We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Superb"”
Review of Chiyoda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chiyoda Inn
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Superb"”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was amazing experience stayed in Chiyoda Inn for 8 nights! I can not say & find enough good things about this Ryokan It make us completely feel like HOME!! Shimpei san the Inn's Manager is an awesome guy. Very knowledgable about Tokyo and speaks great English.The rest of the staff are nice, too. Excellent location just a few minutes' walk away from Minami-senju station; easy access to all major JR and subway stops Also, the Japanese style room super comfortable , Clean and unique!! it was best holiday we ever had, fly with excellent Japan airline and stayed in superb Chiyoda Inn.we are really missed them already. looking forward to stay again! :)) with all this excellent reviews all the rooms probably will be taken next time we go there. Davoud & Shafan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davoud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiyoda-inn, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.
It's our pleasure.
We are hoping that see you on someday.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Central Victoria
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our family had 2 rooms at Chiyoda Inn in late February 2014.
While the rest of Tokyo was suffering a cold snap, we felt very warm and welcome by Shimpei and the other staff.
We and our 2 adult children loved the place, spotless, quiet, comfortable and only a 2 minute walk through a quiet neighborhood to the railway station.
Wanting to experience the culture, we chose the rooms with the sleeping mats, rather than beds, and were very happy with our sleep. You can hear the trains going past in the morning, but by then it's time to get up anyway! (the kids didn't hear a thing).
Shimpei is great, fantastic English skills, and happy to help understand the area.
We spent 4 days exploring Tokyo, and only scratched the surface, but Chiyoda Inn was a great base for us to come home to each night.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.
At Shimpei's suggestion, e ate dinner one night at a local restaurant (I unfortunately did not write down the name, but it was a couple of blocks West, across the road from 7/11), the food was great, and we had a great time attempting to communicate with the lady who runs the place, and her guests.
Oh, also, the rates are amazing for Tokyo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandals246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiyoda-inn, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for fantastic review.
We are really glad to here that.
We also enjoy that you have good time with us.
Thank you and see you on someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

For us we found it to be small but that is to be expected for Tokyo. Service was great, very helpful. Location is good, very easy to jump on the metro to see all the sites. Our only complaint was that there were flys coming out the sink of our en suite bathroom but when we told the staff they cleaned it immediately.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
御宿ちよだ, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to heare that from you.
We are welcoming your staying anytime.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I can not say enough good things about this Ryokan. First off, this place wouldn't be what it is without Shimpei, the Inn's Manager. He is an awesome guy. Very knowledgable about Tokyo and speaks great English. Jiro, who also works there, is very helpful as well.

What I loved about Chiyoda Inn as a female solo traveler:
~Location is away from all the touristy areas. Nice to stay in a Japanese residential neighborhood.
~Close to all types of transportation. Easy ride from Narita.
~Many Japanese guests, not just foreigners.
~Shimpei put a video on their website for how to get to the inn from train stations (awesome!)
~Rooms are affordable, large, clean, mini fridge is major plus.
~ A great grocery store,a convenient store, a post office - all close by.

What more could you need? oH YA, FREE WIFI!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLEIMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
太田信平, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are really grad to read this kindly your message.
We hopehully that see you on someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Yes i came back to this Ryokan a second time: not only because it's cheap among the tokyo hotels but mostly because of the following reasons:

1) The staff is awesome, nice, english speaker, always ready to help

2) The rooms are Japanese style with a comfty futon and with a fridge and A/C

3) the showers and toilets are super clean and stylish

4) the area is a growing area of tokyo with lots of good traditional restaurants (no english there) where you can find cheap and good food.

5) the JR station is at 2minutes walk from the ryokan and it's placed in a silent and quiet side street so japanese and lovely that it look like it's took out of a cartoon

I could continue but i think this 5 points are enough right?
So Chiyoda inn 4ever ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiyoda-inn, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Grazzie miile!
We are really appreciate with your reviw to us.
Our inn is very new as renovated since the march 2011,after the earthquake.
So we are really glad to have guest who stay for such a second time in this short span.
We are going to keep the hospitality and the atomosphere forever.
See you by next your visiting.
A prossima volta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Chiyoda Inn as a lone traveller. A short walk from Minamisenju Station (close to Nippori, on the main Yamanote loop and easily accessible from Narita airport) it's ideal for the solo traveller who enjoys guesthouses that are a bit more peaceful than your average backpacker dorm. The atmosphere at Chiyoda is charming, it is ryokan style and they pay close attention to detail to make it feel like you're staying at someone's house. The rooms are very clean and the place even has a ceramic bath to replicate the onsen experience - perfect for sore feet after a day walking around the city. The guesthouse is also close to many restaurants and supermarkets which makes it very convenient. The neighbourhood may not be in the heart of Tokyo, but being so close to a central JR station and two subway lines, it's a still good location especially for those who want to see Asakusa or those who want an easy journey from the airport. Some people commented that it's hard to find, but after reading the instructions on the website I found it easy as pie as it's literally two minutes from the station. I recommend this place to travelers who want to maintain a sense of privacy and tranquility whilst still on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiyoda-inn, マネージャー at Chiyoda Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your staying with our inn again.
It's our pleasure.
In compair with the last year, our hotel is really getting be populear for forigner guest.
Your review made us to have more guests.
Great apppreciate and see you on someday.
Shimpei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We wanted to stay in a ryokan, and Chiyoda Inn ticked the boxes, close to Minimasenju station, and therefore only a couple of stops (with a train change) from Narita. Not speaking Japanese, I'd used google maps to locate us; a short, clear path from the station.

We arrived the night of a massive storm and google maps wasn't sensitive to the back lane we needed to take. But a customer at the local 7-11 showed us the amazing Japanese hospitality by leading us the last few metres himself.

The Ryokan was neat and clean, and the houserobes a welcome change after the flight and rain. There is train noise, but it soon passes from attention. We had a room overlooking the cemetery that was previously the Kozukappara execution grounds (Tripadvisor's local 'things to do' and much more charming than it sounds).

We've stayed in more upmarket places since, by the Choyoda Inn wins for effort and friendliness. There's also an art gallery housed in the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianisalifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arakawa
Hotel Lungwood
#2 of 8 in Arakawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Hotel MyStays Nippori
#4 of 8 in Arakawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Ayase Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 4 in Katsushika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#25 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiyoda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiyoda Inn

Property: Chiyoda Inn
Address: 5-33-9 Minamisenju, Arakawa 1160003, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Arakawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Arakawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiyoda Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiyoda Inn is located in the Minamisenju area in Tokyo. The area recently has been attracting tourists from overseas and we have noticed that the feedback from them sometimes reminds us of the various beauties of Japanese culture. We are relearning long ignored cultural assets of this country from tourists.This experience inspired the renovation of the Chiyoda Inn which was one of the oldest accommodations in the area. The new Chiyoda Inn is our answer to “What can we offer to guests who would like to feel the air of Japanese room and stay comfortably?” We have nine rooms in Chiyoda Inn and each room is slightly different from the others. Each room is our room and your home in Tokyo.Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiyoda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiyoda Inn Tokyo, Japan - Arakawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing