We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a delightful one week stay at this marvelous five star hotel and splashed out on a club level room, where both the service and lounge were exceptional. The overall experience was blissful, with outstanding facilities and amenities (pool, gym etc). The staff genuinely do all they possibly can to assist, and if you book many months in advance, it is possible to stay even if you are not a plutocrat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lighter789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Capitol for 5 days - this hotel is amazing! We had travelled for 2 weeks prior to arriving in Tokyo and we just wanted somewhere comfortable to arrive to at the end of our long days in the city.

The bathroom is probably the best part of the room - the shower is just incredible, when they say power shower, they definitely mean it! There is plenty of space, both in the shower and the counter space.

In addition, the service is just amazing - they really go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable.

The location is ok, but the nearest train station is a bit of a maze.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcs1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this magnificent hotel recently on business.
It was a flawless experience.
A beautiful design, perfect service, thoughtful touches all around.
The sensibility was a perfect harmony of east and west.
Happy to return again should business take me back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Every detail in the decoration was well taken care of, the room is a beautiful example of refined contemporary Japanese style. Huge windows overlooking the city centre and the Prime Minister's office. Glorious shower well integrated in the room (or more private if you want thanks to a traditional sliding rice paper wall. It doesn't get much better than this but it comes at a price, and so does the breakfast, USD 13 for a cup of filtered coffee or USD 16 for orange juice? Well... I think I'll go to Starbucks...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are checking out today after spending five nights in one of the best hotels ever. The food. The service. The unbelievable rooms. The views. The comfort. The quiet. Unlike one of the previous reviewers, we never had to wait for b'fast on any of the five mornings we were there. The staff was always helpful with getting us to where we needed to go, including making sure the taxi driver knew the location. For us travelers who know little Japanese, virtually all of the staff could communicate with us in English and made sure we were getting what we were ordering. There's no question this is an expensive hotel, but there's also no question we got more than we paid for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel charges a premium to stay here, therefore the expectation is for the whole experience to be on a par with other establishments that charge similar rates. We left feeling the hotel was charging circa 20% more than it deserved to.. Summary below:

Pros:
- Great location in a thriving business district of Tokyo
- Beautifully fitted rooms
- Impeccably clean
- All the amenities you would expect in the room
- Good pool and jacuzzi
- Good club lounge (but closes at 9pm)
- Good teppanyaki restaurant inside (Suiren)

Cons:
- Lack of knowledgeable staff when asked about the local area. On 3 separate occasions the concierge and staff on the front door did not know where the restaurants we were going to were. For a 5 star hotel we expected them to have an idea, or at least help to look them up for us.
- 20 minute wait for breakfast in the morning at Origami. When you have a schedule planned for Tokyo for the day, this proved annoying. The waiting area for breakfast is bigger than the breakfast area itself. Made no sense with families waiting. They could be offered coffee whilst waiting at they very least.
- Annoying extra charges to use the changing rooms. Strange rule at the hotel that if you change in the hotel room there is no charge, but use the locker rooms by the pool and there is a price.
- 15 minute and poorly signposted walk across narrow platforms to the 'M' Line to connect to the Airport express at Tokyo station. Difficult with suitcases and no one around to help until you get to the lobby area.

In all, stay here for the local area for sure. Experience a clean hotel with beautifully fitted rooms. But if are expecting the extra that makes 5 star hotels what they are, this is sadly lacking and you need to be prepared for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fry_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed four nights in this fantastic hotel. Location couldn't be better, as one can find a subway station just downstairs. The room has a lot of space and an amazing view, at least from the 22nd floor, where we stayed. The staff is kind and very polite and make an enormous effort to speak English. Hard to find any problem, however when we checked in, around 8 PM, there wasn't anyone at the concierge available.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank canoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,039 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 75 in Chiyoda
1,162 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 112 in Minato
3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £259 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing