We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and service superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

An excellent comfortable and friendly hotel in the quiet Government area of Tokyo not far from the Imperial palace The Capitol's staff were without exception some of the friendliest and most helpful I. Have encountered on my global travels. Staff training must be superb. Well designed and comfortable rooms with good views over the city. Breakfasts good and a good gym and pool. Good access to subway and taxis ever present.Excellent and would stay again without reservation!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkeithpdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in the basic room for 3 nights. It was an amazing experience for me.

Location is good with 2 subway stations below the hotel connecting 4 different lines. Taxi is always available outside the hotel too.

Staff service is perfect with very good English. The best was a small gift and a letter placed in my room on my Birthday.

Hotel food is quite pricey, like many luxury hotels. The room price are one of the cheapest for luxury hotels but I find it better than Hilton or Shangrila in Tokyo.

In the room, the thing that shocked me was the view. I have a full unblocked skyline view of Shinjuku and Akasaka. The shower is also super strong and bed is very comfortable.

Will surely return to this hotel whenever I come back to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Request for good view and they will put you in a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m3lvinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Set in Tameike-Sanno, a quiet and exclusive area of governmental offices, the hotel is quite distinct from Tokyo's other 5-star hotels : muted color scheme, unassuming entrance, quiet lobby, altogether extremely luxurious. The service is perfect, especially the concierge and the breakfast staff. Drawbacks : relatively low ceiling of the room ; overheated common areas (but this is the case of many public places in Tokyo in winter). Strong points : hotel design ; breakfast room (wonderful and serene place, with a superb combination of light, trees and water) ; breakfast buffet ; swimming pool and japanese furo (15th floor) ; easy access to the metro (basement 2) ; view from the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaune77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good service quality, very clean, tidy and modern designed room. Breakfast choices were ok can be better. Wife and son loved it. Location wise central to most tourist spots too. One drawback spa pools and fitness will not allow children in

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKJYJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is spectacular. This is the second time my husband and I have stayed in this hotel. The service is spectacular, the lounge area is great to have cocktails and a small bite, and the restaurant for dinner has the best sushi you will eat. The rooms are nice size and very clean, comfortable and very quiet. The hotel is not centrally located but the subway is easy to access and it is underneath the hotel.

Great place to stay, 5 score!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taramarievan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Chooses this hotel for a four nights stay in Tokyo. From the minute I entered to when I left I have never been so impressed by such a hight standard of service. All employees are very professional and good at their job. The view from the room was amazing. The food for breakfast was delicious. I had nothing more to say that thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Capitol Hotel Tokyu for a week while touring Tokyo on vacation. The concierge did a wonderful job ahead of our arrival securing tickets to events we wanted to experience. On our arrival, a portfolio was provided with a separate envelope for each day's events, with maps, directions, and other information. It made our stay so much easier and the seats they acquired were fantastic (sumo tournament and baseball).

The room was well-appointed and extremely clean. The shower/bath area was enormous and there are shades on the bathroom walls so you can have the bathroom windows open to the room or closed. The exterior windows were very tall and we had a beautiful view that included the prime minister's residence.

A 7-Eleven and metro station in the basement of the hotel was very convenient.

We ate once for breakfast in the hotel restaurant but otherwise ate elsewhere. The concierge provided some recommendations that were very good.

There was only one tiny downside, not even enough to us to dock a star. Whenever we returned to the room at the end of the day, we noticed an unusual smell in the foyer of the room. It didn't really bother us and didn't extend into the room. I suspect there's a problem with air circulation in that area and it traps smells. A small point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laundrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,095 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,088 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 78 in Chiyoda
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Prince Gallery Tokyo Kioicho, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £255 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing