We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Charm”
Review of Jostedal Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Camping
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mountain Charm”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A real mountain rustic feel to this charming site. Located next to the white water river and just a short drive to the glacier, it is an ideal base to explore the national parrk. For our camper van road trip it wins the best-value award at NOK 190 per night. The facilities were pretty good and the staff very helpful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We rented one of the largest cabins for 6. It was spacious, cosy and had all facilities (oven, fridge, dish washer and private bathroom). 2 rooms are in located in the 2nd floor. From the cabin, you can enjoy the river and the surrounding mountains. As already mentioned, the camping is a perfect starting point to nigardsbreen or bergsetbreen. In our opinion, best place to experience jostedal glacier in the whole park.
Rafting is also possible from the camping site.
The hosts were really friendly and helpful. One of our favorite places of our 2 weeks trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArhusLamatsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This camping site is ideally located in the upper part of the Jostedal, which makes it a perfect place for a visit to the Nigards glacier as well as the Bergset glacier. The cabins are well maintained and well equipped, and the bathrooms/showers are clean and modern. The hosts are very friendly and have lots of useful suggestions. Also, there is a decent grocery store near the cabins.

I would recommend spending two nights here, so that you can visit the Nigards glacier first thing in the morning (take the boat across the lake if you're not comfortable with uneven terrain), take lunch, and then drive up the Bergset valley for a visit to the Bergset glacier. It is a one-hour walk from the parking area to the base of the Bergset glacier. The first half hour is level and fairly easy walking, the second half is more uneven and you have to cross a couple of small streams and also push your way through some low growing birch trees (only for 50 meter or so). However, it is well worth the effort, as you can picnic by the river at the base of the glacier and watch chunks of ice come crashing down the slopes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at Jostedal Camping for 2 nights during our Norway trip last summer. It is beautifully situated close to Jostedal Glacier, where we had a tour booked. We arrived rather late at night and were welcomed warmly. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The sanitary facilities are very untypical for a campsite: they actually have Bathrooms (Rooms with a door, you can lock!) with shower, sink and toilet. Everything is newly renovated and very clean. We slept in our tent, but from what we could see the cabins are to be recommended too.
All in all this was the best campsite we found during our whole trip and we are sure to come back!
Hilsen fra Østerrike, Ursi og Flo

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent two nights in a 2 room hut at Jostedal camping. The location is a bit out of the way for most things, but perfect for exploring the Nigardsbreen glacier (we were on a kayaking and glacier walking day so the location was excellent).

The hut was warm, cosy and clean. There is not water though, so showers and toilets are in a communal shower block, but that's not a big deal considering the price.

All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We rented a small cabin which from the outside looked like a garden shed but inside was quite comfortable and well furnished. Facilities are shared but the location next to the river is terrific and eating outside a pleasure.
Astrid, the host, was wonderfully helpful and kind.
Great location for glacier trips.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in one of the ‘high standard’ cabins for four nights with our two daughters (12 years of age) in July 2011. This camping is situated in Gerje close to the Nigardsbreen Glacier. The nearest bigger town (Gaupne) is a 30 kilometers drive. Gerje itself has a small grocery store, tank station and a café/restaurant. There are lots of possibilities for hiking in the Jostedalen National park. Especially the Nigardsbreen and Bergsteg Glaciers are of outstanding beauty.
The camping offers several types of cabins, ranging from rather basic to this ‘high standard’ cabins. Our cabin had a living room (combined with a small kitchen) with a nice view on the river. There was a master bedroom of about 8 m2 with a twin bed and two smaller bedrooms on the second floor with beds for four persons. In the latter rooms, the beds were placed under the /schuin/ roof. There was an additional bathroom and toilet. The small kitchen was well equipped with an oven and dish-washer. The living room had a tile floor, all bedrooms had wooden floors.
A free WIFI connection was available, the quality of the signal not always perfect, but most of the time sufficient, although streaming was not possible. In respect to the safety, there is one fire detector in the living room. Since there were no curtains in front of the large (but nice) windows in the living room, the temperature can get high during sunny days.
The apartments can be cleaned by the guest or be cleaned for NOK400. The floors and kitchen of our apartment were clean, although some drawers were not. At the time we visited this camping, there were a lot of flies, which wasn’t very comfortable. The owner of the camp site was friendly and helpful and really did their best to make us feel at home; providing us with a lot of information about possible outdoor activities.
The price of this cabin was NOK 1100 per night. These cabins are fine for a stay of a couple of nights, but also to stay for a longer period. The possibilities for activities heavily depend on the weather; If you are lucky and face nice weather, this place is ideal for many outdoor activities. We took a "short blue ice tour" on the Nigardsbreen Glaciers, which was really breathtaking….

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luster Municipality
0.1 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#3 of 5 in Luster Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
14.8 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vassbakken Kro & Camping AS
19.0 mi away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 1 in Loen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Camping

Property: Jostedal Camping
Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luster Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jostedal Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jostedal Camping Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing