We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is a short walk from the Ochanomizu train station, which is two stations away from Tokyo station, so the location is very good. The room was big enough. We were given a small gift upon arrival. Breakfats was very good, including miso soup and eggs and small plates that varied every day. The hotel has onsen bath which is open during the whole night, so it is really good to go there and relax before going to bed. Just one small disapointment - when we asked at the reception if we could get a breakfats package because we needed to leave for the airport early in the morning, they told us it is not possible due to the fact that this was a season of foodpoisoning. I still don´t get what does it have in common. But otherwise it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
14
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were looking for an affordable place for our family of four (2 kids in elementary school), and this looked like one of the best deals we could find. The central location on the JR Chuo line was also very close to Tokyo station, making it easy to catch the early morning shinkansen for a day trip for skiing at Gala Yuzawa, and close JR trips to Ueno and Shinjuku/Harajuku. We got a Japanese-style room with space enough for 4 futons. It was a little tight, without a lot of room for our stuff, but it was the newest, cleanest ryokan we've stayed in yet - seemed to be recently remodeled, a very nice bathroom in the room, and a really lovely Japanese bath in the basement.

The staff were incredibly kind, and very helpful, and offered our children Japanese sweets and small souvenirs which they really enjoyed. The hotel breakfast was very good too. I was worried the kids wouldn't like the Japanese breakfast, but there is plenty of breakfast food kids enjoy too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Second time in Japan but the first time to this hotel. Stayed here with my wife and four young children. We picked the hotel because in addition to conventional rooms it has a number of traditional Japanese rooms (I wanted the kids to experience something different). We stayed in a relatively large traditional family room that could house all of us; this room came with a private outdoors bath (in addition to a great indoors bath). The wooden outdoor bath worked really well - it is housed off the standard bathroom in a well screened balcony. Location is good - nice quiet street but close to a number of metro stops. A good number of restaurants within 2 min stroll including a very friendly one called tek tek. What is great about this hotel is the helpful and friendly staff; there was all someone around with good English and everyone went out of their way to help us. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hinksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff are exceptional. They provided us with recommendations, reservations, directions, local insights and a lot of additional help during our first perplexing days in Tokyo as Westerners who do not speak the language. They called ahead for us on more than one occasion. Our japanese style room was very comfortable and spotless. The showers are hot and strong. The windows sound proof, so you will sleep like a baby on your futon on the tatami mat. Crisp cotton and silence... Breakfast was fun, (japanese style) and friendly. There is good coffee. Remember the rooms are small compared to western standards, but this is Tokyo. Train station close by. Tricky to find the first time -- ask a passerby, who if they speak English, will certainly help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel has the perfect location with 5 metro stations within walking distance.
In a quiet road this hotel offers typical japanese rooms and western style rooms. I stayed in a japanese room, which was fantastic, I can only recommend it.
There is a bath, jacuzzi and sauna in the basement and two massage chairs to relax.
The japanese breakfast is delicious, after all, you don't want European breakfast in Japan.
But what makes the hotel so special is the very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: choose a japanese style room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Croydon-MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The most valuable thing has been the excellent personnel of the hotel, looking forward everything is correct at any moment. Also it is very conveniently placed very close to several subway stations. Familiar atmosphere. Good Japanese breakfast. Cleanliness of all the installations and the room. Very good ratio price vs quality.

Room Tip: Ask for double bed instead of the smallest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BANDFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomamae-gun, Hokkaido, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great stay at this hotel, fully recommend for pretty much any type of travel. Easily access both JR and Tokyo Metro lines. Great small Japanese-style breakfast. Very clean and modern rooms, and nice onsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Ochanomizu Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
the b ochanomizu
the b ochanomizu
#28 of 74 in Chiyoda
183 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
APA Hotel Kanda Jimbocho Eki Higashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Juraku
Hotel Juraku
#36 of 74 in Chiyoda
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan

Property: Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
Address: 3-24-9 Kandaogawamachi, Chiyoda 101-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July, 2009, Tokyo Family Hotel has made a great reforming and refurbished the image into a Japanese modern atmosphere of EDO, which is the old name of Tokyo. At the same time, we've changed the name of our Hotel to Ochanomizu hotel "SHORYUKAN". We appreciate that the support of our customers only has made us possible to continue our hotel for a long time since the foundation of our Hotel, almost as same as the beginning of SHOWA era, 1925. This time we have arranged many types of rooms according to the needs of our customers, such as from ordinary single, double and twin rooms to some types of Japanese style rooms. Please stay with us and feel at home. Please enjoy our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing