We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Tradicion Colca 3 days- 2 nights, and loved it. Went horseback riding and hiking to the ruins of old Yanque or Uyo-Uyo, to the hot springs, and to see the condor fly in the Colca Canyon. The staff was very friendly and warm, very helpful with everything, everyone catered to our every need. The food was really good and the establishment was very cozy. The room was pretty big. No TV or Wifi but that's definitely not what we went there for, it was actually nice to get disconnected from everything. I would definitely go back there, the whole experience was great, and not too expensive at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniela_arevalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

Well i had a very nice expirience in that place, all the people working there vere excellent workers, very good service, very friendly.
I like the arquitecture of the lodge, makes you feel like home .......the environment is very warmth, you wake up surrounded by a beautiful landscape every morning, the food is very delicious, the workers take care of you., always asking is everything is ok. if you need something...... definitely a very nice place to stay in Colca Canyon........ i will come back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter, although all the place is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

During the Colca Canyon Tour, I think the best choice we made was to spend the night in Yanque.
Through Tradicion Colca, we did a trekking around Yanque, with views of terraced plantations, many typical animals, and the archaeological site of Uro-Uro, finishing the ride in a hot springs.
The only problem was that when we got the ride, I decided to wait for the show "touristic" while my friend was taking a shower.
The show is well intentioned, but it does not work.
And it wasn't worth it: when I was showering there wasn't hot water.
When I comment on it to the clerk, she changed the subject and started talking to someone else ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaque M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A very nice hotel with great staff who proved to be very helpful.
Very large room, comfortable and quiet.
Were able to provide me with useful information on the roads in the area.
Full service restaurant and bar with great quality food.
The only reason I did not give them a 5 star rating is they have no WiFi. For me that is a must and I expect it of any above average hotel such as this. The internet on the computer in the lobby was inadequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RexBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A hotel, restaurant and horse riding facility where you are treated like family . You will not be disappointed . All services are excellent. The horses are a pleasure to ride in a exoctic atmosphere. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philb22039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We enjoyed our time in Yanque but felt this hotel could be so much nicer with better management! We were received by a man in reception with very broken Spanish (my spanish speaking girlfriend struggled to understand him) and no English, which seemed bizarre in a touristic establishment. The receptionist arrived later on and she was much more fluent and helpful but we later realised the place was run by French people and it would appear they'd prefer to have only French people. We were under the impression (because of the guide and the reviews) that there were activities (horse riding, hikking, sauna,mountain biking) included in the rate but were told those were extra and no much information was provided. They even failed to tell us the town was celebrating their annual fiesta - which was a very colourful and animated event, which we thought would have been nice to let us know! At one point we went to reception and the receptionist was sitting having a beer watching football and seemed annoyed to assist us.
The rooms are very big and pleasant - we were concerned about keeping warm as there was just a gas stove but the beds have so many warm blankets we in fact slept very well! They recommended showering in the afternoons for the hot water (solar) so we did but the water was lukewarm and towards the end got cold and we were the only people there so we wonder how they cope when they have a full house!
Food was EXTREMELY dissapointed! Being a french place we were naively hoping for some very nice dinner and have to say it was the least exciting dinner in the whole trip. My overcooked alpaca steak came with a tiny bit of mushroom sauce that looked straight out of a Heinz can..
The area is very beautiful and offers fantastic hikking and views but we are not sure we would stay here again. The place is nice but management rather bad.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were there one night only but it is an amazing place. Staff is really friendly and helpful with clients. They called for us when we needed, the jacuzzi after the hike was really appreciate! It is cheap and our room was big. We were 3 but we had a room with 4 beds and "2 floors" because 2 beds were upstairs in the room. The food was really good and we had a dessert which is something we didn't have a lot in south america! Great place to stay and some employees can also speak french. It was one of the best places in Peru.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherine731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRADICION-COLCA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you very much for this nice message!

We hope to receive you again when you travel back to Peru.

Sincerely yours,
Thomas Bochereau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
0.5 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
21.9 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca

Address: Avenida Colca 119, Carretera Principal | Chivay, Yanque 0000, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yanque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Confortable lodge with several activities within the turistic complex and the surroundings. Within the cost of the room comes included: american breakfast, temperated indoor swimming pool, trek to Uyo Uyo ruins, astronomical observatory and planetarium, and horseriding initiation with peruvian paso horses. We offer as well, non-included: Sauna, Relaxing massages, Horseback riding with peruvian paso horses from a few hours to a few days, trekking. Our hotel offers the service of a restaurant with a terrace and a fireplace, pool and foosball tables, and an ample garden. See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradicion Colca Canyon
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca Colca Canyon, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing