We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat - relaxing and fun”
Review of Anezina Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anezina Village
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a homely and comfortable family run holiday resort. It's a great place from which to explore Paros and beyond. The villas have a rustic feel but are spacious and have a nice balcony/porch/patio area. They have good sized kitchens, living rooms and bedrooms and, importantly, there's good separation between each villa so they feel very private. There's no wifi in the rooms but in the end we thought that was an advantage. No one needs to be connected all the time in a place like Paros. There's too much of the island to enjoy. And in any case, there's good wifi in the communal areas of the complex including the pool.

The staff are generally friendly but are a tad light on for work at times. That seems to be fairly common in Greece. We thought that the national economy needs to have the same drive and energy as the guys have on the inter island ferries when they do the drop off and pick up. They're amazingly efficient! The boats get turned around in seconds.

I digress. We found the complex to be a great place to relax. It has a particularly nice pool which always seemed to be the right temperature to help relieve the heat of the island. It's a great place to laze around at any time of the day.

We went to the Greek night at the complex on Monday night which featured a nice meal, live music and dancing and clapping. It was well organised and was a lot of fun. Similarly, the Greek cooking lessons were also really enjoyable as was the meal afterwards (you get to eat what you've helped cook!). It was also very reasonably priced. Both events offer a chance to chat to the owner, the staff and other guests if that's what you wish to do. We met some nice people from the USA (St Louis, Phoenix) and Greece and England.

We'd love to return here one day. Paros is a wonderful island and this is a great base for one's stay. Two suggestions. We found it better to eat outside the complex rather than eat in, unless we self catered. Restaurant Anna is very close by and has terrific food and nice family style warmth. It is also very reasonably priced. By contrast, the resort's prices are a bit high by local standards. By way of example, Greek yoghurt with fruit and nuts was half the price at Anna's and better than what the resort offered. Similarly, the restaurants down at the local Dryos beach were also good and well worth visiting. We suggest avoiding nearby Piso Livardi as looks can be deceiving (see separate review) and if may not be the restaurant heaven you may be looking for. Second suggestion, and this is for the resort itself, get a few fans for each villa as the bedrooms can occasionally get a bit hot and it's inefficient to have the lounge air con on all the time.

But, thanks again Anizina Village. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited on a timeshare exchange.Maria family and staff made the holiday memorable, nothing was too much trouble for them to make sure their guests were comfortable. The food was lovely and the Greek night great fun,we will certainly return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Maria and crew were amazing. From delicious meals, to fun cooking classes, to recommendations of island adventures, this hotel had it all. Maria is charming and hospitable. The Monday night Greek feast was an experience you won't want to miss.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We used our RCI to stay at Anezina Village. We have stayed in Paros many times, but never this part of the island. The resort is lovely, with quiet, private rooms/villas that were clean, comfortable and well laid out. The management is absolutely fantastic and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. It is a quiet town, with a store next door, great restaurants, and beside the bus stop to go anywhere else. They also arrange a variety of tours. We attended Greek Night and had fun meeting other travellers. It was a fantastic place to use as a base and visit other parts of the island, you could walk to beautiful Golden Beach, and we adored Anna's Restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller57572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at this resort. We are two couples so asked for a two bedroom apartment. We were pleasantly surprised. The unit had two bedrooms one with a double bed and one with twin beds. There were also sofa units in the living area that would be comfortable for sleeping as well. It also had two bathrooms which was great.
The owner Marie was so helpful as was her husband. They offer tours, which we used also.
We enjoyed the Greek night and my sister found the cooking class lots of gun
This is not a Holiday Inn, but it was just what we imagined and more
Yes the mosquitoes were there, but we bought some spray and before dinner sprayed the unit and that seemed to take care of the problem.
The apartment was cleaned at least twice and clean linens and towels were given three times.
Thank you Marie and Stavos for the wonderful holiday.
Louis and Tina
Jake and Anne

Room Tip: Talk to Marie she will know what kind of room would suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were here for a week in April, 2014. We were in the Maria unit. Really liked the location, the architecture, and the relatively private patio. We reported two issues with the unit - the bathroom sink plug did not function correctly and the shower hose had a really bad leak in the lower section which sprayed water and depleted the available hot water quickly. We were told both would be attended to but this did not happen. Otherwise, it was an excellent experience. I read a review from someone who was staying here at the same time and they complained of mosquito bites. I am usually the first person to get bitten and receive the most bites when mosquitoes are around. Maria gave us a plug in deterrent for the room and we were not bothered.

The maid came daily, some days just to make the bed and bring new towels and other days to change the linens as well. This is a higher level of service than I usually find when staying in a timeshare. Maria was very helpful when asked about activities, modes of transportation, hiking trails, etc. She is also a wonderful cook and we had many good meals here. The food is locally sourced and well prepared.

We participated in Greek night. The food was tasty and abundant and the music was delightful. The one suggestion we have is that the food be labeled as to name and ingredients because we had no clue about some of the foods offered (it is set out buffet style).

Because we were there during the shoulder season, they also offered guided tours. We normally don't like tour groups but, because this was a small group of only folks staying at Anezina, we signed up on two separate days. Both days we rode in a car with Stamos as our guide. Both days we shared the car with two sisters from Australia. Both days were delightful. Stamos is entertaining and willing to share his wealth of knowledge about the island. He was also able to get us into places we would not have been able to access on our own. One trip involved a couple of hikes (to a monastery and to a lighthouse), a bakery stop, beach stop, and visit to a friend of his who is a ceramics artist. The other involved boat rides to Antiparos and Despotica, land tours of ruins and a cave with stalagtites/mites, and a boat tour of sea caves as well as a meal at a local restaurant where we were served family style and tried many different local foods. I highly recommend these tours!!

Room Tip: We were in the Maria room. I don't know how this compares to most of the others. This has a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anousaki, Owner at Anezina Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I thank you for your review of our resort and for your many positive comments. I do apologise for the failure to correct your problems in the bathroom and we will try to do better with our maintenance.
Your suggestion regarding the buffet is a very good one and we are now trying to think of ways to address the issue.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have happy memories of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Every night we were bitten by mosquitoes,in the end we had to purchase spray as the owners would not spray the room. It was very windy and the canvas awning in the court yard kept flapping and kept us awake at night. We complained but they did not take the awning down in the end I had to take it down myself. Also the window in the next unit kept slamming due to the wind,i complained again but no one came to close the window,i got the key to next door and closed it myself.The remote control of the TV would not work,Stamos said he would replace it but never came back.The room was very rustic,small windows and dark inside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anousaki, Owner at Anezina Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I am very sorry that your stay here was not satisfactory and I also apologise for the shortcomings of our service. We have taken your comments on board and will try very hard to do better. Our accommodation, as described in our literature, is in the traditional Greek island style and many of our guests love the experience of staying here.
I would like to add to my response that perhaps part of your disatisfaction might have been caused by your embarrasment at having found one of your possessions which you had reported as stolen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drios
0.4 mi away
Calme Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Corali Hotel
Corali Hotel
#5 of 6 in Piso Livadi
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poseidon of Paros
Poseidon of Paros
#1 of 3 in Golden Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
328.3 mi away
Blue & Sea Studios
Blue & Sea Studios
#3 of 3 in Drios
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Golden Beach
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amaryllis Paros Beach Hotel
Amaryllis Paros Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Golden Beach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anezina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anezina Village

Address: Main street of Drios, Drios 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Drios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drios
Price Range: £40 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anezina Village 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anezina Village combines its bioclimatic architecture and environmentally friendly building materials, with the traditional interior and exterior design. Each building has been designed in order to combine the best use of the climate of the area, the specific needs of the guests living in the Village and the local traditional character. On the outskirts of Anezina Village, there is Anezina Hotel offering 13 simple, well-priced rooms for 2 or 3 guests, most with sea-view. Hotel rooms feature TV, A/C, kettle, refrigerator and a small balcony. All our guests are welcome to use any of the facilities at their own convenience. Anezina Village offers our guests a programme of activities for those who wish to participate. Greek Night with live music Greek Cooking lessons, to learn the secrets of the Greek kitchen Greek Dancing lessons Anezina Village Accompanied Excursions - ONLY IN THE LOW SEASONS - minimum 6 persons Trekking - which includes visits to the hill of Kefalos, from where there are magnificent views, the ancient marble quarries and the Environmental and Cultural Park of Paros. Antiparos and Despotiko - which includes a visit to the ancient cave of Antiparos, a short boat trip to the island of Despotiko to visit the archaeological site where excavations have revealed many artifacts, and a visit to the Venetian Kastro, the construction of which dates back to the mid 15th century. Weddings Anezina Village is the perfect setting for a wedding celebration and we are able to help in the planning of a traditional Orthodox service (for Orthodox Christians). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anezina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anezina Village Drios
Anezina Village Paros, Greece - Drios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing