We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the b ochanomizu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
the b ochanomizu
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good location, nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the B ochanomizu and can't complain. The location was very convenient, just around the corner from the metro station and near many restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was OK, I would suggest the addition of fresh fruit to make it better. Everyone at the hotel was polite and professional. The only complaint was that I requested a nonsmoking room when I booked, but none were available at check in. All in all, a good stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear pjsubway

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for taking the time to post your review.
We try our best to accommodate our guests’ requests; however, we are very sorry that we did not have any non-smoking room for you. We are pleased to read your positive experience at the hotel including the room cleanness and comfortableness. We will share your feedback about breakfast to our culinary team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    63
    46
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
47
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

LOCATION
This hotel is tucked in an alleyway behind the main road. It feels extremely safe and quiet. Once you pop out at exit A5 at Awajicho, turn left down the street, turn right into the first alley, head to the end and turn left. It's less than a minute walk but it can be challenging if you have luggage, as exit A5 has no lift access. Consider this if you're planning to use public transport at all times!
We stayed here because we planned to buy snowboard gear along Yasakuni Dori which is literally down the road from this hotel. Fantastic location if you're planning to lug snowboard shopping back to your hotel!
There's also tonnes of great food along the main road, just ask reception who'll give you a map of recommended restaurants. There's a great ramen place (order via the machine outside), soba place (be prepared to queue) and an obanyaki shop (yum!) which is a huge bonus when you're seeking lunch before hitting the streets. There's also an izakaya round the back of the hotel.
Don't forget the two Family Mart kombinis (convenience stores) that are within walking distance of the hotel. Super convenient for drinks, snacks and first aid drugs you may need. The breakfast at this hotel was nothing to speak of (the only bad thing about this hotel) so grab some onigiris and yoghurt from the kombini, or head out to a cafe for breakfast.

SERVICE
So polite, so helpful! Lockers are available for use in the lobby whenever you need it. Coffee machine (which also dispenses hot water) is also available free of charge in the lobby.

ROOM
Yes it's small but it's spotless, has a clever layout and everything you need! Right by the door there's a small hanging space to hang your coats and clothes. There's a mini-humidifier that comes with the kettle, for use when the room gets too dry, though we never needed it because the room was so warm, we didn't even need to put the heating on. Teabags and cups were also provided. TV was small and we hardly turned it on except for background noise - apart from news there were no other channels in english. The small desk and mirror was great, especially if there are two people in the room (other mirror is in the toilet. Mini fridge was useful to store drinks and yoghurt from the kombini. Slippers were provided. The bed was super comfortable and roomy enough for two.

The bathroom came with shiseido bath products (in bulk, so not really for taking with you on the road) which was a pleasant surprise, and had toothbrushes, combs, cotton pads. The bathtub came with a shower arm as well. Bathtub is a little high (seems to be the standard in Japan) so if you have shorter legs watch out when climbing over - don't trip!

Bear in mind if you have bulky luggage, it clogs up space which can make it a little cumbersome to get around the room. We found ourselves having to shut our luggage and place them upright every time as otherwise we'd have to climb over it in the corridor space before the main door. It's not too huge an issue but good to be mindful of. Though I have to say the room was still spacious enough because it could actually fit two luggages and a snowboard bag, along with everything above that i described!

OVERALL
Great hotel, great rooms and great service for a great price, only downsides being the breakfast and the horrendous lugging of luggage up the subway exit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear DLPA

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for posting the review. We are happy that you liked the area – it is nice to see that you took an advantage of it and explored around the hotel. We truly appreciate your kind comments towards our team – I will be sure to share them. As you mentioned, some of our rooms are Tokyo-sized. We try our best to make them comfortable and efficient for the guests as much as possible. We would like to thank you again for your detailed review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is really good! The breakfast is hearty, the bedding is very good. We have stayed 13 days and we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff is friendly, polite and always available for any request or any question. We do not regret choosing this hotel five minutes from Akihabara :)
The bathroom is great. Room's cleaning is always well done.
Very nice hotel, thanks for everything :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Elodie R

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for posting your review.
We are beyond happy to hear your experience at the hotel – we would like to express our sincere appreciation towards your kind comment towards our staff. I will be sure to share it with the team.
Upon your next visit, please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Only a couple of stops away from Tokyo station, in a peaceful area but a 2 minute walk (or less) to the Awajicho station. There is a Starbucks, Subway, 7-Eleven, 2 Family Marts and some local restaurants in the span of a 2 minute walk. So the location is good.

The hotel itself is a no-frills hotel, at a reasonable price for Japan. We were a family of 4, and there were 2 double-beds, so it was good enough - as it is we didn't spend days in the hotel and were just there for a good night's sleep. The room was spacious enough. Only that the window had a view of the wall. There was also breakfast included but the only thing edible was orange juice and bread and jam, so don't count on it.

For the price, a good place to be in Tokyo, giving you access to the whole city.

Room Tip: Any room that has a view would be good, as opposed to a wall! Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahs4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear ahs4y

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for posting your review.

We are pleased that you are happy with our location as it is a big factor to choose a hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located to some Tokyo Metro stations and a JR station.
We are so disappointed that our breakfast couldn't meet your expectations. We prepare Japanese and Western buffet served every morning for our guests. I will share your comment with our culinary team. Some rooms have a nice view from the window – please let us know next time you stay at the hotel as we will try relocate you if possible.

Please come back and see us again! We look forward to welcome you and your family!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Officially this is just a reasonably priced business hotel but it does it so well.

Location: near a JR and three subway stations in a business district that is very quiet later in the evening. It is also marked on all the local maps at the subway stations or on the street making it easy to find. Near a lot of convenience stores and similar shops + a range of what look like better quality restaurants and bars catering for the well heeled business crowd in the area.

Service: efficient, polite and organised.

Room: small (as is usual in Japan) but comfortable and clean. It was a genuine no-smoking room as well on a no smoking floor. The bath was bigger than usual and comfortable to sit in. The only English channel was CNN but you do not stay here to sit in your hotel room.

Breakfast: much better than competitors - a variety of western and Japanese food being made fresh (if not to order) + juices, coffee and tea. Even an English paper in the lobby. I could see that on a weekday this might get crowded but on a Saturday morning there was plenty of space.

All in all a relaxing and pleasant stay and I would recommend paying the bit extra for this chain over its competitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear StewieTokyo,

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for taking the time to post your review.
We are beyond pleased to read your positive comment regarding our room, breakfast, location and our staff – we truly appreciate it. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel was in a quiet neighborhood very close to the metro. The good: staff were friendly and helpful. It is possible to walk to Akihabara...maybe 10 minutes. Laundry was small but functional, free coffee in the lobby...free wifi in the lobby...some restaurants near by.
The not so good: room was very small, I guess not too unusual by Tokyo standards...but it felt very tight ..there was not enough room to lay out the suitcase. View from our room was terrible...directly into a wall. The neighborhood did not have much character. The free breakfast was the same every morning. We were there for 2 weeks...got old pretty fast.

There are other alternatives in the price range.

Room Tip: High floors have at least some view. We were on the 5th floor but was looking directly at a wall 4 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear SixpackDC

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for your comment.
We truly appreciate your generous comment about our staff – I will make sure to pass it on to them. We are disappointed that we could not live up to your expectations for the room size and breakfast. Complementary WiFi will be available in each and every single room soon. Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

A well situated basic, well priced hotel. Positives very close to metro (various lines) good amenities (Starbucks, subway, 7-11, family mart and a range of good local restaurants) reasonable price. Also slightly off the main room which reduced external noises which is good. Negatives, small (approx 2.5m x 3m room INC bathroom), very stuffy (air con not effective) room. Poor breakfast (i would give it a miss....i stuck to toast and bad coffee, layout is poor and gets busy, you have to queue, small selection the same every day) wifi only in lobby where they play the same music over and over and over again (very wearing when I was using it to work), also not very fast, but faster than the wired connection in the room. Because the hotel is not of the main room it was difficult to find when I first arrived and also easy to get lost the first few days!! - only amenities a coffee machine and computer in the lobby and 2 drinks machines. The staff were friendly but English was limited

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anyahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Anyahunt

Thank you for choosing the b ochanomizu and for taking the time to write the review.
The location is one of our strengths. We do have many cafes, restaurants and more around us located conveniently.
We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations regarding the breakfast. I will be sure to share your comment to our culinary team. We are working on installing WiFi available in each and every room and it will be done soon.
Thank you again for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Ochanomizu Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
APA Hotel Kanda Jimbocho Eki Higashi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Akihabara Washington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Mystays Kanda
Hotel Mystays Kanda
#37 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
remm Akihabara
remm Akihabara
#11 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b ochanomizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b ochanomizu

Property: the b ochanomizu
Address: 1-7-5 Kandaawajicho, Chiyoda 101-0063, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — the b ochanomizu 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your the b ochanomizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ochanomizu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing