We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and decent prices, albeit small rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of remm Hibiya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
remm Hibiya
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent location and decent prices, albeit small rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We loved this hotel, and even after we moved onto the rest of our vacation we thought of it, and the area, as our 'home' in tokyo. Transferring trains at the nearby yurakucho station we would look back towards it longingly lol. Which brings me to the best part about this hotel: it's in an excellent location, probably the best area to stay in tokyo, which is why we had initially chosen to stay here. The nearby Yurakucho train station will be your best friend in Tokyo; hop on the JR yamanote line (green train) to get pretty much everywhere you want to go in Tokyo. The Yamanote line is great because even if you screw up and choose the wrong direction of travel, it's a giant circle so worst case scenario it just takes you longer to get where you're going, although you can always just get off at the next station and hop on the other direction.

Any hotel near a JR yamanote line station will be a good choice, it's only going to take you 30 minutes tops to get anywhere you want to go, so if the price here is a bit too steep for you there are tons of other options along that train line.

Regarding the neighborhood for this hotel specifically: it is a super-safe, well populated and very high-end part of town. Head east, north-east for all the shopping you could want (Ginza area). If you're looking for high end items the Imperial hotel across the street offers a great selection of expensive goods as well. Just north, north-west of the hotel are the imperial palace grounds, and there's also a very nice park immediately south of the palace grounds. We were lucky that we could see the imperial palace from our room.

In addition to good shopping, this area also has many of Tokyo's top restaurants - there is good food everywhere you look in Tokyo, and this area is no exception. If you're on a budget there is a family mart (convenience store) and seven eleven just north of the hotel, and let me preface that by saying that convenience stores in Japan are wayyy better than in north america. They're actually a viable way to feed yourself in Japan. Seven elevens are also where you'll need to go to take out money from an ATM - don't worry, in Japan there is a seven eleven on every block lol.

Back to the hotel itself: we found the staff to be helpful, but they speak quite limited english so bring your translator app or brush up on your miming skills: as in any other country, just make an effort to speak the local language and even if you suck at it, people will be inclined to assist you.

The rooms were immaculately clean, but this is par for the course in Japan - even a $70 room in Tokyo is likely to be clean, if nothing else. Someone has commented on the window between the bedroom and bathroom, but there is a blind so that's really not a problem. The bathroom was spacious enough, but the room itself was admittedly small. There was just enough room for the two of us with our luggage, but what does it really matter if you're just using it to sleep - if you have children that's another matter of course.

There was an assortment of teas and a kettle for your use in the room, along with a television. One of the interesting things about this hotel is that every room comes with a massage chair: be warned however that the instructions are only in japanese, and believe me I searched the internet for an english pdf. The massage is quite strong, so much-so that it's uncomfortable on its standard setting. If I could read Kanji I'm sure you can adjust the strength but my attempts at just mashing all the buttons did not help sadly.

Yes, the beds are hard - but if you're coming to Japan that's something you're going to have to get used to, you'll be hard pressed to find a western bed in Japan unless you're willing to pay up.

For the price we paid ($130 a night) I felt we got good value, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyguyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    242
    69
    16
    6
See reviews for
39
98
121
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Only good for the location
We stayed 4 nights at the Remm hibiya hotel. We were very happy with the location, which is close to everything (starbucks, movie theatre, lawson, family mart etc).
The room itself is very small, it is very difficult to open a large suitcase except if you put it
on your bed. One thing we didn't know before we arrive: the bathroom/restroom space is separated from the bedroom by a large window glass. In addition there's no real door to close the bathroom and only a thin curtain with holes can provide intimacy. Not quite the romantic setting....
Regarding the service, it was the worst we had in Japan. We travelled across many cities in Japan and always
were very satisfied with the service but here it was not the typical "japanese service" you'd expect.
No greetings, no smile whenever we passed in front of them.
When we asked for 1 page to be printed, the person at the front desk told us they could not do that. (???)
We took the option with meals at the muji café but I don't think it was a good deal.
Portions are very small for lunch/dinner. And breakfast are very japanese even if you ask for
a western style breakfast, you'll be served meat, tomatoes etc... there is no choice of sweets such as pastries or viennoiseries, cake etc...

Cherry on the cake: we made one local phone call and the person at the front desk asked us for the 18 yen (0,13€) right before we leave the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel came as a disappointment:
We knew that the so-called “double room” would not be big, but this was so small that we had to throw the massage chair out of the room to be able to move at all. It was also quite expensive, but offered little of those services that we appreciate in Japanese hotels.
On the plus side: good location, nice decor.
On the down side: tiny room, slow internet, no washing machine (though usually to be found in Japanese hotels; laundry service ridiculously expensive), no microwave to warm up the beautiful Japanese take-away food (we had microwave access in all hotels we booked, except this one).

In short: we will not book again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana_8458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was in a great location, it was nice right by the JR lines and the metro, so easy with a rail pass to get anywhere in the city. The room was a bit small, but they definitely made the most with the space. The bed was the most comfortable we found in Japan, while a bit small for 2 people. The view (we were on the top 18th floor) was very pretty and at night was fun to see, the shower was great with a rainfall and high pressure option. As said this is close to the train, but we didn't hear much noise and loved how close so many great authentic food places were to the hotel. The massage chair does seem out of place, but once you figure it out it is quite fun after a day of walking around (it is all in Japanese, but focus on the middle buttons that are green and you'll figure it out) and there is free wifi. The staff speaks English okay and a nice bonus is your across the street from the Imperial Palace hotel which has an airport limousine bus line to get to either airports and other tour lines for the city, so it's like you get the perks for staying at a much more expensive hotel! We stayed in a few different hotels in Tokyo and this is the hotel we would stay in again the next time we come to Tokyo, you can't beat the price and the location.

Room Tip: I would try and get the top floor, the view is nice! Also maybe ask for a room facing away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel three nights and would do it again. It is a very mini hotel with little privacy for more than one traveler. I could only open my full size suitcase on the bed, but I knew that from reviews.

I loved many things about the hotel: modern decor, verrrrry clean, not stains on carpet wall etc. The massage chair in the room was greeaaat and I wasn't expecting much. The ammenities are more than needed with the pajamas that are nearly one size fits all, bath products and a somewhat weak blow dryer. It has a great charging phone thingy that can charge most phones and a decent makeup mirror at the desk. This place is styling and right accross the street from the imperial hotel and the tarrazka (spelling?) theater.

My procrastinating self did not like the 1 hour iron limit and having to go to the front desk to get it, but... it's okay. The TV does have BBC and CNN but they are not in enligsh, dubbed over in Japanese. The closet is not very large at all for a long term stay.

I would absolutly recommend this if you are used to a little bit hard japanese bed and a compact room. The cafe next to the 2nd floor lobby is quite decent! Hit the veggie resturant down the street for some clean healthy eats (not vegetarian), but lots of veggies.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MachitaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stay here for 1 week during business trip in Tokyo.

The location is very good, walking distance to Ginza, Marunouchi, Tokyo Station, Imperial Garden, etc. Reception staffs speak English pretty well. Room is fairly new, but space is very limited (which is understandable due to high land price in Tokyo). Good strong shower.

There is massage chair in the room, but I have no idea how to use it since almost no information in English. TV channels are also very Japanese.

Breakfast in MUJI restaurant was nice. Not so many options though. They already have 5 predefined set menu which you can choose. It's not a buffet restaurant.

No swimming pool, no business center (to rent laptop is JPY 1500 per day, language is Japanese). Iron and scale are available to be borrowed from reception.

Across the hotel, there is Imperial Hotel, where the Airport Limousine bus stops. This is easier mode of transport rather than going to Tokyo Station to take, for example, Narita Express.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundulgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a short taxi ride from Tokyo station. Cost me 730 yen.

Check in was smooth. Receptionists English was ok.

Room was very small with little space to place my luggage. For a business person on a short trip it is fine though. Room was clean with usual amenities available. Couldn't work out how to use the massage chair though.

Hotel is very near bars and restaurants and subway is about 5 minutes away. Quite a few taxis around the area.

There is a Muji cafe downstairs and it serves breakfast, lunch and evening meals. It's ok but better restaurants can be found outside.

For the location the hotel is relatively cheap. If you are tall, large or there will be two of you be aware of techie room size as it could be a little claustrophobic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
#16 of 90 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
remm Akihabara
remm Akihabara
#11 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Dai-Ichi Hotel Annex
Dai-Ichi Hotel Annex
#43 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#22 of 90 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#14 of 90 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to remm Hibiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about remm Hibiya

Property: remm Hibiya
Address: 1-2-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#17 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — remm Hibiya 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking and Rakuten so you can book your remm Hibiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remm Hibiya Chiyoda
Remm Hibiya Hotel Chiyoda
Remm Hibiya Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing