We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much...”
Review of Casa Rey Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Rey Francis
Ranked #32 of 38 Tagbilaran City B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't expect much...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our 2nd time around in this Pension house. It's budget friendly. That's all.
The management needs to renovate this Pension house. The faucet in lavatory and shower is broken. Interior paint is gloomy and faded already with some stains and even the cabinet handle is broken. You can hear guest in other room talking because of the plywood wall.
I have some issue with receptionist who gave our reservation to other customers. I book 1 week in advanced for the room i like and they confirmed it but unfortunately still she gave it to other guest.
We caught some male staff lying in bed while watching TV with no top shirts. He said he was cleaning the room and was surprised...LOL!
I don't know if this is really a Pension house... LOL again!
Attention: Owner and Manager WAKE-UP!!!

Pros:
- Good Wifi reception in room
- Food menu is budget friendly

Room Tip: try to get room with window facing the bay like room 3, 4 and 7. It has good Wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakbaygulay_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Decent place with the usual amenities for backpackers and on a tight budget, although don't expect much. Staff were polite. Had free airport transfers (considering their price) which was a plus for me. TV sucked. No phone inside room. Near the town proper; I actually walked from the town going home. Also near a barbeque house which opens during night, a must try.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea (Panglao Island) is more quiet, although looks creepy when the perimeter gate i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luwiswis_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were polite. The pillows sucked, the beds sucked. The bathroom was the worse. Had no drain so there was a pool of water the whole time. Don't expect too much. (However you can expect lots of ants). The location is okay as it is close to downtown. They at least have WiFi. But the TV sucked. The only thing I liked was that it was quiet as we were the only guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tagbilaran City hotels

Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The place is good for those on a budget and backpackers. A decent place to stay with air-con and the usual amenities. Near town proper and you can walk from this place to the plaza and around town. This is a old house which was turned into an inn so expect a rustic feel. Walls are thin so you can hear noises from the other room. There is no phone inside the room so if you need assistance, you have to go to the receptionist. The staff are nice and helpful. The linen is thin so its good to have an extra blanket.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the router for good wi-fi connection. Be careful not to leave any foods in the ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here last Aug19-21,2013 for 2nights for only 1500 total.Very budget-friendly for light traveler like me.The room that we had was big (rm # 6) and the hotel is right in front of the sea.Not only that,its also near to a lot of attractions that you can see in Tagbilaran like blood compact monument,baclayon church, BQ Mall etc.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to those travelers like me who don't want to spend too much in a hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose room number 6 because its large,quieter,and the AC works well and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clifton_pascual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Don't expect too much of this Pension house. Room rates is cheap. It's good for those people on a tight budget. Food is okay and also budget friendly. If your a choosy type then eat near downtown area. Lots of fast food chain there.
Location - near downtown. Far from tourist spot
Staff - friendly and corteous
Wifi in room - fast
Food - cheap and good
Room - simple and basic

Cons - the wall is thin and made of plywood. you can hear other rooms noise especially those family with kids staying near your room.

Room Tip: book in advance. always ask receptionist for help for the accomodation during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakbaygulay_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was on a budget travel so when I found this place, I was thrilled. 850/night for a twin bedroom? It didn't include breakfast but they provided an airport transfer service which was the reason why we selected to lodge here.

Location - not that bad. People normally don't know where VP Inting was but it you just say that it's near the church, they'll get it. There's also a blue sign that indicates the existence of the pension house.

Bedroom - I was at room 5 and it was okay. It was clean. We had a problem with one of the two beds, it lacked cushion. But a quick visit to the reception and they quickly added another mattress to make my friend's bed comfortable. In terms of the sound, we had no problem. Although, I think the room beside us had a problem with our TV (our bad though, loud volume of tv at 11pm)

Bathroom - It was clean. It did have a heater. Although, when we were there, there were still leftover sachets of others shampoo. We had a lot of toilet paper.

Dining - my friend didn't like the breakfast so much. But the dinner meals weren't that bad. One review said it over looked the slums... It's true to some extent but you would barely notice it. It's either too far to view or you wouldn't really look into the direction.

Service - good service. sometimes the reception would be deserted but it you approach someone passing by, they'll easily attend to your needs. They offered tours but we didn't avail of it.

Airport Transfer - excellent! although we had the same flight with the other guests, we could still decide what time we wanted to leave (the other guests wanted to be there 3 hours before, my friends and I just want to be there 1 hour before)

**Free cold & hot water and wifi!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miiica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagbilaran City hotels
0.0 mi away
Vest Grand Suites
Vest Grand Suites
#3 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Staylite Park Bed and Breakfast
Staylite Park Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 38 in Tagbilaran City
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Time Bohol Guest House
Happy Time Bohol Guest House
#31 of 38 in Tagbilaran City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
TR3ATS Guest House - Bohol
#9 of 38 in Tagbilaran City
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Alzhun Tourist Inn and Restaurant
Villa Alzhun Tourist Inn and Res...
#21 of 38 in Tagbilaran City
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Constrell Pension House
Constrell Pension House
#29 of 38 in Tagbilaran City
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rey Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rey Francis

Property: Casa Rey Francis
Address: Inting Avenue (formerly Burgos St.), Tagbilaran City 6300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Tagbilaran City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Tagbilaran City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Rey Francis 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Casa Rey Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rey Francis Tagbilaran City, Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing