We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Homeikan!”
Review of Homeikan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homeikan
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great stay at Homeikan!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and my friend had a great stay at Homeikan. The staff were more than friendly and during our stay this was one of the highlights of our trip. Homeikan is old, but in a good way. The room we stayed was like in the movies and the public bath couldn’t get any better after a busy day. So if you want an authentic Ryokan experience book yourself a room in Homeikan.

Besides, it is an amazing deal for the price with good location, few minutes walk to the subway stations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makeventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    44
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
25
43
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked 4 nights and after the first night we cancelled. The shared bathroom is very small, that small that you can't sit down on the toilet. At 7 o'clock in the morning kids were running around. It seems that they have two buildings, maybe we stayed in the old one. A mid-class hotel in Tokyo is much more comfortable and cheaper than this Ryokan. Unfortunately I really can't recommend that place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This ryokan was generally clean and staff polite and helpful. While the service was spot on, our room was a different matter. For the price we paid for and the experience we expected at a ryokan, Homeikan missed the mark.

We were placed in a building that seemed to be a later addition to the traditional ryokan - this building was more like a stark concrete box and the room was shabby. Since there is no way to specify preference for the traditional building ahead of time, it's a crap shoot where you will end up staying. I would recommend shopping around for other ryokans in the area.

Also, the traditional Japanese breakfast was meager for the $20 price tag. Skip it and explore what Tokyo's bakeries has to offer instead.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytangents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was to happy to stay there my first 2 nights in Tokyo.
The lady at the reception was so kind all the time, she even gave us an umbrella when we left because it was raining too much.
It's a great experience, be sure you go to this place if you're in Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Morikawa Homeikan (there are three, all quite close together) in September for 3 nights, and it was great. They bring the breakfast to your room, the breakfast was really good, and quite large. The wi-fi was hit and miss in my room, but it worked in the lobby.

For a cheap(ish) place to stay, I really recommend it. It's near the University of Tokyo (~10 min from a subway) and so it's easy to get to any other part of Tokyo through the subway system.

The staff do not speak very much English, but we managed to communicate and they were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived late at night to be greeted by a grumpy little woman. we were led to our rooms which were so basic that there wasn't even a chair to sit on., Just futons on the floor (and thin ones)

The toilet was down the hall and was so small that you couldn't shut the door whilst seated. The shared bathroom was in the basement for the ladies. Old and smelly. cleaning your teeth was also a communal activity. Long troughs in the hallway with other residents walking past.

No....this was not for this Western couple. Need a little more comfort than that!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brubec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It's a rather large hotel spread over two floors. The rooms are nice, traditional japanese with tatami mattes on the floor and a futon to sleep on. (you can lock your door here – which is not always the case in ryokans). The staff is nice. The only letdown were the bathing and specially toilet facilities. There are two bathrooms available (one in the cellar and a family bathroom in the basement). The normal one is filthy, while the family bathroom is very nice though you usually have two wait as it's often occupied. The toilets were extremely filthy and smelly (I actually usually went to the toilet in the subway station before returning as it was cleaner than the one in the hotel). And don't use the supplied slippers (I know you usually should in Japan), as it took me weeks afterwards to get rid of the athlete's foot again! Besides that the hotel is a really nice place to stay. The location is good and it's safe to walk home even late at night alone as a woman.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploring-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Forest Hongo
Forest Hongo
#4 of 21 in Bunkyo
91 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Dome Hotel
Tokyo Dome Hotel
#2 of 21 in Bunkyo
1,204 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#4 of 122 in Taito
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Homeikan Morikawa Annex
Homeikan Morikawa Annex
#15 of 21 in Bunkyo
23 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 122 in Taito
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeikan

Property: Homeikan
Address: 5-10-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Homeikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeikan Hotel Bunkyo
Homeikan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing