We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sets the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sets the standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Much has been said on these pages about this hotel and I have to say it is all true.

The ambiance and quality of the hotel itself is amazing.
It was not let down by its staff either. A wonderful mix of professionalism mixed with old world charm and courtesy.

We stayed in a club room on the 29th floor.
The layout of the room was wonderful. Utilising sliding paper screens you could either open up the whole place or partition off the bathroom and dressing room. A great concept.

The club room also gave us access to the club lounge. This was open all day for tea/coffee soft drinks etc. Then from 5.00pm for drinks and nibbles. Very relaxing after a day tripping around Tokyo.

This hotel is destined to become the one other hotels are judged by.

I, for one, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    272
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
241
440
67
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
durham, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights following a cruise and could not have picked a better hotel. Club room on 29th floor which had lots of amenities and it's certainly the first hotel where pjs have been provided. The huge window afforded some spectacular views but alas because of the haze we didn't see Mount Fuji. Complimentary wi-fi, early evening buffet and drinks and breakfasts added to the overall package. The hotel is on top of a metro station which made getting around the city very easy. Faultless service and courteous hospitality means I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Sth Aust
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Every aspect of my visit was exemplary. From arrival to final departure, staff were very helpful and all seemed to have enough English for their role (also very well able to understand my limited Japanese). The room was excellently presented and well appointed. Plenty of hanging space and hangers for clothes and large bathroom with deep tub and separate shower. WiFi in rooms was good and no connection issues; although accessing WiFi in dining/lounge area using mobile devices was patchy. The breakfast buffet is done quite well; a tip for tea drinkers - ask specifically for cold milk (if you take it) otherwise you'll get hot, slightly foamed, milk. The bell captain was very helpful altering arrangements for a pre-booked car on departure. I only wish I had more time to explore the surrounding area. ありがとうございました。

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Davo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and liked it so much that we came back in late March 2014 for 6 nights. We enjoyed the recent stay as much as the previous time - spacious room, nice surrounding areas especially the Hie shrine and convenient location, lovely pool and good service. However, we experienced a couple of incidents rather disappointing and surprising of Capitol’s high standard.

One particular concierge who did not seem to try hard enough to assist hotel guests. We asked this concierge for directions to a garden and were told the train line and bus number to catch. We then asked if correct amount of money required or change can be given by the bus driver and he said “I don’t know”, I asked could he please find out and he just kept saying “I don’t know" and made no attempt to investigate further. We later went to the reception area to seek answers and made our displeasure of the concierge’s attitude known. Few days later we requested directions from hotel to Roppongi area and came across the same concierge. He printed the map promptly but all in Japanese and did not bother to write the main street names down in English luckily another staff came to the rescue!

We were catching the Airport Limousine bus from the hotel to Narita airport and were told to be at concierge desk at least 10 minutes prior to pickup time which we did. In fact we turned up 20 minutes before to collect our luggage. Concierge staff told us to go downstairs to wait for the bus and luggage would be taken down soon. However, the luggage did not appear until 5 minutes after the bus had arrived. It was not acceptable to take 25 minutes for luggage to be retrieved and taken to the hotel entrance!

Admittedly these incidents were relatively minor but more or less did not reflect well on Capitol’s service standard. Room for improvement!

We were told by hotel staff that the Hie shrine next to the hotel was very famous so we wandered in one Saturday morning. We saw three separate wedding processions which were very interesting. The brides were in traditional kimonos either white with a hood or full of bright colours. It was such a visual feast! highly recommend a visit to this shrine especially weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the Hie shrine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lots of staff all jumping to help you with anything at all, with English ranging from adequate to good. Beautifully decorated. Restaurant is good but expensive – buffet breakfast US$43. In room wireless easy to use and quite fast. Undergrond tunnel to the subway is convenient.
Room: Huge with fantastic view and amenities, At $1600/night way way more than I would usually pay for, but in Tokyo in cherry blossom season the choices get limited

Room Tip: Upper floorss have beautiful views. The west side looks down on the Hie shrine, tye north side on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our trip around Japan and it was beyond amazing. The room was pretty spacious, sleeping was comfortable, amazing view of Mt. Fuji and Imperial palace grounds. Above all we stayed on the club floor which also had it's advantages - access to the library with little complimentary buffet and drinks all day long. The hotel also has a great and pleasant bar and couple of restaurants. You can choose from western style buffet or traditional Japanese breakfasts - both were great. Location of the hotel is pretty good - walking distance to Imperial Palace and on top of metro station. The staff was very helpful and everyone was extremely nice! We were refused the entrance to use the swimming pool because of our tattoos and we could use gym only wearing long trousers. It was the only unpleasant thing during our stay but on the other hand you can read about tattoos being taboo in every guide book on Japan that warns you that you can have trouble getting to public swimming pools, spas, gyms etc. So no harm there! I can only recommend Capitol hotel as it made our stay in Tokyo a totally unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

On my first visit to Tokyo, I chose this hotel because of the TripAdvisor online reviews and I was not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

My son and I shared a room with two-twin beds that were very comfortable. The room was spacious with a desk, mini-bar, large soaking tub, dual point shower, large vanity, and a toilet with the Toto Washlet system. If you have never experienced the Toto "water" cleaning experience, then this is another good reason to book the hotel.

My son and I ate at two of the hotel restaurants and they were excellent, however be prepared for the high food prices. For example, a basket of delicious fried chicken cost around $25. On Sunday morning that had a traditional American buffet at one restaurant and a traditional Bento Box breakfast at their Japanese restaurant. I chose the Bento Box option, which was delicious and interesting, but be prepared to spend about $37 per person.

The hotel has a great gym and a pool. The gym had ample equipment, free weights, and space to workout. Bravo! The WiFi is free in the rooms but oddly on the lobby level the WiFi is not available. The WiFi speeds were good for business level work.

This is a first class hotel and there is ample staff to help you get around the city. I was able to grab the Tokyo metro right under the hotel. The local subways were clean but ask for a map because the signs can be a little confusing.

About 50 local restaurants are within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and the neighborhood is very safe. There is a Starbucks, 7-11, and wine store in the local area for the "must have" items you like to have from the USA. The majority of local food was Japanese but there were Italian, French, and British eateries available as well.

There are police and traffic cops about every block in this area because of local government buildings. I was walking up to 11 pm at night and felt very safe in this area. There are ample cabs running in this area so if you want to jump to another locale, it is very easy.


When I come back to Tokyo, I will surely be back at this hotel. Congratulations to the General Manager of this hotel, he/she has build a great staff that is focused on great service. Everyone spoke English so that was a plus for a first time visitor from the USA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing