We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, make sure you get a room with a view of the garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We arrived very early and the hotel staff did everything they could to get us into our room before the check in time which we were very thankful for since we had just arrived from London on a 12 hour flight.

We had an executive suit with a view of the garden which was amazing. I'd recommend you ask for a high floor garden view when you make the booking. The executive suite was very comfortable and had a large bathroom. It was very clean and the house keeping staff did a great job of keeping the suite clean and tidy while we were out.

Breakfast in the hotel was nice enough, but be warned that there is usually a queue ( approx 25 mins wait )around 730am so i'd recommend going around these times if you don't want to wait. As an alternative you can pick up a free coffee and mini muffin in the hotel lobby between 5 and 8am which I took advantage of some mornings !

During the stay my partner made use of the spa for a back massage and was delighted with the experience.

Hotel bar is nice and relaxing with a decent selection of whiskys and cocktails, although do be aware that smoking is permitted in the bar.

Overall very pleased with the stay and as you expect in Japan the hotel staff were only too friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference. Very large comfortable room. Although the furnishings were a little outdated, the room met all my requirements. I had a view over the gardens which are outstanding. Lovely place to relax at the end of the day. Only downside was the actual location to the CBD and the expensive food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

very nice place in classic style.
one of the biggest plus of these hotel - they provide all what you need. Beautiful garden and temple, infrastructure. A lot of bars and restaurants - one of them offer menu with 100 cocktails.
English speaking staff.
Minus - high prices. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikhailLukashenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Former a Four Seasons Hotel, now Chinzanso Hotel obviously focuses more on japanese customs, especially for weddings. Nevertheless, due to the fact that wedding parties are held in the Chinzanso Annex, the Hotel itself is a wonderful oasis of peace and calm, beautiful rooms with sight on the huge, magnificent garden, great SPA (only for Hotel Guests) and Onsens.
Only negative point: the Room Service Menu is smaller and less interesting then under Four Seasons management. The Breakfast (in room) needs improvements: only 1 juice, only 1 beverage, only either toasts or pastry - everything else extra charged..... not up to date nowadays, with inferior hotels offering huge buffets.....
But you will enjoy the calm rooms and the very nice service (especially Danielle at the Concierge!!!!)

Room Tip: We had room 1009: Junior Suite and wonderful, sight on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We began our Japan trip staying in Tokyo for 2 nights at Hotel Chinzanso. I wasn't sure what to expect, but we received a straight forward drop off to the hotel from Narita Airport via the Airport Limousine bus service. It is a lovely hotel and we had requested two interconnecting rooms for our two children and ourselves. The rooms I would have to say were the largest I've seen in Japan and they were beautifully appointed. Some may say they are a little outdated, but I found them to have all the mod con's required and comfort was definitely the focus. My only issue were the pillows - I requested a foam pillow and was delivered the biggest heaviest rice pillow I have ever seen and it was almost too heavy to lift let alone sleep on, so I reverted back to the down pillow. The bar was a great place to have a few drinks after dinner and the breakfast room provided a great al a carte option. We didn't have dinner there as it was incredibly expensive and so we found a local pub to experience the local cuisine. Although the location of the hotel is a little way out, as a result its incredibly quiet and peaceful for sleeping and the garden and pool was of a great size compared to other hotels closer into the CBD. However it was easily accessible to the trains (5 min walk) so that was not a deterrent at all. The hotel were also kind enough to provide us with a transit to Tokyo Station upon our departure as we were on our way to the snow and knew we wouldn't be able to fit into the cab with all our luggage. I would definitely consider Hotel Chinzanso again and we will definitely be back to Japan for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossdurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Located in a beautiful historic garden, the hotel offers good restaurants and an excellent hotel staff. There is also a complete health spa. Opt for a room with a garden view and you will not be disappointed. The rooms are large and comfortable. The downside is its location. Unless you have a car at your service, it is a 10-15 minute walk downhill to the nearest subway station, which means an uphill walk at the end of the day. Personally I found the decor uninspired and felt that the hotel could benefit from a re-do, but that should not be the reason not to stay there. If it wasn't for the location I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a garden view. We were there for the autumn leaves and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrydavis441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

For a person like me who knows only English it is difficult to get by in a country like Japan. But my stay at the Hotel Chinzanso in Tokyo completely bowled me over as the staff was able to converse with me in reasonably good English. The hotel, though on the pricier side, is a great place to stay and its facilities are superb. This hotel, perhaps apart from a property in Bangalore, India, has a massive garden perfectly manicured and I call it the perfectly manicured forest. If you stay in this hotel anytime, do spend time in the night especially the garden and you will like it and may be bring your children and catch fireflies with them the next time. The food is excellent with great choice – both Japanese and Western. My stay at the Chinzanso would qualify as a blend of the modern with the traditional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,088 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,660 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,136 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,290 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8680, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range: £175 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing