We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
58
17
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
17
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv small hotel stayed here train station great ambience modern shower room attending a wedding nearby hotel stayed longer recommend staying here lovely meal lovely room tea and coffee would definitely stay here again pudding great value for money st andrews
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We had a deluxe room for 2. Nice large room, but cold late evening as the heating went off. Nice bathroom but no mirrors!
Breakfast was OK but nothing really special.
Main complaint was it all seemed to be geared around getting as much money off guests as possible. We made an assumption that breakfast was included, but found out that it wasn't (who quotes rates without breakfast included!!?)
Although room was nice it was expensive and then to be told this didn't include breakfast made it worse. Also looking for a tip when paying for same breakfast.
Be prepared!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank malcolm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette B, Owner at Banner's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Hello and thank you for your review.
Firstly, we have now set our heating onto Winter hours so that it is on 24 hours and controlled by guests in the rooms so thank you for pointing this out.
Breakfast: There is a big variety on our menu, we used to include breakfast in the price of the room but this proved to be unfair as some guests left before breakfast, others had just a bowl of porridge and others the full works. In response to this we reduced the price of the rooms and decided to follow what seems to be the trend and charge separately for breakfast so that guests only need pay for what they have to eat.
Room rate: From what I can see your deluxe room was £95. I am sorry you think this is expensive, as you point out, the room is huge, with a private corridor leading to it, massive bay windows and beautifully decorated. It has almost all the luxury of our No1. Suite. I am definitely going to check about the mirror situation as there should be a small one in the ensuite and a huge floor standing one in the bedroom.
Everyone works hard to go the extra mile to try and make sure all guests are very well looked but I'm going to have a think about why you left feeling we were trying to get as much money off you as possible as whilst we need to make money, maximising this is not our ethos.
Our best wishes,
Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Banner's for two nights as we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel and are delighted that we made this our base for the weekend. The room was huge and uniquely decorated and included nice touches such as ground coffee/cafetiere, huge freestanding mirror and built in apple tv with surround sound. The bathroom was also large with a great shower and free toiletries.
We ate breakfast in the downstairs restaurant on both mornings and each time we were impressed with the quality of the ingredients used and the portion sizes. The staff were also friendly and contributed to the great impression that Banner's left on us.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed at Banner's for two nights to attend a wedding in the area, with our two year old daughter. We were forced to pay more for our room as the booking options on the website stated that a cot wouldn't fit in the other rooms, which was very frustrating. However the apartment was a significant size and included everything in the kitchen that you need to make meals. We put our daughter in the living/dining area so that we did not have to go to bed at 7pm with her, but unfortunately there is only one door between our apartment and what I presume was the reception as unfortunately the telephone kept waking her up. However, the staff were absolutely lovely, the toiletries provided were delicious to use, and helpfully there is a co-co almost opposite to buy bits and pieces. The staff also provided some toys in the room without being asked which was very kind of them and made our stay significantly nicer as it kept the wee one entertained.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable place to stay, comfortable amenities in every way. Lovely bedroom, facilities with first class complimentary biscuits!

Good food, brilliant Latvian barman, and excellent service all round from delightful staff.

For those that like boutique hotels, slightly quirky, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Banners again this year after finding this gem last year. Rooms are clean and tidy, now with tea and coffee facilities in room rather than ordering at the bar. Got a goof nights sleep even with widow open and room was above entrance door. Will definitely be back

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews