We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but ....”
Review of Eco Inn Colca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eco Inn Colca
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed here for one night with my family (10people) on our way to Colca. The place is beautiful, tranquil and rustic, but the service leaves a lot to be desired. There was no water in some of the rooms, the hot water took 5minutes to heat, our door handle was faulty and one of the staff entered our room while we were sleeping by mistake. You almost get the feeling that the hotel is slowly being abandoned.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were supposed to stay in Chivay, but our hotel was overbooked, so we were sent to the Eco Inn in Yanque. At first we weren't too sure, since it was a town away from the activities, but it couldn't have turned out better. We decided to skip out on all the organized group activities and do our own thing (though there's not much to do in Yanque).

The hotel is located on the top of the canyon, overlooking the river. The setting is picture perfect! The hotel is isolated and very quiet. The rooms were more like private bungalows, with a very rustic feel - though they had every amenity. We had the best night's sleep of our entire trip here!

The restaurant has a basic menu, but the food was good.

About a 20-30 minute walk away are some hot springs. There are the general public ones, like a swimming pool, OR there are the Tambo Hot Springs. You have to cross the river on a very rickety old bridge to get to the Tambo ones, but it was worth it! These hot springs are in a natural setting - all stone pools along the river. It's beautiful and much less busy than the other ones. Only cost 5 soles.

The whole situation turned out better than we ever could have expected. If you are going on a Colca Canyon tour, and would like some quiet alone time with friends or family, I would highly recommend staying at the Eco Inn. It was our favourite hotel of the entire trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Langley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed here while visting Colca Canyon. The views of the river and canyon are fantastic, and the night sky was unbelievable. Although the power went out around 4 in the afternoon and did not come back on until 3 am, the staff was very accomodating. They brought us candles and still managed to make dinner for us. Because there was no heat, they also brought us hot water bottles and extra blankets for our beds! I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffeecat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is a hidden gem. We loved our stay in Colca Canyon at Eco Inn. It reminded us of a cottage or cabin in the mountains, we had a massive little ¨house¨all to ourselves, with a large bathroom (massive shower) closet area, bedroom area, small table with 2 chairs plus a loft upstairs with 2 more single beds. We woke up to a view of the mountain and valley below and the Rio Colca, the edge of the cliff is literally about 5 feet from our bay window. There is a short hike you can take (again literally 5 feet from the hotel) down to the river. It took us about 20 minutes to walk down and maybe 40 minutes back up. You can walk along the river as far as you like. The best part was that there weren´t throngs of other tourists all around us, we were completely alone on our little hike. To be clear though, this is a no frills place, again, more like a mountain cabin than a resort with many amenities. They don´t have a free pickup from the bus station in Chivay, they don´t arrange tours, they don´t serve lunch (only breakfast and dinner - which were simple but good). It was a 15 soles taxi ride from Chivay.

The best feature of this hotel is definitely the view and access to the river.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leea8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Sadly, we stayed here for only one night. I would highly recommend a minimum of two nights. The hotel is located on the river several miles from the nearest town, Yunguay, and is surrounded by fields of quinoa and glimpses of everyday life of the locals. The rooms were clean and comfortable and adequate in size. The food was very good as was the service. The hotel now has a spa which was wonderful in every way! It also has several outdoor pools that one can soak in. If one has the extra time I would highly recommend another day or two here - it's a wonderful place to chill and watch the world go by...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel has a really great view, service is good! they need to add a good restaurant :P

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank baticharmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed one night on our overnight trip from Arequipa to the Cross of the Condors. The room was clean with a fantastic view of the valley and mountains. It is out of the way of things and very quiet. On an afternoon walk we passed workers returning from the fields with their donkeys. We shared a courtyard with grazing lama.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant dinner was OK. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yanque hotels
0.5 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
0.1 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miskiwasi B & B
Miskiwasi B & B
#1 of 6 in Yanque
127 reviews
0 mi away
Apuvilla Luxury Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Inn Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Colca

Address: Lima Street 513 | Valle del Colca, Yanque, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Yanque
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco Inn Colca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco Inn Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Colca Colca Canyon, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing