We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is within the government precinct of Tokyo, and is a little expensive - but the rooms are beautiful and well appointed, the staff are discreet and extremely helpful, and the food at any of the restaurants is great. The metro can be accessed through an underground connection, which is very convenient. All in all, a great place to stay in an amazing city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    272
    45
    16
    12
See reviews for
234
433
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of a city break in Tokyo. I really enjoyed the room, we had a great view of the skyline. The pillows were so nice my husband bought one at check out.
You can access the Tokyo Metro from the building which was very convenient.
If you are looking for something nice but reasonably priced this is the ticket.

Room Tip: We stayed in a club level room and really enjoyed the free cocktail lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritscher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The room was large (around 45m2) and we had an excellent view overlooking the diet building. The club lounge was very comfortable and the evening cocktail offering was a nice treat. The breakfast buffet choice was extensive and made for a good start to the day. The hotel is above a subway station with access to four lines so traveling about is simple. Although the immediate area around the hotel is a little quiet you are near enough to the hustle and bustle if that's what you want

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel sits within the government district of Tokyo. So one potential downside is there is not much within walking distance. However it is the best hotel I have stayed at in this city. Hotel rooms in Tokyo tend to be very small and sparse. My room, on the 22nd floor, was perfect. It was immaculate - as if I was the first resident. All the amenities you would expect of a 5 star hotel (except no iron or ironing board). Comfortable bed and a wonderfully luxurious wet room. The service - at the door, reception and all public areas was perfect (as you might expect in Japan). I was here for only one night so the only facility I used was the gym. This is relatively small but reasonably well equipped. No cross trainer. Several running machines and a weights area.
Downside of such luxury in Tokyo is the price. Even at a heavily discounted corporate rate this is likely to blow most budgets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed 6 nights in an executive deluxe room. Huge room with a wonderful bathroom. Free internet for multiple devices. Would have been nice to have some drawer space under the work desk/tv counter area. Loved the turn down service which included two valrhona chocolates and a filled ice bucket. I have been to several 5 star hotels, including the new Intercontinental Osaka and none have given ice at turn down or they will charge for it. Very good executive lounge, but it seems rather small. Breakfast at Origami offers choices of set American, Japanese or American buffet. At 3990 yen that is very expensive compared to other hotels. The selection does not change daily and it would have been nice to have some Japanese food included in the buffet. Checking out was a breeze with the bell desk collecting my luggage and storing it till I caught the airport bus at the last pick up time around 15:50.
Overall a wonderful stay and I would love to return here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcgaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

not bad coffee! food was horrible overpriced and tasteless. the place was dead and only could hear shouting and swearing from the kitchen and the food was slammed down on the table by a guy in black will not be returning what a waste off money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susananderson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Tropez, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thank you capitol for this perfect 5 nights stay. We arrived at 11 a.m. The corner room on floor 26 was ready. For our baby a very nice wooden baby bed was prepared.
The room service was relyable an th ejapanes breakfast quite a good thing. Not the best we had in japan but i would recommend to try it one. Please note that there is no variety or difference if you go more often.
The area is good as there are many restaurants and bar just nearby.
Another good thing is the direct subway entrance (exit 5).
We used the concierge service to buy train tickets and reservations in restaurants.

We did not use the room service (despite one bottle of sake) as we were a bit disappointed with the menu.

The style intends to copy the park hyatt in a clean and solid way. No americans by the way.

We stayed in 2612.

The pool and fitness facilities are avarage. Nothing special.

Room Tip: The higher the better. 2612 was a corner room with stunning views to fuji san
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seba f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking and TravelUp so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing