We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located yet serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Centrally located yet serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were happy we choose Hotel Niwa for our 3 night stay in Tokyo. From Tokyo central station we took the JR Chou rapid line (orange) and in the next stop we changed to JR sobu line (yellow) and another stop we reached Suidobashi station and from there we simply followed the direction shown in their website and reached Niwa without any problem. When we arrived around 2 PM the room was not ready so we went out for a quick lunch and when we got back they not only got the room ready but also moved our luggage. The room was small and functional.
At the Suidobashi station there is a small ticket booking office where we can book long distance train tickets which were helpful as we booked our tickets for the onward journey. We also picked up the Suica card which was very handy. We found it to be convenient to go around Tokyo by the JR lines and there is a subway train station right next to the JR line station in Suidobashi which we used as well. Around the hotel and near the station there were plenty of small eateries that were nice and we found few 7/11 stores as well. Overall a convenient hotel for both business and leisure travel and we would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Longan W,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. I am so happy that my fantastic team ensured we met your expectations. I have already passed on your kind words to them. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    633
    80
    20
    13
See reviews for
334
819
241
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooroolbark, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in mid June. From walking in to leaving everything was fantastic. The hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure that you always had everything you needed. They helped us with any request we had and ensured we were 100% satisfied.
The rooms were standard for Tokyo very comfortable and modern.
The bed was the best we had throughout Japan. It was comfortable and I always had a great nights sleep.
This hotel is located in a quiet part of Tokyo only minutes away from the local JR station, and around the corner from a 7/11 which has the international ATM.
They also give you free water which is very much needed for the hot tokyo summer!
Overall a fantastic stay! We definetly would stay here again and reccomend to friends!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly_mc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Kelly_ms00,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo to spend your stay in Japan, and for taking the time to write your review as well.
It is a pleasure to see that you have valued positively hotel facilities, location and surroundings, We make an effort every day in order to provide a good quality of service to our guests.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

the reviews of this hotel are generally good and i agree that this is a great hotel.
in terms of location it is close to a few subway stations with lots of F&B options nearby. very well maintained hotel, rooms are larger than average with good amenities. the interior design are stylish yet with traditional favour. the staff were generally attentive and polite.
however, i had issue asking one of the front desk people making a lunch reservation for me and think i was confronted unreasonably though it was resolved in the end.
anyway i would recommend this place no matter u're in town for business or leisure, good for couples or family and the price i got was not bad.

Room Tip: ask for an upper room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tin903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tin903,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you did feel that you were not treated properly by our staff.
Please contact me directly when you are next considering staying with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo so I can personally oversee your reservation to ensure your stay will be better.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed here as a couple for almost a week and really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are decent size (>~15m2) for Tokyo Standards and clean & well serviced. The location is quite convenient being in the center yet not noisy. The restaurant of the hotel seemed very nice however we did not have time to try it out. I certainly recommend this hotel for staying in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egokhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear egokhan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
As you mentioned that Hotel Niwa Tokyo has an ideal location in aspect of convenience. It is only 5 minutes from the rail and metro station, and there are many shops and restaurants around the hotel.
There are two restaurants in the hotel, Japanese cuisine, “YUKURI” offers you experience authentic Japanese cuisine “”Kaiseki” while the other Provencal French restaurant “Grill & Bar Liu” dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood. Please try them on your next visiting.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, and hoping to be in your service again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

i really enjoyed coming home to this smartly designed hotel. The layout, the finishes, and the internal gardens were a pleasure to be within.
I was travelling in tokyo for the 1st time with my wife and 2 teenage boys and used standard twin and double rooms.
THe location is convenient to two stations which provide ready connections.
Plenty of restaurants and a couple of shrines and temples within 15mins walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandjude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear nickandjude1,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. We appreciate to hear that you liked the stay with us, and believe that you had pleasant time in Tokyo. Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service, and we wish you will be back to visit us again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is what a boutique hotel should be, cozy, comfortable, uniquely compact and excellent in service. There were a few of us staying for business meetings, and we were never disappointed. Service is excellent and what probably sets it apart from a normal boutique hotel to what it is. There are lot of food options and shrines, gardens & market to visit at walking distance and local metro stations nearby.

Vegeterian food options are very limited, but there are couple of Indian restaurants/Starbucks nearby. Overall a good stay

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, western travelers might find the room very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankitg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear ankitg86,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site following your stay with us.
I am so pleased that you liked your room the staff and our location. We always keep an eye towards the future and all the new little touches we are adding for next. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after on a future special occasion and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
155 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel. Here's why we loved our stay:

TRANSPORT: there are a number of subway stations in the vicinity. We always used Suidobashi station, which is part of the Toei network. It's a five minute walk from the hotel, so getting around Tokyo was easy.

LOCATION: the hotel is also 5 minutes from the Tokyo Dome baseball ground. Adjacent to this is a large amusement park with extensive rides, shops, dining opportunities. On our first day we spent 5 hours here - and every evening we had a meal in one of the 30 or so restaurants. If you have children then they will love what's on offer. But even without kids, it's a fantastic place to hang out - it's a huge complex.

The hotel itself is down a side street. There is no external noise. A 7-11 convenience store is next door - we always purchased our breakfast from here (the food is of a very high standard).

NOISE: there wasn't any. Throughout our week at the hotel, I didn't hear a whisper from adjacent rooms or the corridor. I suspect that there's some clever sound proofing going on.

ROOMS: we stayed in the cheapest type of room. It was exceptionally clean and was a typical Japanese combination of style, comfort, practicality and functionality.

STAFF: everyone seemed to speak English. They were exceptionally helpful.

COST: for us, the hotel was a bargain. We paid 94,000 yen for 7 nights, room only. For what we got, this was brilliant value.

THE HOTEL IN GENERAL: it appears to be new. There's a restaurant which we never used - but it looks very nice. Our deal didn't include breakfast - this looked rather expensive, so we opted for the 7-11 solution instead. On the third floor there are washing machines and dryers.

TOKYO ITSELF: it's the most awesome city I've ever visited!

I spent hours researching Tokyo hotels before I booked this one. I must have read hundreds of reviews and obtained prices from every hotel site going. The Hotel Niwa was absolutely the best choice we could have made - every aspect of our stay was perfect.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear misterpastry,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, facilities and most importantly the smaller details that set us apart from other hotels. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing