We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location (close to Nigardsbreen Glacier)”
Review of Jostedal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the Jostedal Hotel in the 2 room apartment with our 2 kids. While the interior was very basic, the apartment was really spacious with a living room, kitchen and two bedrooms. Everything was clean, the staff was really friendly and it is situated in a very nice setting and located only 5 mins from the glacier visitor center. They also have a small restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner with simple but very good meals. We arrived on a Sunday and there were also a lot of locals in the restaurant for lunch/dinner. Overall a basic hotel but definitely a place to stay if you want to visit the glacier and/or relax in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefanS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The owner, Laila was extremely friendly and helpful. She even went out of her way to get us some snow shoes so that we could hike to the glacier. She's also an amazing cook-the food in the restaurant was delicious and much needed after a long hike. Perfect location for a bit of peace and quiet and easy to reach Nigardsbreen Glacier which was amazing. Our room was lovely and clean and the shower was perfect. Best hotel we've ever stayed in. Will definitely return. Thanks Laila for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our family loved this place. Simple, but clean and felt authentic. The ladies who run it, wish I could remember their names, were incredibly helpful and friendly. It's right next to the River Pig white water rafting and a great base for trips to Nigardsbreen and Jostedalsbreen. In August, after an exhausting excursion up a glacier or a mountain, it was very relaxing to sit outside on the terrace or down by the river at their sister camping site. Slight drawback that you have to trek down to the camping facilty for laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the room opposite the door that comes up from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bermudamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location of the Hotel makes it an excellent stay for hikes and other activities in the area.
The rooms are clean, functional and comfortable. The staff is beyond helpful and pleasant.
We arrived late and the kitchen was closing up. We had spend all day traveling after all night on a plane and were feeling riden hard and put away wet. Seeing our disappointment they opened the kitchen and made up dinner! The best meatballs, potatoes and beer I had had in a long time!
I could not thank them enough.
Breakfast the next morning was perfect as we headed out for our hike on the glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel was the perfect stay for our glacier & kayak tour. We stayed two nights and had a very pleasant stay. The room was big enough to accommodate us three (2 adults, one 8 year old daughter) and it was all very clean. The restaurant is also very good, Norwegian kitchen with very nice and helpful staff. The breakfast was good and we could also prepare our lunch sandwiches for free. We can totally recommend the hotel if you plan to go for a glacier tour!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you do not like this hotel, you need to stay in the city! This hotel is perfect for a stay in the country surrounded by absolute beauty! If you want to experience Norway countryside at its best, come here! The drive here from Lom has been the highlight of our trip! Amazing and incredible! Our glacier hike is tomorrow and we are so excited!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiley8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this small family-run hotel. This is not a luxury hotel, but it offers all the creature comforts one needs to prepare for a glacier hike: a good night's sleep and a decent dinner and breakfast. The rooms are basic, but ours was well maintained. This is a hotel for the outdoor-nature tourist looking for a place to spend the night close to the glacier.
From the hotel it is only a 5 minute drive to the Breheimensenteret where you can get your tickets for the Glacier Hike. From there it is another 10 minute drive to the car park where you meet your guide and receive your glacier gear.
We had a very nice glacier walk, not in the least because we had a good night's sleep at the Jostedal Hotell. The lady who runs the hotel is very nice and accommodating, so is her staff.
The food was typical Norwegian food, no frills, just good comfort food. We tried the meatballs with potatoes, carrots and sauerkraut. We loved it. We were allowed to leave our suitcases at the hotel, so we did not have to leave them unattended in the car while doing the hike. We asked to make lunch sandwiches to take on our hike, and we were not charged for it (we had booked half-board. Most hotels in Norway charge extra for this).
If you want a place to sleep close to the glacier and are not looking for a luxury hotel this is the place to go. If you need to restock on gas or food: there is a gas station and a grocery store close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mouske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luster Municipality
14.7 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
94 reviews
22.8 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hotel Loenfjord
Hotel Loenfjord
#2 of 3 in Loen
171 reviews
19.8 mi away
Turtagro Hotel
Turtagro Hotel
#4 of 5 in Luster Municipality
39 reviews
21.9 mi away
Eikum Hotel
Eikum Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hafslo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Hotel

Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Luster Municipality
Price Range: £117 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jostedal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jostedal Hotel Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing