunning ten out of ten. Even the jugs of iced water were constantly replenished by the superb staff and to top it all off we shared our table of ten with four outstanding younger fellow guests who simply added further star dust to our fantastic evening. So thank you staff from the Leven Branch of BOS and an especially big thank you to Balbirnie House Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello John, and thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful 5 Star review. All best wishes, and so lovely to hear that such a great time was had by one and all.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Merry Christmas!

Festive Party Nights were fully booked by summer - please book early to avoid disappointment. We have been inundated with lovely comments on the decorations and food this year, it is so nice to hear those.

And now - let me mention a little festive highlight thus far. New personal invention 'Santa's Skittle'. Pint glass. Lots of ice. 1 measure Chambord raspberry liqueur, 1 measure white rum, 1 measure vodka, 1 measure Cointreau, 2 measures lemon juice, 1 tin of Red Bull, then that is that Dear Readers - all aboard the Sleigh!!!

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have more than 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE - All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I recently booked my work Christmas lunch on the 20th of December. We had booked the Garden Room as we were a party of 12. The food we ordered was lovely and everyone enjoyed themselves. However, there was no Christmas atmosphere so we had asked the waitress and she kindly brought in an iPod with Christmas music to play, I have to add the waitresses were very attentive.

We then sat in the drawing room afterwards for coffee, I had to ask for tea as this was not provided. Then because the hotel was so lovely we decided to stay there for a few drinks by the fire.

It came to 5:20pm when the manager? (I wasn't quite sure who he was as he didn't have a name badge) started to rearrange the seats. He then told us that we would have to leave at 6pm as the room was being used for a private party. He was quite short spoken when he told us this and then closed the drawing room doors to the bar area. At 5:45pm he came back through moving chairs again so we all got up and left the drawing room. By this time only 6 of us were left. We went into the bar area and asked him if there was anywhere else we could sit as the bar area was busy. He replied saying that there was really no room in the hotel for us to sit. We then said surely in a hotel of this size there would be somewhere. He then abruptly took us to a seating area next to the kitchen and we were told we could only sit there for half an hour. The room was empty as no one was sitting in it anyway! We finished our drinks and left as we felt so unwelcome.

Given that we had been in the hotel for lunch since 12:30 and had then decided to stay on for a few drinks (spending money at the bar) the way we were treated by the Manager was absolutely terrible and we felt like second class citizens. At one point one of my colleagues actually said to him that we felt like we were Mary and Joseph with no room at the inn! He did not respond to this. The room where we were put in also had waiters and staff coming in and out of the kitchen all the time. Not like the room or bar area we had been in.

As someone who arranges a number of event throughout the year, it is always disappointing to send emails of this nature to a venue. It has made us think twice about coming back and recommending the hotel due to the terrible attitude of the Manager.

I emailed the owner and his response was the policy states that lunchtime guests must leave the hotel by 5pm.

That may be true but the others who had also had lunch were not asked to leave at the same time as us. Perhaps they were subject to a different policy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello again Neecie 36, and this is now the third time we are destined to communicate.

1. I do not think there is a hotel in the land in which the customer is any more valued.

2. As per both previous written communications - I again re-iterate - our written Terms and Conditions for the festive season are explicitly clear. Quote '* We must ask that all lunch guests depart from Balbirnie no later than 5.00pm'

With regard to 2 above, as an example - on the day you visited we had some 600 guests celebrating throughout the day. As you may imagine Dear Readers, if the hotel manager and his band of Merry Elves aka Balbirnie's brigade still have 300 lunch guests celebrating at 6pm, then they has nowhere to properly accommodate the 300 guests who are about to arrive for dinner, hence the above. We have worked this way for many a year, without ever encountering a problem.

We very much hope Neecie36, that upon further logical contemplation that you will re-book again for next year. There is of course one further suggestion, why not book again for festive lunch, spend the afternoon celebrating, and then stay on for pre-booked dinner as well - much merriment and customer delight for sure! Please do let us know, and all best New Year wishes for 2014.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have more than 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE - All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently, having booked a special package, dinner, bed and breakfast.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and advised we had been allocated a bridal room, rather than our standard double room.

The room was nice and was very large and spacious, with a 4 poster bed and decorated in a classic theme. However, there were small signs of this room being tired and in need of modernisation and redecoration.

The bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights sleep, but the rooms do require better sound proofing. It was very easy to hear people in the room next door, and people passing by in the corridor, and light from the hallway shines through under the door.....

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was the 1st night of their new festive menu. Restaurant was very quiet, as only 2 other tables were taken during the 90mins we were there. We found it strange we were seated opposite the door facing into the restaurant, rather than one of the many other tables which faced out the windows with a view......

Staff were friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Food arrived promptly and well presented and tasted fine. However, it seemed to be missing any real wow factor..... We had been expecting a bit more from reviews we had read.

Breakfast in the morning was self service and we helped ourselves to a full Scottish breakfast. Bacon, sausages and black pudding were all good quality and tasted excellent.

I would stay again if passing through the area, but I would recommend asking for room at end of corridor to avoid room noise.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Paul, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is lovely to hear that you consider the premises to be 'A Charming Weekend Retreat'.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

Sorry to hear that other guests were not as quiet as they could have been, outside your bedroom. It may be the case that they were carried away with the exuberance of the evening in question - if our Orangery is not busy of an evening, it can be the case that most residents are attending a Private Special Event.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have more than 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE - All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed 14th December for Dinner & overnight stay for 45th wedding anniversary The house is stunning and the Christmas decorations were tasteful and in keeping with the surroundings especially the chef's Gingerbread House!
Upgraded beautiful room, dinner and breakfast were excellent, super quality and choice
All staff were efficient, welcoming, very attentive and friendly. Although extremely busy, there was no drop in the standards of service, Well done Balbirnie!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priestlandfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Priestlandfour, and our gratitude for your kind comments, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House. (This year's Gingerbread House was made by Pastry Chef Paula, it was indeed quite something.)

Christmas at Balbirnie - such a special time of year. I must say as well, we were over the moon with this year's festive decorations.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have more than 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE - All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just back from a fantastic Christmas party and stay at Balbirnie. The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful and the spacious rooms were absolutely stunning. Although the colour scheme was the same in each room, some of the beds were on platforms, some had canopies, some had ornate fireplaces making each room individual.The meal at the party was delicious and the carvery was amazing with a huge variety of dishes to suit everyone's taste. Staff were super efficient and couldn't do enough to help, always checking if everything was OK The food was served very quickly and was piping hot. In the past we have tried several party nights at other more expensive St Andrews hotels and this one was far far better! Really can't recommend Balbirnie highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madspanielwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hello MadSpanielWoman - what a wonderfully encouraging review from an occasion which took place on Friday 13th!!! Delighted to hear that the overnight stay and Ballroom Party Night were enjoyed so much. This year all party nights were fully booked by July, so book early to avoid disappointment ... I shall circulate your comments to all at Balbirnie House, all best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have almost 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE, and our Special Events and wedding planning dept. are @WeddingsBH – All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We held a Long Service Awards dinner at Balbirnie House Hotel and were very well looked after from the point of booking, through various changes to our arrangements and throughout the night itself. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and understood that such a large group tend to move at their own pace! The food was lovely, the room was beautifully set and the atmosphere relaxed.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hello VJS7, and many thanks for your 5 Star review. Absolutely delighted to hear that the Long Service dinner went so well. The formats we are working with for private room dining are working extremely well this year, and I anticipate more of the same for 2014. It was very kind of you to post such a kind review.

For all daily updates and photographs, competitions and offers, please do head on over and join The Balbirnie House Hotel Facebook page, we have almost 5,000 individuals who now receive Balbirnie’s Daily Updates, and exciting chat! This is now an accumulating historical archive of information, a celebration of life in and around Balbirnie. Our gratitude as always.

Twitter is now also very much an integral part of what we do, albeit somewhat more briefly stated than my TripAdvisor responses! I am myself on @BalbirnieHouse, our MC’s and Duty Managers are @DM_BALBIRNIE, and our Special Events and wedding planning dept. are @WeddingsBH – All talking daily about what goes into our complex operations, as well as the generalities of how wonderful it is to work within the hotel sector. Out front and also from behind the scenes…

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our main web site. (We also list these on a monthly basis on Facebook.)

From the many lovely emails, presents, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any legitimate complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. (If we have ever made an error, and it can sometimes happen, then we would always appreciate an opportunity to redeem your perspective. Mistakes are however quite rare, as any reader can see from the overview of our reviews!)

Best wishes from all at Balbirnie, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
2.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Property: Balbirnie House
Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing