We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The staff at the Eco Hotel is absolutely lovely. They really want you to have a memorable experience - from using the kayaks to enjoying a homemade breakfast. Note, however, that they don't speak any English. Using my iPad app Spanish, my friend's high school Spanish, and lots of hand gestures and sound effects, we were able to communicate and have a few good laughs.

Unfortunately, much of the front property is submerged. The only way to get to the hotel is to hike through coffee and corn plants on a very narrow track that you wouldn't see if you didn't know to look for it. Our shuttle driver had no idea where the hotel ways and had to ask the locals. Don't be surprised when you are driven down a narrow lane, past the firehouse (bomberos), and almost into the lake when the road ends. There is a sign for the hotel on a chain link fence that alerts you to the entrance. Be prepared to carry your suitcase along the trail and up the steep steps to the hotel although they will carry it out for you on your departure.

Unlike what was advertised, there are no tvs in the hotel. The only way to get wireless internet is if you remember to ask as soon as you arrive - after that, the person who has the code is usually at home. The staff includes a cook, receptionist, and 2 landscapers/handmen who seem to randomly be around the property at various times.

There is nothing in San Juan, but you can easily get a tuk tuk in town to San Pedro for 5Q. You can also ask to have them call a ferry boat for you which will pick you up at the hotel dock.

While the facility is somewhat run down, the location is peaceful and relaxing with a beautiful view of the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lakeside on a calm and relaxing bay. Great views and so peaceful to watch the men fishing in the bay. Rooms are really big, clean and cozy with a cottage-y feel. All staff is incredibly friendly, caring and all have great stories to tell. It is just a 2 minute walk to the center of the town of San Juan, a wonderfully clean and quaint town with almost no tourists. This is not the place to go if you want to party, because San Pedro and other main tourist towns are at least a 10 minute taxi drive away. This is a place to come and relax and enjoy peace and quiet on the Lake.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stunning views over the lake towards the volcanos and terrific gardens with many English flowers provide a wonderful backdrop. Rooms are very pleasant but make sure you get a clear view of the lake - obliging staff were happy to help with this.
The restaurent was cheaper and better than we anticipated.
The nature reserve next door was great fun and takes between 1-2 hours. Lovely butterflies too.
Beware of the coffee flies. Bites really nasty - much worse than mosquitos - caught us unawares.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a clear view of lake. We had 305, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We've stayed at some beautiful hotels around the world but the entire wall of our room was the lake and volcano view. It was every picture of Lake Atitlan. 4 rooms have this completely unobstructed view - 214,215,314, & 315.
The hotel is first class. Excellent service, very good restaurant, clean spacious rooms. The road to the hotel was built to stop invading tanks I think. Awful.
There have been complaints about the 55Q fee to just walk around the gardens. I won't comment on the rightness or wrongness of this but these are EXTENSIVE gardens. We spent hours discovering new hidden gems and a wide collection of birds. Don't miss the massive vegetable garden. It is a sight to behold.
We've been to Panajachel several times so skipped it, except for the used clothing market at the firehouse where true bargains are to be had, and ate dinner at the hotel. After a day of visiting the towns around the lake it was a relaxing pleasure. Breakfast on the outdoor patio also should not be missed.
Finally sitting in their hot tub on the edge of the lake was worth the room cost right there.

Room Tip: Check the room and try for the best view you can. Third floor for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I should have written this review years ago. My wife and I have been bringing groups of university students to Guatemala for a month-long Study Abroad summer session for five years now, and each year have spent a week or so at the Uxlabil. All in all, it is our favorite hotel in all Guatemala. The entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the view is magnificent and the food is first rate. San Juan is an extremely clean and friendly little town and while the hotel is a ten-minute walk from its center, it is very safe and pleasant, even at night. Don Francisco, the owner, has become a good friend, as have all the staff, and we always look forward to this part of our month in Guatemala. Our students love it also.

Room Tip: All three levels have great views of the lake and the volcanoes. The third floor IS better, but only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zorrogrisRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had a wonderful couple of days here. Gaspar gave us an interesting tour of San Juan and Melina cooked us some nice meals. The hotel is a 10 minute walk along an unlit path to the town center, so we didn't want to walk it at night, but dinner was available at the hotel.

The room was comfortable and the view from the balcony over the lake in the morning was outstanding. The coffee tour was worthwhile and the local artists produce very nice paintings. We caught the bus from here to Quetzaltenango direct, without having to go back across the lake to Panachel.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTColordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxlabilatitlan, Marketing & Reservations at Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're very pleased that you and your wife had a very nice stay with us. We hope that in the future when you come to Guatemala, you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you like a nicely kept, authentic eco-hotel on Lake Atitlan with extremely helpful and friendly staff, fine breakfast and dinner, large rooms with eco-standard, a free view on lake and mountains, if you like to relax and to walk through the hotel's own plantation for organic coffee (which you also enjoy at the hotel), if you appreciate a nearby village with welcoming people Eco Hotel Uxlabil is the very place. Stay there, hike and you will not forget it that fast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubilo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxlabilatitlan, Marketing and Reservations at Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments!
We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan la Laguna
2.3 mi away
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
250 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
303 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan

Address: Km 175 | San Juan la Laguna, Atitlan, San Juan la Laguna 07017, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Juan la Laguna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan la Laguna
Price Range: £36 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an eco hotel on the shores of lake Atitlan. A special hotel, with excellent view from every room, peaceful and with many activities inside the hotel and its surrounding; we are near a Mayan Tzutujil village called San Juan La Laguna, were you can learn about their interesting culture. We are specialized in bird watching and making different kind of tours (adventure, hiking, cultural, relaxing tours and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan - San Juan La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing