We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be the Buffet in Tokyo”

The Imperial Viking Sal
Ranked #27 of 6,764 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$90
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Must be the Buffet in Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

In 1958, a American movie "The Viking" was a huge hit in Japan. Around that time this hotel opened a smorgasbord restaurant and named this style of food serving "Viking". Since then, Viking is a word used instead of smorgasbord or buffet in Japan. Hence, the name of the restaurant.
I was there for the Christmas Dinner Special Viking. Special was roast beef and Jamon Iberico.
Most of the food are prepared in front of you or cut for you.
Don't forget to leave some space in your stomach for dessert. There must be 3 dozen choices for dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Perfect International Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Really feels like it's created for the International traveler. In addition to the made to order eggs, hot breakfast meats (sausage, bacon), pancakes & waffles for the American in us all, they also provide cold meats & cheeses and hard boiled eggs and beans like one sees in Western Europe. And of course they also have Japanese breakfast staples. Imperial Club members get a discount on the buffet meal price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wide variety of choices for a buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Liked: split of breakfast line: one side for Japanese Asian breakfast items; other side for European/American style breakfasts. Eggs prepared in British Style (slightly 'runny'); bacon also prepared mostly British style (i.e. NOT crisp, which you can special order to your table). All food freshly prepared in a kitchen area that you can view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I had a breakfast here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

'Imperial' is might be not the most luxurious but definitely the most stylish hotel in Tokyo with more than a century of history. Location is the heart of Tokyo. 17th floor restaurant has a beautiful view on to Emperor's Palace and Tokyo.
I had many times a breakfast in Imperial Viking Sal. No doubt - that's ne of the best breakfasts in the city: great food in the buffet style (European-American-Japanese), super-attentive staff, great view and excellent atmosphere.
In the evenings on the same 17th floor there is a bar where we've entertained a number of times ourselves as well as business partners ( live music, all kinds of drinks, magic view of night Tokyo metropolis).
Worth to come here at least once if U have an opportunity and budget :-)

Helpful?
3 Thank eduesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We went in a relatively large number and no reservation, so we had a reasonable waiting time to be allowed in. By the way I was the only foreigner in our group, but there were mostly Japanese customers that day.
Main point was - of course - the view. Hybiya park, Imperial Palace gardens and Ginza.
On the other hand buffet was wide enough, well kept and assorted with a large choice of food. I dare to say something for all tastes.
I generally dislike buffet as they look shabby after dishes starts to be messy due to the flow of customers, but in this case I was not disappointed.
Service for drinks and coffee attenctive enough, as always is in Japan and specially at Imperial (I stepped in first time in 1974 shortly after last rebuilding, same feelings though).
A place I would be happy to return for the location and the view if not for the food (but I am not so keen on food quality in fact...)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial Viking Sal also viewed

 

Been to The Imperial Viking Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing