We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great restaurant.”
Review of Hotel Meira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Meira
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good hotel and great restaurant.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were in Vila Praia for 3 days for a wedding, and since the town does not have many hotels we chose the one with the most positive reviews from the Trip Advisor community. Hotel Meira is fine, well located, friendly English speaking staff. We booked a std room, and it was small, so maybe an upgrade might help. It was clean, quiet, and with AC and a mini-fridge, the car parking next to hotel is tight but workable, and inexpensive at 7.00 euros per night. Breakfast buffet was fine. We are difficult when it comes to coffee; and unfortunately the coffee was not to our taste, but we managed!
Te real great surprise was the restaurant. We were so happy with the food and staff that we could not stay away and had lunch there 3 times! The young chef's creativity was amazing: We opted for several openers at each meal to test the nice variety of offerings: octopus, fish tartare, fish soup, fresh salade with Buffalo mozzarella, black olive oil, aruga oil pesto, figues or strawberries in cinnamon and or coriander sauces, tomatoe or apple cinnamon jams, cheeses, homemade ice creams... All food based on local and fresh ingredients; fish caught from the ocean daily by local fishermen... It was a most enjoyable tasting experience. It helped that the young waiter (Carlos Matos) knew the menu so well, and that he could speak English to explain what was in each dish and how it was prepared. He also helped us understand the wine selection (we tasted many ).
The chef 's name is Bruno Pareira; he has been there for a couple of years, and deserves praise for the way he is running his kitchen. Great value for exceptional food.

Room Tip: Std rooms might be small for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelMeiraRego, Gerente geral at Hotel Meira, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.

There is no enough words to thank you for the kind comment about your recent stay at Hotel Meira.

I’m delighted to hear our staff made your stay memorable from check-in to departure time, especially who will be thrill to read your kind words
.
These kind of reviews helps our staff to deliver their very most every day when they come to work every day, so your kind words will be shared among our Team, thank you once again
.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Emanuel Meira Rego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    148
    43
    6
    3
See reviews for
84
181
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Yet another great stay in this great value hotel. We had a nice double air conditioned room with TV. Shower and bath. Very good breakfast. Lots of choice with a hot option which was topped up all morning. You cant beat this place for the money. Nice pool with free pool towels.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelMeiraRego, Gerente geral at Hotel Meira, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good afternoon,

There is no enough words to thank you for the kind comment about your recent stay at Hotel Meira.

These kind of reviews helps our staff to deliver their very most every day when they come to work, so your kind words will be shared among our Team, thank you once again.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and always.

Kind Regards,

Emanuel Meira Rego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Easy to get to by public transport (train from Porto) and to get around while staying here as the station is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Great location a short stroll from beach and town square. Would certainly visit the town and stay in this hotel again.

Room simple but clean with regular towel changes. Useful mini fridge in room with tea tray and kettle provided on request. Window shutters great if you need a dark room to sleep well. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

Our room overlooked pool area, no balcony, very quiet at night. Some rooms have balconies. Beds too hard for me but ok for those preferring a firm bed.

Plenty of choice at breakfast; egg boiler to cook to your own taste. Machine coffee not good. Had a couple of evening meals here (in breakfast room rather than restaurant as we were travelling with an organised group). Food ok but after dinner coffee from breakfast coffee machine not nice (sometimes not even hot; one time server insisted what was obviously machine hot chocolate was espresso!). But no need to eat in hotel as plenty of good options in town on sea front and in side streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelMeiraRego, Gerente geral at Hotel Meira, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.

These kind of reviews helps our staff to deliver their very most every day when they come to work, so your careful words will be shared among our Team, thank you once again.

We hope to have made you stay memorable and we are all looking forward to welcome you back to Vila Praia de Âncora and Hotel Meira.

Kind Regards,

Emanuel Meira Rego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Famalicao, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had an amazing weekend at "Hotel Meira". Extremely well located, near the beach, fabulous food. Very helpful staff. Confort and good taste. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel: delicious. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeira, General Manager at Hotel Meira, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Claudia,

Agradecemos desde já, as amáveis palavras na sua avaliação do Hotel Meira.
É um enorme prazer para todos nós - Direcção e toda a Equipa do Hotel Meira, sentir este agrado por parte dos nossos clientes, pois é mesmo esse, o nosso objectivo principal.
Ficamos felizes por saber que o nosso empenho e dedicação é reconhecido.
Um grande bem-haja pela avaliação e ficamos desde já, a aguardar a sua próxima visita.
Melhores Cumprimentos
Luiza Vilas Boas
Directora
Hotel Meira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São João da Madeira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent 37,5eur for a night with my wife in this hotel and I can honestly say that for the price, it has to be the best hotel I ever been. Breakfast was nice, the room was spacy and although not perfectly clean, clean enough. Location is very great. I loved the village, the seafood, and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosGomes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This a perfectly OK hotel let down by a few minor issues. On the positive side, the location is great, the town and beach really nice and worth a visit, the restaurant was inexpensive and served pretty good food (although not exceptional) and the room was large, modern and well equipped. On the negative side the breakfast room was sterile and tired and the food itself not great. The hotel ambience and decor is also very dark and a little foreboding (many signs asking for 'silence'!). Customer service was fine but not particularly friendly. The beach is great for young kids, there is a lagoon by the sea with no waves or tides that is very safe for swimming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Loved this place, it has a pool. Amazing restaurant (lunch is the best I have ever had, wine €1 a glass). The breakfast was totally amazing, everything you could wish for.

Nice room with air con. Helpful staff with lots of tips for the local area. Close to the train station and beach. We got a good deal off the internet. Nice town with lots of bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Praia de Ancora
3.6 mi away
Hotel Porta do Sol
Hotel Porta do Sol
#1 of 3 in Caminha
574 reviews
4.4 mi away
Design & Wine Hotel
Design & Wine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Caminha
233 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#13 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
245 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
206 reviews
8.5 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meira

Property: Hotel Meira
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 56 | Vila Praia de Âncora, Vila Praia de Ancora 4910-386, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Vila Praia de Ancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vila Praia de Ancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meira 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, located in Vila Praia de Ancora - northern Portugal, just 200mts from the beach, 16km from the nearest major city - Viana do Castelo, 80km from the Oporto Airport and just 10 minutes drive from Spain. This hotel has 52 rooms, totally equipped with private bathroom, restaurante, bar, outdoor swimming pool, business centre with free access to internet, games room, garage and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing