We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal for the price, withnwarm device thrown in”
Review of Jostedal Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Camping
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good deal for the price, withnwarm device thrown in”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We rented a small cabin which from the outside looked like a garden shed but inside was quite comfortable and well furnished. Facilities are shared but the location next to the river is terrific and eating outside a pleasure.
Astrid, the host, was wonderfully helpful and kind.
Great location for glacier trips.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in one of the ‘high standard’ cabins for four nights with our two daughters (12 years of age) in July 2011. This camping is situated in Gerje close to the Nigardsbreen Glacier. The nearest bigger town (Gaupne) is a 30 kilometers drive. Gerje itself has a small grocery store, tank station and a café/restaurant. There are lots of possibilities for hiking in the Jostedalen National park. Especially the Nigardsbreen and Bergsteg Glaciers are of outstanding beauty.
The camping offers several types of cabins, ranging from rather basic to this ‘high standard’ cabins. Our cabin had a living room (combined with a small kitchen) with a nice view on the river. There was a master bedroom of about 8 m2 with a twin bed and two smaller bedrooms on the second floor with beds for four persons. In the latter rooms, the beds were placed under the /schuin/ roof. There was an additional bathroom and toilet. The small kitchen was well equipped with an oven and dish-washer. The living room had a tile floor, all bedrooms had wooden floors.
A free WIFI connection was available, the quality of the signal not always perfect, but most of the time sufficient, although streaming was not possible. In respect to the safety, there is one fire detector in the living room. Since there were no curtains in front of the large (but nice) windows in the living room, the temperature can get high during sunny days.
The apartments can be cleaned by the guest or be cleaned for NOK400. The floors and kitchen of our apartment were clean, although some drawers were not. At the time we visited this camping, there were a lot of flies, which wasn’t very comfortable. The owner of the camp site was friendly and helpful and really did their best to make us feel at home; providing us with a lot of information about possible outdoor activities.
The price of this cabin was NOK 1100 per night. These cabins are fine for a stay of a couple of nights, but also to stay for a longer period. The possibilities for activities heavily depend on the weather; If you are lucky and face nice weather, this place is ideal for many outdoor activities. We took a "short blue ice tour" on the Nigardsbreen Glaciers, which was really breathtaking….

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

By far the friendliest campsite we stayed at in the whole of our 3 weeks. Astrid, the owner, couldn't do enough to help us and was so lovely. The weather was truly awful for the 3 days we were here, but the campsite facilties were clean and warm and we were even able to dry our wet tent and gear.Free wifi was a real bonus for our 12 year old and the hut we rented was clean, dry and warm! I would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdenute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2011

It was quite a challenge to get with busses at the season end to the glacier but the glacier and this place as well as the manager, her daughter other guests and atmosphere was worth it all.

1. All places of this kind in Norway are tidy and clean and very pastoral. But this was one of the best. So quiet and wild with a river just across our wood hut, fine food at the restaurant in the hotel just nearby, volleyball field and the nicest Norwegian family that even gave us a lift at the end of our two days stay just so we could catch a sunny rare day at jotunheimen
National park.

I would really recommend this place to stay and relax and visiting the glacier for anyone that would like to enjoy real Norway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peledami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed on this campsite for 2 days in the month of May, while we were touring through Norway. We did some hikes to the glaciers nearby and toured around with our car. We slept in our minivan, and used electricity of the campsite.

This camping has an extremely friendly, helpful and hospitable staff. Kitchen and shower facilities were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The surrounding area is marvellous. We are very happy to have found this place, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet, clean and comfortable (but still charming and authentic) place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Camping is a pretty common thing in Norway and a nice way to keep your accommodation costs down in a very expensive country. We went to the Jostedal area to do some hiking on a nearby glacier (plug for Ice Troll here, also very good). Everything was excellent. I travled with my wife and a friend and we rented out a nice cabin for two nights that was small, but exactly what we wanted to keep our prices down so that was a non-issue. The beds were comfortable and the room was very well taken care of (even though the guest book for the room went back a long ways). Free wireless internet was a plus too.
As for the facilities, a completely new shower/bathroom/kitchen facility was just recently completed so everything is pretty much brand new with dishes and cooking equipment included. No problems there. And when you're in a campground in the middle of a bunch of mountains its kind of hard to complain about such a beautiful location :)
Finally, the owner of the campground, Astrid, was perhaps the nicest person I met on all of my travels through Norway. She was extremely kind and helpful with tips and making sure that we were comfortable and happy throughout our stay.

I can't say enough about how much I liked this place. Everything just seemed to click and we all had a great time despite some rough weather. I hope this helps sway your future plans if you are planning on being in the area. We're going to try our best to return there as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex207k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luster Municipality
0.1 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#3 of 5 in Luster Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
14.8 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vassbakken Kro & Camping AS
19.0 mi away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 1 in Loen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Camping

Property: Jostedal Camping
Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luster Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jostedal Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jostedal Camping Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing