We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were driving to Granada from Madrid, but leaving in the evening and I didn't want to arrive in Granada after dark so I looked for a place that we could stop out of Madrid. So glad I found Consuegra and La Vida de Antes. The hotel is just lovely, with large rooms with comfortable beds and updated baths and beautiful tile floors, built around a courtyard. The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the breakfast was good. Later, we enjoyed seeing the restored windmills--Don Quijote country for sure--and visiting the castle. We had a delicious meal in town at Al Alfar restaurant, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay another day.

Room Tip: Our room was called La Despensa and it had a separate room where our son slept. It's the perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We went back for our second visit this time to see Consuegra in the last weekend of October with a different and very lively air during the Fiesta de Azafran and we could not have been happier with the welcome, home comforts and attention to detail in what must now be our casa preferida in Consuegra. Above all, by evening the log fires in the guest salon and the afternoon sun in the patio were a delight! As before, Paula and Irene and Diana were so accommodating and helpful.

..we intend to be back soon!

Room Tip: Our favourites were La Cuna for its double aspect and natural light and and La Despensa for the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at La Vida de Antes for a number of days while doing the Ruta de Don Quijote in various parts of La Mancha... What a find!

The hotel marks the perfect balance between quaint, traditional Manchegan hospitality, and a high-end B+B. The breakfast is amazing, and the location is fantastic -- just below a hill with (in my opinion) the most beautiful windmills in La Mancha! (Be sure to climb up the castle on the hill, and watch sunset from the base of the windmills).

If you get the chance to go during Consuegra's Patron Saint festival -- when Consuegra becomes alive with music, food, and life all night -- don't miss it (they can tell you the dates at the hotel).

I travelled in tiny towns all over La Mancha, and this was one of my favorite spots. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthonyvinciguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Wonderful and beautifully restored 19th century Spanish country house.
The name of this Bed & Breakfast says it all.
3 star, comfortable bed, gorgeous breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Staying in this place alone feels like a holiday in itself. If you like a bit of sight seeing, you will find the Windmills made famous in the Don Quijote book by Cervantes.
Try also The Alfar restaurant an old Potters place, very good quality food value for money, the ambience is great, eat al fresco under almond trees.
Market day is Wednesday.
Worth a visit. Great if you want a stop before going to Madrid and Segovia.

Room Tip: La Palangana was our room, but all very good and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A family run hotel withl the proper attention to all important details and with very professional and friendly staff. The hotel's atmosphere is calm and relaxing, decoration is cozy with well restored original pieces and personal touches to reflect the good bits of "life as it was" (but with enough modern facilities for confort). Just loved it!!
Erwin-Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We booked for two days and stayed five so taken were we with the atmosphere and the attentive nature of the hotel as truly a home from home. All the team and especially Paula the owner and Irene were just wonderful especially as my husband was feeling the painful after effects of an accident. We thought the area was so interesting and just loved the peace of the famous windmills. We will return ere long...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel was very nice. The room was very pretty I loved the decoration.

However, I had booked a superior room and expected the one in the photo when I booked but it was totally different and not quite as nice. Nevermind.

The staff were very friendly and gave us lemon juice in the evening and let us borrow their laptop to use the internet.

Unfortunately when we arrived there was some kind of insane heat wave in spain and the area was 46.6 degrees. Unbearable. We had wanted to see the windmills nearby, but it was too hot to stay outside for too long. We found a small supermarket (supposed to open at 5, no-one turned up until 5:45.) and got some snacks and watched some TV. There is an option to change the TV into english if you select audio, which was useful.

We walked around the local town which was dead, like a ghost town, even at 8pm there were only 1 or two people about.

Nothing wrong with the hotel, but there isn't much to do in Consuegra, i'm glad we only stayed one night.

There was a car park nearby which was free and secure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zombeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Consuegra
16.7 mi away
Hotel A Posada
Hotel A Posada
#2 of 2 in Tembleque
119 reviews
24.7 mi away
Villa Nazules Hipica Spa
Villa Nazules Hipica Spa
#1 of 1 in Almonacid de Toledo
435 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa Rural Los Laureles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Posada de los Consules
Posada de los Consules
#1 of 3 in Consuegra
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Los Patrizios
0.2 mi away
Complejo Retiro de la Mancha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel

Address: Calle 2, 45700 Consuegra, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Consuegra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Consuegra
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing