We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Jostedal Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed there September 17-20, 2012 for our honeymoon. The cabin was immaculate. We stayed in one of the cabins for 6 with shower, bathroom, full kitchen, fire place and three bedrooms. The owners were wonderful, they knew it was our honeymoon and had told my father in law they were going to give us the linens and clean it for us when we left for free as a honeymoon present. The whole area is beautiful. You look out the windows and see snow covered mountains and can see and hear the stream running next to the cabin. There is a fully stocked store and restaurant in the hotel with in walking distance. We loved the whole area, we did the Icetroll trip one day and kayaked to the glacier with it snowing and the other days we went hiking and exploring on our own and finished each day with a romantic dinner by the fire in the cabin. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to be able to go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timc2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Cabin 12 has 3 rooms, enough for 6 people to stay. There were just 2 of us though, and the price was reasonable.

The kitchen is well-stocked so best that you bought stuff from the supermarket and you can cook a meal. The location is well-situated for the glacier hike we were going to do the next morning.

The lady at reception was pretty helpful, and said her mother will help us to book the glacier hike the next morning. Next morning though, the mother was at the reception, and she tried to call, but no success. We drove direct and booked it ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose this large cabin! It's Cabin 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A real mountain rustic feel to this charming site. Located next to the white water river and just a short drive to the glacier, it is an ideal base to explore the national parrk. For our camper van road trip it wins the best-value award at NOK 190 per night. The facilities were pretty good and the staff very helpful.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We rented one of the largest cabins for 6. It was spacious, cosy and had all facilities (oven, fridge, dish washer and private bathroom). 2 rooms are in located in the 2nd floor. From the cabin, you can enjoy the river and the surrounding mountains. As already mentioned, the camping is a perfect starting point to nigardsbreen or bergsetbreen. In our opinion, best place to experience jostedal glacier in the whole park.
Rafting is also possible from the camping site.
The hosts were really friendly and helpful. One of our favorite places of our 2 weeks trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArhusLamatsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This camping site is ideally located in the upper part of the Jostedal, which makes it a perfect place for a visit to the Nigards glacier as well as the Bergset glacier. The cabins are well maintained and well equipped, and the bathrooms/showers are clean and modern. The hosts are very friendly and have lots of useful suggestions. Also, there is a decent grocery store near the cabins.

I would recommend spending two nights here, so that you can visit the Nigards glacier first thing in the morning (take the boat across the lake if you're not comfortable with uneven terrain), take lunch, and then drive up the Bergset valley for a visit to the Bergset glacier. It is a one-hour walk from the parking area to the base of the Bergset glacier. The first half hour is level and fairly easy walking, the second half is more uneven and you have to cross a couple of small streams and also push your way through some low growing birch trees (only for 50 meter or so). However, it is well worth the effort, as you can picnic by the river at the base of the glacier and watch chunks of ice come crashing down the slopes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at Jostedal Camping for 2 nights during our Norway trip last summer. It is beautifully situated close to Jostedal Glacier, where we had a tour booked. We arrived rather late at night and were welcomed warmly. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The sanitary facilities are very untypical for a campsite: they actually have Bathrooms (Rooms with a door, you can lock!) with shower, sink and toilet. Everything is newly renovated and very clean. We slept in our tent, but from what we could see the cabins are to be recommended too.
All in all this was the best campsite we found during our whole trip and we are sure to come back!
Hilsen fra Østerrike, Ursi og Flo

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent two nights in a 2 room hut at Jostedal camping. The location is a bit out of the way for most things, but perfect for exploring the Nigardsbreen glacier (we were on a kayaking and glacier walking day so the location was excellent).

The hut was warm, cosy and clean. There is not water though, so showers and toilets are in a communal shower block, but that's not a big deal considering the price.

All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luster Municipality hotels
0.1 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#2 of 5 in Luster Municipality
73 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gaupnetunet Hotell
Gaupnetunet Hotell
#1 of 1 in Gaupne
30 reviews
22.8 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
94 reviews
17.2 mi away
Nes Gard
Nes Gard
#1 of 1 in Hoyheimsvik
142 reviews
21.8 mi away
Eikum Hotel
Eikum Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hafslo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Camping

Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luster Municipality
Price Range: £43 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jostedal Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jostedal Camping Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing