We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at reasonable price in the centre”
Review of Hotel Edoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edoya
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Pomezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good hotel at reasonable price in the centre”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I found this hotel browsing internet, and the choice was excellent!
First of all, it is located 10 minutes walking from Suehirocho or Ueno-hirokoji station on the Ginza line (orange), from Ueno-okachimachi on the Oedo line (fuchsia) and from Okachimachi on the Yamanote line; and 15 minutes from Ochanomizu on the Marunouchi line (red).
So, you can easily go everywhere using the metro lines.
Then, the rooms are equiped with futons matress (which were unexpectedly very comfortable) and are big enough (there is an area for the toilet, which is private in-room, an area as living room with a table Japanese-style (you have to sit crossing your legs) and the area with the matress, where there is also air conditioning.
The breakfast is both Western and Japanese style (even if there is not so much choice).
There is also a common room on the groundfloor with three computers connected to internet which are free for the guests, and also a room for the tea-cerimony.
So, I could also come back in this hotel if I will be back in Tokyo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    135
    45
    11
    11
See reviews for
85
86
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Edoya while visiting Tokyo. The hotel is pretty basic but has everything a traveler passing by would need. The room was simple with traditional interior and the breakfast was typical Japanese, which is an experience for a Western traveler. It is also located pretty good near from public transportation and is within a walking distance from main streets, shops etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and was a very enjoyable traditional experience. The room was comfortable and had a great bath! The staff were friendly, lots of choice for breakfast and a nice relaxing seating area with WIFI and a lovely garden. Very handy location, everything you need is in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we booked into the Hotel Edoya based on tripAdvisor feedback and weren't disappointed. Nice and handy to the metro line and the Ryokan experience was just great. We had our 3 year old son with us and the traditional bed and table set up were a real treat fro him as well. We found the staff very obliging and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Checked into the Edoya for 2 nights at the end of our trip to Japan. Enjoyed staying in a ryokan, and in fact the futons were more comfortable than other beds we had slept in. Rooms are spacious, which is a big positive in Tokyo with kids. In addition it was good to find accommodation which could fit 4 in separate beds for a reasonable price. The hotel itself is showing its age, but we had a non-smoking room and it was clean and everything worked. A little walk to the nearest JR station, where we were using our JR passes, but metro stations were closer. Staff were excellent and good English spoken. Breakfast was a bit unique, but filling and certainly food isn't hard to come by in Japan.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luebeck, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I travel to Tokyo since 2004. Everytime I stay in Hotel Edoya. It became a second home for me.

I always book a japanese style room and I always try to get the same room. For me, the most important thing is a clean bath room and a comfy bed to sleep. Both are available in Hotel Edoya for a fair price. It is written "never patch a running system", therefore I will return to Hotel Edoya on my next trip, for sure. -- But after all these years I come to the conclusion, that some things definately need an upgrade (specially the carpet in the corridore and the taps in the shower). Beside that it is a great place. My room also had a brand new air condition.

The hotel is located close to Ueno park. For people arriving at Narita Airport there is a direct train connection to Ueno called Keisei Liner. You don't have to bother yourself changing the train at Tokyo station. For backpacker or people with a good trolley: You can walk the 1.5km from the station to the hotel.

For sightseeing many subway station are in less than 10 min. walking distance: Yamanote Line, Ginza Line, Chiyoda Line, and some more. With these lines you can reach every point in or around Tokyo. This is the reason why I always decided for Hotel Edoya: It is a good starting point for discovering Tokyo. Ueno Park, Yushima Tenmangu and Kanda Myoin are in walking distance, also Akihabara is very close.

The personal is extremly helpful. If I had a problem I could rely on their help. They also have a good idea for places you can visit. In 2008 they gave me the idea for a good place for cherry blossom and the about the festival at Nezu Jinja. In 2012 they send me to Kaneiji where I rang the temple bell on New Years Eve.

By the way: There is also a tiny rotenburo (public outdoor bath tub) on the roof. It ist nice to sit there, in the hot water, with the star above and the sound of the megacity aorund me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Seidenpriester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This ryokan is good and cheap. Authentic Japanese style room with its own bathroom. Most ryokans in Japan are shared bathroom. Room is spacious, with the living room and bedroom separated. The rooms can accommodate big groups of tourists. It is quite difficult to find accommodation for big groups in Japan so this a very good choice of accommodation.. Breakfast is provided daily but most of the food are Japanese food like white rice with pickles.. Western style breakfast were just some toast and coffee.. Hotel Staffs are very friendly.. Hotel location is very convenient. Walking to the nearest metro station, Yushima station, only takes about 5 mins.. Amenities such as hair dryer, shampoo, shower etc. were all provided.. The only bad point is about the bathroom.. Bathroom is old. There were some stains and smell in the wooden bath tub. The shower head was not working very well. Turned the tap till the max but the hot water still turned out cold. So I had decided to use the hot water tap in the bath tub. But the tap in the bath tub was very low so I had to sit on the stool while showering.. In summary, I will still choose to stay in Hotel Edoya again because it's really worth the stay..

There was an incident about the chambermaid who accidentally threw away my Tokyo Tower water bottle. Maybe the chambermaid thought the bottle was empty and useless that is why she threw it away. I was pretty upset about this but I did not complain as I would not be able to get the bottle back. So please do not leave anything (those that might look useless) on the table as it could be thrown away..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Last-Quarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Dome Hotel
Tokyo Dome Hotel
#2 of 21 in Bunkyo
1,183 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Wing International Korakuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,993 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Forest Hongo
Forest Hongo
#4 of 21 in Bunkyo
89 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Suidobashi Grand Hotel
Suidobashi Grand Hotel
#13 of 21 in Bunkyo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edoya

Property: Hotel Edoya
Address: 3-20-3 Yushima, Bunkyo 113-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edoya 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edoya Hotel Bunkyo
Hotel Edoya Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing