We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Second time staying here. Stayed 3 nights. Practically perfect business hotel. Location is wonderful. Service, etc is top notch. Only 1 complaint. The mattress is too soft and I get a bit of backache sleeping in it. Same problem as my previous stay. Suggest changing mattresses to slightly firmer ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank BernardTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    241
    60
    25
    11
See reviews for
378
425
108
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good hotel in a very good location 0n the 26th to 36th floors of Trust Building.. Rooms are spacious, with great views (superior room). Staff excellent. In-house Japanese restaurant excellent, but portions small.
Beware of some concierge recommendations if you don't want to end up in a tourist restaurant.
Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InAut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southaven, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our first trip to Japan was WOW thanks to our stay at Shangri-La hotel. This is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in world-wide. All of the features in the room was just a finger-tip away. Par Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Bartholomew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great Location above the Tokyo Station, helpful staff with superb japanese hospitality, great amenities, Best available rate was way too pricy but guess they are priced due to demand and supply. Indoor Swimming pool great for winter but for summer outdoor is best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kheman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at quite a few hotels in both Yokohama and Tokyo, normally for extended periods of time.
We are presently at this hotel for two weeks and from the moment we walked into the hotel, I was impressed.
Firstly, my only criticism, and I mean my only one, is that despite my husband having spent a very extended time here before, we weren't given any kind of recognition for this. I think some kind of upgrade should have been offered as my husband, while he is on a business trip, is given a choice of hotels and decided on this one after a previous stay.
The good points about the hotel are:
The staff are never overwhelming. I have stayed in other hotels where you spend your life bowing back to staff. It can be quite exhausting!
We were allowed access to the health club which is normally $50 a day here in Japan which is prohibitive for a long stay. The pool is spotlessly clean as are the hot tub and all the facilities.
The beds are unbelievably comfortable and given the volume of visitors it is nice to have no second hand blankets and bedspreads which, in other hotels, have been stained with goodness knows what. Only sheets and duvet covers, all washable are provided.
The TV system is very convenient with an HDMI plug in provided. A must in Japan for watching Netflix as there is little English TV.
The rooms are quiet with triple glazing.
The bathroom wall is glass with a remote blind so that with the blind up you can see through the whole room and this makes the whole experience much more spacious.
The view over the palace gardens is lovely.
The carpets are clean! At the Intercontinental in Yokohama (not a cheap hotel) the carpets were filthy and we were told they were too busy to get a window of opportunity to clean them. Not an acceptable excuse!
The breakfasts on the room service menu are reasonably priced and arrive exactly on time. Important for my husband who commutes to Yokohama every morning.
On that note, my husband chose and hour long commute so that we could stay in this hotel as opposed to a ten minute walk had we stayed in a hotel in Yokohama. He was really impressed with his previous experience.
I am here for another ten days and am sure my stay will be really pleasurable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntoinetteM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

An outstanding experience from the start to finish. Stunning room with fantastic views over the city. Perfect location for shopping and site seeing. Service was second to none but you would expect that level from a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: All rooms I am sure would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPOCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. the location is fantastic with 2 mins walk from tokyo station.Room is spacious and comfortable. Staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast is delicious .The views is amazing .

Downside: 1.deposit wasnot cancelled until I called the hotel ,it should not happen at this kind of 5 star hotels.2 very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask a room at higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wai25wj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,639 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, JAPANiCAN, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing