We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and compact”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marcelina's Guest House
Ranked #16 of 43 Tagbilaran City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but clean. The place offers value for money and the staff are nice. Its close to the airport and about 1.7k from the ferry. You can walk out the door and get tricycles easy enough. The ground floor will assist you with booking travel tours. They can also provide a van with driver for around 2.5k for the day... If i return to Bahol then I would stay here again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

There were good price-quality relation in this place. If you need a place where to sleep, this is just enough. Water pressure in shower wasn't the best one and water wasn't very warm but it was known before, so that was ok.
We bought flight tickets there and price was comperable if we were bought those internet.
We also bought a daytrip to Chocolate Hills and Tarsier Conservation. Our driver didn't understand english very well so we had little problems with him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimmu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Upon arrival at the airport, we were picked up by Kuya Hapon. (we availed of the tour package) The service car was an SUV. After only about a blink of an eye we were at the guesthouse. Yes, it's that close to the airport that you can actually walk to save gas. =) The building was very easy to find and well located. The reception was friendly. On the first floor you will find the reception area where you can also book your tours. The second floor is where the rooms at, the kitchen and dining area and the common area. Everywhere you look, the place looks spotless. The common area has a TV and wifi, although we were not able to use it so I can't comment on that. I like the kitchen and dining area so much! It's the only guesthouse I've been to that has complete kitchen facilities and even provides free water. And you can actually cook there. There's also a smoking area in the third floor. Now on to the room. The room we had was a double deluxe which was a steal for 800 Pesos. It has a private bathroom. The size of the room is ok but for me the bathroom is quite big. The only thing I wish they had was a hot and cold shower. It was really hard to take a bath especially when we were there because the water was too cold!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Close to the airport. Stayed here for 4 nights. The place is a compact guest house with the rooms clean and tidy.Only the rooms fronting the street have windows. The communal dining area was OK for us as we took the breakfast there only. Coffee available anytime. Not having a restaurant attached serves to explore the city for eateries. The room charges were good rates for me as 800P equated to about 20 bucks a night. On leaving there was a woman from the UK trying to negotiate down to 400P of which I thought a bit insultive to the owner who we found most helpful and polite.
Towards the airport are a few local food eateries and directly across the road is a laundry which is very cheap. Transport to the city is at the doorstep using the motor tricycles and a few minutes will put you in the centre of Tagbilaran City. We took the day tour on offer with a Pajero type of car and driver provided. Visiting the Chocolate Hills, Riverboat lunch, Earthquake damages and numerous wildlife sites.

Room Tip: Call ahead, Smoking permitted on the rooftop area. Stairs to climb to access living area and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay there with my sister. We stayed 4 nights. They have a common room and a kitchen corner so you can cook your food. Plus you can keep your stuff in the fridge provided. Rooms are clean and the whole place is spotless. The common area tends to feel warm but rooms have AC. The lady, which I assume is the owner, is friendly and helpful. She even helped me dealing with problems I had with a dodgy motorbike rental company. I am so thankful towards her!

The plus : Walking distance from the airport. Good value for money. Clean. Friendly.

You can find more info on their website :

http://www.marcelinasguesthouse.com/

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The good:
-friendly staff
-inexpensive
-convenient location with easily accessible transportation
-clean beds
-internet access in room

The bad:
-worn, shared bathrooms with clogged drains
-ants
-hot, stinky, loud, shared areas
-very strict cancellation policy (Before we checked in we had just found out we had to leave a day early due to a family emergency. We still were required to pay for the additional night)

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms other than the one we stayed in. I suspect they are all similar. Perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amusez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

When we visited in May 2013, the guest house seemed to be recently renovated. A good 'family run' business, with the owner lady usually at the reception. As with everywhere else in the Philippines, staff were always full of smiles.

First the positives: Great location, clean rooms, tour desk. (though we did not use it), Just 2 - 3 minutes walk from the airport. and Free use of the kitchen and fridge upstairs. (though we did not use them)

Now for the negatives: Wi-fi was available only in the common area (lobby). The lobby was sometimes crowded and was terribly hot. - Common areas sometimes got crowded (and aromatic) with noisy families cooking and eating their meals due to which you have to go back to your room and wait your turn. The biggest turn off for us was that there is no attached restaurant, due to which no morning coffee or morning breakfast. This can be rather inconvenient if you have on a morning tour lined up. No cafe next door or too near either. - The 2 - 3 minute walk to the airport can be inconvenient if you have heavy luggage or have a mid day flight when you have to walk in that intense tropical heat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankaronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagbilaran City hotels
0.5 mi away
Vest Grand Suites
Vest Grand Suites
#4 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Darunday Manor
Darunday Manor
#6 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention Center
MetroCentre Hotel & Convention C...
#3 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
#7 of 43 in Tagbilaran City
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gabriella Bed & Breakfast
The Gabriella Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 43 in Tagbilaran City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcelina's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcelina's Guest House

Address: 53 Lamdagan Street, Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Tagbilaran City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tagbilaran City
Price Range: £9 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marcelina's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marcelina's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcelina's Guest House Tagbilaran City, Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing